We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, updated, but not new”
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abri
Ranked #50 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I had a very nice stay at Hotel Abri. The staff was genuinely welcoming and very helpful and I was upgraded to a suite, which was a nice surprise. The lobby feels very modern and the room has nice updated furnishings (apart from a slightly worn couch), but it still has the vaguely musty smell of an old NYC apt. and feels a little old, perhaps because of the older real wooden doors and big windows (which actually gives it more charm).

As others have mentioned, the free wifi was iffy, the bed was VERY comfortable, and having a courtyard room made it nice and quiet. The location is fantastic, especially for tourists interested in riding the cable car, or anyone who wants to be close to the very convenient Powell St. station, Union Sq. shopping, or SOMA area.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BusinessTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 1,849 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

My experience here was very positive. The front desk staff are attentive and friendly, the rooms are clean (with new appliances such as a large 40"+ TV) and the beds are comfortable.

It was also a value conscious choice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

From the amazing reviews, we were definitely expecting more than we got. The small room, with no amenities, could have been found at the motel 6 for a much better price. There was, however, nothing terribly wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriscdove, Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Zachary W.-

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review of Hotel AbRi. We greatly value your feedback and the comments are guests have regarding their stay with us. The entire Team is always very interested in improving the quality of the service we provide. I am sorry that the room size was small however for future reference we do have a wide selection of rooms include a large percentage of suites. I am also so sorry that you had missed an opportunity to familiarize yourself with our guest room amenities. Just a short list of some of them include; a selection interestingly sourced local magazines to familiarize our guests with the Bay Area, two deluxe plush bathrobes, luxurious 300 plus count bed linens, all day in room dining available from our fantastic Puccini and Pinetti restaurant, Voss Water available in each guest room, a wide selection of tech amenities from our "Tech Menu", complimentary in room high speed Wi-Fi service, complimentary in room coffee, and others, just to name a few. Zachary, we do look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel AbRi sometime in the future.

With best regards,
Chris Dove
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are still pinching ourselves over finding this gem, so close to the business we had to do and all the wonderful amenities of the city. The staff was so helpful and room was delightful. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room at the back was quieter..no view for sure, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haveamartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We arrived early at the hotel and our room was ready which is always a bonus. The hotel is in a fantastic location! Just 1 block from Union Square and a short walk to the cable cars and Market street. The hotel is in an old building but has been fully renovated and was modern, welcoming and trendy. The staff at the front desk were very helpful, offering us a map with directions to the cable car so we could get down to Fisherman's Wharf and a complimentary drink at the neighboring bar.

The only negative about the hotel was the size of the room... I even called down to the front desk to make sure we had the right room as it was very, very small! I expected something a little larger... The room barely fit a queen size bed (an Australian double) and a chaise lounge. The bathroom was also very small with very little bench space, definitely not room enough for 2 people in there at the same time. If you've ever stayed in a Parisian hotel, this is what you should expect.

We were only in the city for a short time and hardly spent any time in the room as there is so much to see in the city so it didn't affect our time there in a negative way at all.

Advice when booking - book one of the more expensive rooms for the much needed addition space.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple definitely choose a more expensive room for the additional space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was our first stay in San Francisco and we chose to stay in the Union Square area so we picked Hotel Abri based on Trip Advisor reviews. The lobby was very nice, trendy. Had iPads on the wall to use to search for restaurants and things to do, very nice touch!
We got upgraded to an oasis suite which was very nice, way more room than the two of us needed. There was a nice sized living room, bathroom and bedroom.
The one negative I had with the hotel was the complimentary wifi, it was really bad. Had to pay $6 to use a better wifi which was still pretty bad. For $300/night I expected much better.
The cable car turnaround was only one block away - was great when we were heading up to Fisherman's Wharf.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank metfanatic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you want a great location in San Francisco, stay at the Hotel Abri. Everything is close by - shopping, Chinatown, Union Square, the BART, cable cars, etc. We had a rental car with us that we didn't need in San Francisco, and had the Valet take it overnight for $40. The front desk staff were very helpful and very friendly. Our room was incredibly clean. We stayed in a King Suite and loved it (albeit we spend way more time exploring the city).

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor, corner room, King Suite. It was an amazing room with a separate king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BookPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
609 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,341 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,746 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
1,848 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $173 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco's Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel's energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. We are a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing