We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abri
Ranked #46 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in San Francisco and we chose to stay in the Union Square area so we picked Hotel Abri based on Trip Advisor reviews. The lobby was very nice, trendy. Had iPads on the wall to use to search for restaurants and things to do, very nice touch!
We got upgraded to an oasis suite which was very nice, way more room than the two of us needed. There was a nice sized living room, bathroom and bedroom.
The one negative I had with the hotel was the complimentary wifi, it was really bad. Had to pay $6 to use a better wifi which was still pretty bad. For $300/night I expected much better.
The cable car turnaround was only one block away - was great when we were heading up to Fisherman's Wharf.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank metfanatic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    661
    172
    45
    37
See reviews for
289
600
130
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you want a great location in San Francisco, stay at the Hotel Abri. Everything is close by - shopping, Chinatown, Union Square, the BART, cable cars, etc. We had a rental car with us that we didn't need in San Francisco, and had the Valet take it overnight for $40. The front desk staff were very helpful and very friendly. Our room was incredibly clean. We stayed in a King Suite and loved it (albeit we spend way more time exploring the city).

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor, corner room, King Suite. It was an amazing room with a separate king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

First off, the location of this hotel is awesome. A block off the famous cable cars & easy access to BART & MUNI makes this spot great as a base for touring the city. Walking distance to Chinatown, Union Square, Nob Hill, good restaurants,& more.

Hotel Abri is in an older building which gives it charm but also means a smaller hotel room. I had read reviews about noise so I requested a quiet room. We were given an interior room on the 4th floor that had a window out to an interior atrium. Basically you only look out at other windows but at least it was quiet & allowed for sunlight in the room. The bed was comfortable with a good shower & bathroom setup. The only negative was the musty odor that almost knocked us over when we first entered. We had a window AC unit running with the window open which helped clear the smell but if you are bothered by that, keep it in mind. Another nice plus at check in was a coupon for a complimentary glass of champagne from the restaurant bar. There was always a crowd at the restaurant so it makes a nice option for business travelers to have a good meal close to their hotel. I would definitely return. Nice option with a reasonable cost at a great location.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quiet while you still get a window to open & brighten your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileycuteness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed for 3 days to attend a conference at Moscone South. Location is awesome. Few minutes walk from the convention center.

Although many reviewers complained of the street noise, staying at the higher floors on the side street (Cyril Magnin St), I did not have any issue. Some minimal street noise from emergency vehicles was present, but bed was very comfortable and I slept well even with moderate jet lag after 15 hour flight.

Room was small, but renovated with nice cozy decor.

Lots of eating choices around it, Westfield shopping center right across the street. The downstairs restaurant Puccini & Pinetti was great with very efficient and and extremely nice bartender.

Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajatsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Excellent hotel staff, very friendly and helpful. Even before we arrived Wilmer was extremely helpful with phone inquiries and all staff were courteous and helpful during our 6 night stay. Special mention to Wilmer and Dinesh at the reception desk. Room was spacious, comfortable king bed. Excellent location. Near Union Square and Moscone convention centre. Close to public transportation. Great Italian restaurant on site with equally friendly staff. Would definitely return to this hotel again. Great hospitality service!

Room Tip: Had inside room with separate sitting room, great for couples who may have different sleeping schedu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Abri is in a great handy location to the shops of union square, the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. I did need to run the fan through the nightnto circulate the air but all fine with that. The rooms are small and particularly ther is little shelf space in the bathroom. But the staff are lovely, wifi worked perfectly and it was handy to have the restaurant next door for meals on the run though it was also very busy. Great spot!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We came to SF for a medical visit to UCSF and spent one night. The double room was small, but fine for two adults or a couple with young kids (beds are full, not queen sized, so a little cozy if you're sharing). However, room was clean, nicely updated, with large flat screen TV and many ports for charging/using personal electronics.

We were greeted by friendly staff, and the lobby is very attractive. I would stay again. We had a street view room, but with the fan running I didn't have trouble sleeping due to outside noise (the "white noise" of the fan drowned it out). I think I'd feel claustrophobic in an interior room, so I was happy to have a window.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Missbee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,569 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#103 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Property: Hotel Abri
Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco's Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel's energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. We are a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing