We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abri
Ranked #51 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I spent three nights here on a business trip back to my former hometown. It was work-related and on my dime so I wanted to save some money. I choose this hotel because the price was right. Although the area around the hotel is crowded with tourists and a heavy number of panhandlers, it's super close to BART and Muni and all of the Union Square attractions, plus easy walking distance to the Financial District. I really enjoyed this hotel. It's a big, old building and I appreciated the way they've embraced the older elements of the hotel like the large stairs and wide hallways. My room on the 2nd floor was very large and very comfortable. It was pleasantly decorated and it and a decent bathroom and a table that was suitable for setting up my laptop and getting to work. I actually ended spending more time in the room than I intended to so I appreciated that it was comfortable and clean the television came with a full menu of cable channels. The lobby area was nice and the staff was friendly. This hotel pulls off being upscale and comfortable without being pretentious and at a really good price. I would recommend it and I think I would be stay there again. The only real downside is that there is not a gym. A good fitness center is a must for me. They do have an arrangement with a gym that's not so nearby but when you're traveling and you're busy and you need to workout, packing up a gym bag (if you have one) and going several blocks away to workout is not fun. But if that's not a major issue for you then the benefits here far outweigh any disadvantage.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

Front desk staff was great. Lobby area is quite nice.

Hotel rooms area is extremely outdated. Seems like I'm walking through an abandoned apartment building. The rooms are outdated as well. I suppose the main issue is the lobby gives off a completely different impression than what the room conditions are.

My main complaint is with housekeeping. I stayed for 5 nights and not once did I get a refill on soap/shampoo. Ya they cleaned up the room but no refills for 5 nights??? that's ridiculous. I'm sure I could have called to complain but I was way too busy to spend the time.

I'd suggest coming here only if the rates are extremely competitive.

Room Tip: Get something near the stairwell cause the elevator takes forever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awwwyeah206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The abri hotel is a really nice hotel and the staff is really nice !! but it is next a dance club! so not really relaxing and didn't sleep very well. but i will recommend for only one night and help to enjoy the sf vibe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank richelle_95120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed there last week and it's a nice little hotel. Location is close to Market St, cable car, buses, and plethora of bars and restaurants. My room is like a city apartment and felt very homey as opposed to a hotel. So, that was nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. One of the staffs, Taylor, gave great recommendations to Thai and other restaurants in the area. Thanks, Taylor!! I will definitely stay at Hotel Abri again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Art T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at Abri for three days during a visit to San Francisco. The location of the hotel was great. Wonderful rooms, good price and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again if I visit the city again.

Stayed March 2014.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ketlin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is the first time that I have stayed at this little hotel near Union Square.... And will no doubt use it again.

Wonderful rooms, good price and very friendly staff. Nicely appointed rooms with very comfortable beds....

As a number of people have mentioned, it can be a bit noisy but in the downtown it is hard to avoid that.... Ask for a room not facing the street.... It did not bother me.

Very centrally located.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank ggcaiazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night before a trip to Napa, and enjoyed our stay. For a first time in San Francisco, I thought this was a central location based on the reviews I had read. We were within walking distance to several restaurants and the original mason-powell cable car. After visiting Fisherman's Wharf, I'm still glad we chose the union square location as there is so much more to do in this area. The only downside/sad thing is lots and lots of homeless people in the area.

The room was small and I would compare it to the size of many New York hotel rooms; however, we were hardly in the room at all. The bed was really comfy and the bathroom/shower were a good size. There was also a large closet in the room. The only complaint was there was a musty smell on our floor/in our room. We requested a courtyard facing room and it was really quiet at night. If you're driving, just valet park for $40 if you don't want to deal with looking for a parking space/garage. There was one nearby but it was worth it to valet.

We ate at the restaurant Puccini & Pinetti connected to the hotel and had some delicious pizza and drinks. Great choice after a long day of walking around to have some place so convenient. We also appreciated having an umbrella to borrow for the rainy day!

Overall a great stay for a first time in San Fran!

Room Tip: request a courtyard facing room for a more quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aggieally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
613 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,361 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#11 of 230 in San Francisco
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,205 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
1,872 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $158 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco's Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel's energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. We are a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing