We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location in union square”
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abri
Ranked #49 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night before a trip to Napa, and enjoyed our stay. For a first time in San Francisco, I thought this was a central location based on the reviews I had read. We were within walking distance to several restaurants and the original mason-powell cable car. After visiting Fisherman's Wharf, I'm still glad we chose the union square location as there is so much more to do in this area. The only downside/sad thing is lots and lots of homeless people in the area.

The room was small and I would compare it to the size of many New York hotel rooms; however, we were hardly in the room at all. The bed was really comfy and the bathroom/shower were a good size. There was also a large closet in the room. The only complaint was there was a musty smell on our floor/in our room. We requested a courtyard facing room and it was really quiet at night. If you're driving, just valet park for $40 if you don't want to deal with looking for a parking space/garage. There was one nearby but it was worth it to valet.

We ate at the restaurant Puccini & Pinetti connected to the hotel and had some delicious pizza and drinks. Great choice after a long day of walking around to have some place so convenient. We also appreciated having an umbrella to borrow for the rainy day!

Overall a great stay for a first time in San Fran!

Room Tip: request a courtyard facing room for a more quiet room
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aggieally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Excellent location to explore San Francisco and ideal for Moscone Centre. Good rates and excellent, friendly service - especially from the lovely Taylor! Good business facilities. I am a regular visitor to San Francisco on business and will look to rebook.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if you want something quieter. The hotel will give you coupons co...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidLane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Upon arrival, I was taken away by the sweeping lobby which has a stunning design, inviting fireplace / lounge area and welcoming front desk staff.

We checked into our rooms with no problem (traveling with a group). We were handed the key card to the outward facing room that "gets a little bit loud". I didn't mind this because it takes a lot to disturb my sleep.

Well, it's now 1 AM and it's so loud that I'm writing this review.

The rooms are nice and mostly clean beside the random contact case that I spotted behind the desk.

If you come to this hotel make sure to get an inside room or plan on staying out until 2 am, when all the clubs shut down.



  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simocrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was my third visit to Abri after a brief stay in early 2013.

On a recent business trip to San Francisco I made a return visit to Abri for a second night. My first night's experience was very positive so I discontinued my staff at another hotel to come back to Abri. Location is very good close to BART/Metro a block away, conveniences galore as Powell Street/Union Square has sharpened its image the past few years.

You still get the occasional SF-unique streeter noise (most noticeable after midnight when things are quieter overall) and there isn't a fitness center in the hotel (they partner with a gym for a fee) but the rooms are so very comfortable with a modern touch. The AV hookups for the flatscreen TV are a nice advantage offered by Abri. Bathrooms are spacious, beds comfortable and overall ambiance well done.

If you are able to get this hotel at a good rate, do it! Staff is excellent. The orange flavored bubble gum in the check in counter gum machine is great too.

Room Tip: You might give up a bit of light but choose an inside facing room if you want more quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2MillionMileMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Just two blocks from Union Square and one block from the Powell Street BART station, this hotel is the perfect location for a downtown San Francisco visit. And if first impressions are all that matter, Edwin the doorman got our city getaway off to a great start. This modern boutique hotel has a modern vibe and a friendly helpful staff. The two-queen rooms are small, yet nicely appointed. The lobby, hallways and room were very clean. Rooms on the courtyard side of the hall are quiet! I look forward to my next visit.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank prqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at Abri for four days during a visit to San Francisco. The location of the hotel was great, very close to Union Square and to Market Street. The room was small but clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again if I visit the city again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have lower street noise
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ca_Giovanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is an older hotel that's been updated. We were in town to house hunt and found the location near Union Square and the Market Street transit corridor very handy. Staff could not be nicer. Pleasant room that was more like a small suite; uninspiring view of the air shaft. Nota bene, this is not a quiet location if that's an issue for you - as New Yorkers, we felt at home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yog-Sothoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
341 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,679 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,269 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,181 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#54 of 229 in San Francisco
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $228 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco's Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel's energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. We are a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing