We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable hotel with Classic charm!!”
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #99 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adorable hotel with Classic charm!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at the Mosser for one night while in town & it is perfect. As others have posted the rooms are small but provide everything u need. Would not recommend staying for a long time at the hotel due to lack of storage space for luggage/clothes. But for a night or a weekend it is perfect!! Staff was extremely helpful & polite, even allowed us to check in at 10am, instead of the normal 3ish, because our room was ready.
Chose a room with a bath for the convenience but the shared bath would have been worked fine, they appeared clean and readily available. Room had the necessities and that's all I expect from a hotel room; a clean & safe place to lay my head.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone like me who doesn't like the big chains & enjoys some character!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LASkeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    1,005
    413
    135
    90
See reviews for
116
873
514
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

(travelled july 2011 but website win't let me go that far back!)

Staff were a little aloof, which surprised me as most customer facing staff in the US delivered exceptionally polite and friendly service.

The room was clean and the location was good- especially great for Annabelle's Bar and Grill next door, which does delicious food.

Room was often cold,radiator leaked. This never got fixed.

Beds were uncomfortable and ridiculously short- my friend and I are both below average height but our feet stuck out of the ends of our beds!

Sink was tiny, you had to crouch and get your head under the medicine cabinet to spit out your toothpaste else it went all over the floor.

Lots of noise from the street, especially from the posh hotel across the road; their doormen were constantly blowing whistles to hail cabs for their guests.

We christened the mornings Awkward Tea and Muffin Time, as you go and stand (possibly sit if you get there early enough, but unlikely as chairs are few) in the lobby and try to eat your teensy tasteless muffin and drink your tea/coffee from a flask in silence, avoiding eye contact with other guests who look equally uncomfortable. It's a very weird experience.

If you're not an early riser, you won't get either muffins or a drink, as they don't order many and don't check who's had what, so one guest might scoff 4 muffins and 3 others go without as a result.

I'd only stat again if my budget were very tight, it wasn't the worst place I've ever stayed but it wasn't my idea of a quality establishment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186356Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visiting SF for a conference at the Moscone Center. This hotel was reasonably priced and incredibly convenient. My room, however, was tiny - barely bigger than the bed. It was very clean and nicely appointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morph_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms are small and compact, as expected in a hotel of this age. But they're clean and comfortable and the hotel is in a great location. One block from the cable car turnaround, two blocks from the hop on/hop off bus and a convenience store and large mall with restaurants just around the corner. Coffee and cupcake muffins do not really constitute a continental breakfast; but that aside, our stay was great.

Room Tip: Choose whatever room you prefer - private facilities at a little more; or shared facilities to save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BalNardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel to stay for their location. The building and rooms have huge potential for charm. I stayed for two nights. The hotel did not have the same level of rooms available at the time I made my reservations and I was told I would have to change rooms. I was told it is not a problem and I would not have to worry it would be smooth. At registration the attendant had me register for both nights - smart lady. I was told to bring my luggage down in the am. I brought my luggage down the next am to be told I might have to wait until after 3 to get a my key. Later I found they had several rooms available at the same level as my first night room. Did anyone think to see if I wanted to stay in my original room? It was not a comfortable stay having to pack twice and hang out to get another room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvDZnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

First let me point out that this hotel was booked for me by work. Turned out to be not a bad hotel in a really good location just off Market St in downtown. Room was very small with nowhere to store anything, but had all necessities, was clean, and free wi-fi. Good bed so was able to recover from my flight easily enough. Would stay here again for a cheap good place in downtown San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandnontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I thought I could save a few bucks ($90) by sharing the hall bath and toilet. What I did not take into account was the noise generated by the hall toilet diagonally across the hall from me, and the slamming of doors staring at 4am onward from people using the bathroom before an early morning flight. I was also across from the ice maker (room 501 for reference) which sounded like perpetual running water (not bad) until someone actually wanted ice. The room was surprisingly quiet of street noise with the double pane windows, but also quite warm- I has the ceiling fan going most of the time with the window open during the day. My brother was in a room with a private bath, but his sink was actually smaller than mine. The rooms are more like Europe- compact and efficient. It was fine for me, a single traveler, but my brother could only open his closet door about halfway before it hit the bed. My one complaint on the shared shower was that I would have liked my own bath mat to take in, as I did not like stepping onto someone else's wet floor mat. I was only there for two nights, so I'd say if you can tolerate the early morning flushers/door slammers, you can save a buck for a really nice dinner. I found everything stocked, and clean.

Room Tip: Check out the for plan (exposure to street vs alley) before you take the room if you can. Avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,309 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,866 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,530 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing