We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #92 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
1 review
“Clean and friendly”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for NYE and it was a great location to stay it since our event was only a 20 minute walk. Rooms are clean, everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit small but for 2 people it was fine. A block from Starbucks and Annabelle's restaurant is great for a casual dinner and drinks. There was great shopping at union square and the trolley's were walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skrudin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    1,016
    415
    137
    91
See reviews for
118
890
516
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Bautista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We live in the bay area; and we always select to stay at The Mosser, we stay at least twice a year. Wonderful settings, its small, but its great, because we get even closer. This hotel is close to the best in San Francisco. Even if we have other hotel offers, we always prefer Mosser. My friends like the place too. We higly recommend it, we self-acclaim ouselves as experts, travel a lot all over the place. Trust us, your friends..Ron & Alma

Room Tip: Select Queen Bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This hotel is situated right in the middle of the city next to the big department store and walking distance from china town at the end of one of the cable car lines. Rooms are small but have everything you need and staff are relaxed and friendly. Really suits the character of the city, not brand, spanking new but interesting and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed at the Mosser for the second time this year.
Reliably clean, well run and friendly staff.
It can't be beat for basic, clean and safe accommodations in the heart of San Francisco. Shared baths are kept spotless. Yes rooms are small - but fine. You're in San Francisco - get out of your room and have fun!

Room Tip: Front can be a bit noisy on lower floors..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chowsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2011

i really enjoyed my stay at The Mosser Hotel it was very clean and the people where very polite

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. It is listed as having a King sized bed, which in fact was a double. The lightening in the rooms is terrible. The internet connection is spotty at best on the 8th floor. There is very little room, no desk to work at. I had a second booking at the hotel and could not stay in the same room because it was not the same type of booked room. I wanted to pay the night before check out, because I had an early meeting, but they would not let me and were very rude in explaining why that was not possible. I was then moved to the fourth floor and that room was no different in the sized bed to the first one. This room had a shower instead of a shower and bath. The internet was much better in this room. The noise however from the hallway, and elevator and other guests talking was horrible. The walls are paper thin I did not have one good nights sleep. Upon checkout they were again very rude and did not really care how my stay was... in fact they did not even ask. This hotel is totally over priced. THEY THEN EVEN HAD THE GAUL TO GIVE ME A $25 GIFT CERTIFICATE IF I WROTE A POSITIVE REVIEW ON TRIPADVISOR!!!!!!!!!!!! FORGET THAT ONE. THESE PEOPLE JUST WANT THE MONEY AND DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR GUESTS COMFORT. The bell people and maids where the only good people at this hotel. Two particular guest services people were very rude and impatient, I do not know their names.

Room Tip: The fourth floor was very noisy. The eight floor had bad internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank not_relevant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

This small, old-style hotel near Moscone Center has a lot of early 20th century charm but the rooms are tiny (you can use the sink while sitting up in bed and you need to live from your suitcase becuse there was no closet or bureau). Only some rooms have their own bathrooms-thankfully mine did, but it was next to the shared bathroom for the floor, so it was very noisey. I booked through Expedia and probably didn't get a very good price, but anyway, $175 a night seems way overpriced for this property. The room did include wireless that worked well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,346 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,261 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Music City Hotel
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing