We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location in San Fran”
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abri
Ranked #48 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice location in San Fran”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at Abri for four days during a visit to San Francisco. The location of the hotel was great, very close to Union Square and to Market Street. The room was small but clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again if I visit the city again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have lower street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ca_Giovanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    663
    173
    45
    37
See reviews for
290
602
130
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
705 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is an older hotel that's been updated. We were in town to house hunt and found the location near Union Square and the Market Street transit corridor very handy. Staff could not be nicer. Pleasant room that was more like a small suite; uninspiring view of the air shaft. Nota bene, this is not a quiet location if that's an issue for you - as New Yorkers, we felt at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yog-Sothoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good price and location, noisy for those who look for calm nights, room was too small even for me alone ...but overall I like the place..
wifi connection for free which is good, you are right by union square and all shops... you can reach by public transport - no need for taxi

Room Tip: check room size, and avoid noisy side of street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Abri is located on Ellis Street, running parallel to Market St. Easy walk to the Powell Street cable car turnaround and Westfield Mall. The staff is friendly, polite and very knowledgeable. The hotel is old, but has been completely renovated. We had a king bed which was super comfortable, and had great linens. The bathroom was good size, and the water was hot and had plenty of water pressure in the shower. Very clean, no bedbugs. My two complaints: funky overhead fluorescent light, and there should be more hooks in the bathroom. Would stay here again for sure. Yes, there is room service, from the restaurant next door/downstairs. Food was delivered super fast, but the pizza was soggy (not cooked enough), the mozzarella wasn't even melted. Stopped in for a drink and appetizer the next night, drinks were okay (the bartender was a ninja), and the food was average. Seems like the focus was on speed and not quality. Head to the mall food emporium for better food and more choices.

Helpful?
Thank AuntieGenius
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I and my wife stayed in the Hotel Abri 2 nights, the room was not huge but very clean decor 4 star hotel. The staff was very helpful and the location fantastic Hotel in downtown San Francisco.
Next year we plan to go back to San Francisco and Abri will be our Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellisville, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and sons just spent 4 days in SF at the Hotel Abri and we had a great time. And I would say that our stay at the Hotel Abri was just as good if not better than another recent stay at the Inn on Union Square, which is also a boutique hotel. That said, there is an issue or two that you need to come prepared for.

To get the greatest enjoyment from this hotel, you need to get a suite, which is very inexpensive compared to surrounding hotels regular room rates. And, you do need an interior room (I think the suites are all on the interior). The rooms facing the street can be very noisy until late at night, but you run into this at any small hotel. If you want top notch rooms with no noise and are willing to pay $400 per night, then stay at the Parc 55. Also, this hotel is not very tall, with only about 5 floors, so you are not going to get a room with a view. This hotel is for those who don't want the standard cookie cutter Marriott or Hyatt rooms and what something a little more quaint.

And at a little more than $200 per night, plus tax, etc., you can get a great two room suite at Hotel Abri, with a king sized bed in one room (which was wonderful) and a fold out couch in the other. The room includes a very small refrigerator. There is also a small window air conditioner for cooling, but I doubt that this is necessary. Other hotels, like the Inn on Union Square only have a ceiling fan.

The hotel was very clean, the people at the door and reception were helpful and friendly, and housekeeping did an excellent job. There is a very nice Italian restaurant with entry through the hotel that provides room service and the food is excellent, but the staff can also arrange reservations at other restaurants. Like many small hotels, they did not have a pool or fitness center, so that is a consideration if you have children with you.

Seeing that our luggage was lost for the first day and a half, the hotel provided toiletries for us which was helpful. They have a very small offering of wines and snacks for treats, but no sodas as I recall. At night in the lobby they have a small sample of a "drink of the day" which we enjoyed.

Being in Union Square, you are at a central location which makes getting around town very easy. The hotel is right next to the Powell Street streetcar turnaround for easy sightseeing down to the Warf. And the shopping in the immediate area includes a large number of high end stores, top restaurants,and the Westfield Shopping Mall. You are also easy walking distance to the Moscone Convention Center. If you like eating some meals in your room, Try Bristol Farms on the lower level of the Westfield Mall just a couple of blocks away. Wonderful bakery and upscale ready to eat foods, full deli, pizza, etc., along with a small but well stocked grocery.

Perfect location, great hotel - So two thumbs up for our stay at Hotel Abri!

Room Tip: A suite on the interior is a must here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke19492902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I typically don't write reviews, especially bad ones. But I feel I need to warn potential future customers on what they may expect.
1) Central area, close to the Powell BART stop. However, it feels quite unsafe on the street.
2) Very poor noise isolation. Avoid rooms on the street if you really want to go to this hotel.
3) Slowest complementary internet connection ever seen. Hard to even send a small attachment by email.
4) I was charged twice the amount I reserved for. The issue seems to be under investigation, still waiting for a good reason of why that would happen.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vito G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,835 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#35 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,573 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Property: Hotel Abri
Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco's Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel's energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. We are a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing