We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abri
Ranked #39 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carlsbad, California
1 review
“Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is the second time staying at the Hotel Abri. It is a good hotel in a great location. While the hotel is old the majority has been updated beautifully. Still has a bit of an old smell in the hallways. What makes this a great hotel is the staff. Everyone we encountered was over the top helpful. The urban suites are comfortable and have lots of amenities. I see that noise is an issue in several other reviews - I learned from previous reviews to ask for an interior room - no view but no noise - perfect! We had a medical emergency while there and they were so accommodating in extending our stay with little stress. Good bar and restaurant next door, too.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KLP125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan N, Front Office Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear KLP 125:

Thank you so very kindly for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us while at Hotel AbRi. I am pleased that you found the staff so very accommodating and helpful. We greatly pride ourselves in providing fantastic service and I have shared your comments with the Team and they are very thankful. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel AbRi anytime your travel plans bring you to the Bay Area.

Stay Vibrant,
Daniel Novelly
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    599
    155
    36
    29
See reviews for
259
545
119
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
arlington, tn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

When I was hotel searching for our SF trip, I narrowed our search down to 5, including Hotel Abri. So glad I chose them! Based on previous reviews for many hotels, I chose an interior room which is definitely the right move. Street noise was minimal with the windows open and almost non-existent when closed. Our room was nicely appointed and the bathroom updated. Sitting area gave us more room. Very clean. Nice linens and pillows; big towels. The courtyard is not much to look at but who cares...we were gone all day seeing the sights. Staff friendly and accommodating. If I have to find a negative, perhaps the mattress should be flipped, although I had no problem sleeping!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktkk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan N, Front Office Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear ktkk57,

Thank you for choosing us from the many hotel choices! And thank you for giving your time to leave us positive feedback! We are so glad that we have had the opportunity to make you happy with your stay. As for your one concern to ensure the bed is flipped, I have brought it to the attention of our head of Housekeeping. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Abri in the future!

Yours in hospitality,

Dan Novelly
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Good hotel, booked late at a good price for last minute booking..nice rooms, good bathrooms, nice staff, very convenient for Union Sq...
Very Central & easy access to all areas.. Nice conecting restaurant for breakfast or a meal...

Room Tip: My colleagues slept well, but i was on the first floor above front door opposite a night club, was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulRFence310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Having a room facing Hotel Fusion's lounge ruined it. :( All night all we could hear was the drunken chatter of those partying across the street. Not good when it ends at 3am!

Other than that, the hotel and staff in itself were awesome and very accomodating. We were literally in the heart of Uniom Square which made walking to shops, movies, restaurants very easy (esp being 8 mos pregnant). The room was on the smaller side but very clean, modern and all you need is available to you.

We will definitely stay here again. But I'll be sure to request a room on the otherside away from Hotel Fusion. :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marlee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

These rooms are very small and have no place to sit and relax. The front desk manager (Chris Dove) was the least helpful of the staff-he must be new to the hotel industry. My travel department booked this room, but I think business travelers can do better in downtown San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd4375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Off to a poor start, when the girl at reception said that she didn't have our reservation. This was hotel number 4 of our pre booked holiday which had gone without a hitch to date, so after some relatively strong words from my husband it was all sorted out! Though we did spot the same girl saying the same to another guest a few days later. Don't get me wrong she was very nice, I just don't think she was very good!

The hotel is small but perfectly formed, with quality decor and fittings throughout. We had two beautiful Urban Suites which were spotless, large and very we'll appointed. They both faced the interior atrium so were very quiet for all of our 4 nights. Housekeeping were very friendly and very good. There are nice touches like DIY coffee in reception in the morning, free shot's at 5ish, the iPad "wall" and two PC's and a printer to print off your boarding passes.

The Abri is in a great location, close to good transportation links, Union Square, Chinatown, great restaurants and shops. We used the hop on hop off buses and also did quite a bit of walking. We really loved the city which had a great feel to it, a bit like Glasgow. The weather was exactly as expected changing from warm and still, to cold and windy and then back again, exactly like Glasgow! We saw the fireworks at Fisherman's wharf on 4 July and walked back the 2 miles to the hotel.

There are down and outs in and around Union Square, and there were always a few hanging around the corner of Ellis and Powell and down towards the trolley car stop, but they were pretty harmless and never tried to hustle or hassle you.

Apart from the slight glitch on day 1, all staff were very friendly making us feel relaxed and at home. The two concierges were absolutely fantastic, sorting out taxis and transfers and just making us smile every time we saw them.

When we return to San Francisco we will definitely stay at the Hotel Abri.

Room Tip: The internal facing rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Abri for 3 night in early April. Having stayed near Union Square before i knew it was the area i wanted to stay in.
Hotel Abri is perfectly placed if you catch the BART from SFO as it's literally a 2 minute walk from the Powell Street stop. It was cheap and easy getting there via BART.
Staff were all really polite and helpful, providing information when requested. The decor, especially in the lobby, is really classy and relaxed. Ipads in the lobby for easy use to research activities, restaurants etc. Every afternoon, can't remember what time, they have a free shot drink which was really tasty and different every day.
The room was stylish with a really comfortable bed, bath was nice, reasonably quiet considering the location besides fire engines and police sirens wailing constantly but nothing that can be helped. Overall the room was clean and tidy.
The location is fantastic with lots of restaurants and shoping nearby. 1 minute walk to Union Square and Powell Street cable car. Everything is so close by that i would definitely stay here again if returning to San Francisco

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveTrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#38 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#37 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,390 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,805 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#46 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Property: Hotel Abri
Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco’s Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel’s energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, as part of the Larkspur Collection, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including the FeatherBorne® Bed package, L’Occitane bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing