We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee hotel with an excellent location”
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abri
Ranked #48 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great wee hotel with an excellent location”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Abri for for 3 nights in early June and can thoroughly recommend the location and the hotel. The room was on the small side but perfectly appointed. The staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely come back here if we were back in San Francisco.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    664
    174
    45
    37
See reviews for
291
604
130
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights. Very good experience. Clean hotel, helpful staff.
As said by previous commenters, passed the entrance you can see that it is an old building. In my room the windows were the original ones (ie not doubled) But everything is freshly painted/clean carpet etc.
The staff is very helpful (I finally got s.o. to tell me The Slanted Door as a walk-in section :) )
Rooms are not the usual large American hotel rooms but there are still very comfortable. Nice King bed. Nice TV screen. Very clean.
The bathroom size is not an issue unless you are older. In my room the shower door opens 5cm from the toilets and the sink.
I was staying on the street side and no problem with the noise.

Room Tip: Last floor street side rooms have smaller windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice hotel. Everything worked just fine. Almost all employees are very friendly. Niche location. Very nice lobby.
Cons:
Extending our stay was at three times the original rate!
Late night noise from the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik Bork S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife, son (10mths) and I recently stayed at Hotel Abri, it was the perfect stay, hotel staff were both extremely helpful and friendly, going out of there way to help us with information. We had a free upgrade on arrival to the most comfortable room we have ever stayed in (oasis suite), location could not be better with a short walk to train, shops, union square, buses, grocery stores you name it! Have told all our friends about it and can't wait to go back and stay again :)

Room Tip: Oasis suite is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slinger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location, and fast and effective check in.

Lobby is a lot more modern than the rooms themselves. Rooms were small but clean and sufficient. Bathroom was slightly dated but clean and well maintained. WIFI was suspect to say the least so do not rely on it too much.

Great staff whom couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudithChalmers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed for 6 nights at Hotel Abri in June 2013 for the WWDC conference. I found the hotel to be very confortable and clean. The foyer is very modern looking but it quickly ends when you get to the hallways that goto your room. I took the internal room as I was advised that it was quieter. The room itself was very small but it had a king size bed taking up most of the room. It had a large TV mounted to the wall and a desk for working. The bathroom was very nice and always clean. The water pressure in the shower however was quite low. The staff at the hotel were excellent, always friendly and answered any questions I had easily. I think this is probably the best part of this hotel.

I initially made the decision to stay here based on the free WiFi, this turned out to be next to useless though. Constantly timing out that in the end I didn't even bother logging on.

Room Tip: If given the option between external or internal room take the internal. The road noise can be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for the second half of our honeymoon. Did not feel welcomed or like they even cared we were there. I understand staying in the city and with the location, the rooms will be noisy..but these are very noisy (even with a sleep machine). The rooms are tiny and ALL front desks employees are HORRIBLY RUDE. Not interested in answering your questions or explaining anything about the hotel (parking, happy hour, restaurant next door, gym, etc). Will NOT return to Hotel Abri.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrehant, General Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear SB F-

I greatly apologize for the experience that you had here at the Hotel Abri during your honeymoon trip in May. There must have been some specifics that are not recounted in the review, and so I am unsure how to address. I have a really great team here at the Abri whom I am very proud of and whom are recognized for their excellent guest service skills on a daily basis, so I am shocked and disappointed that your impression was not that at all. Newlyweds, especially, are a joy for us to have at the hotel, and we like to congratulate and celebrate the new union in small specail ways, and love to assist with recommendations for activities and meals to make your time here in San Francisco all the more special. I apologize once again for your experience and wish you the very best!

Yours in hospitality-
Rob Brehant, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,838 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#36 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,575 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#103 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Property: Hotel Abri
Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco's Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel's energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. We are a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing