We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boutique hotel and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Abri
Ranked #46 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beijing
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for a week on business. Nice small hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms, good value. Ask for AAA Auto Club discount for $20/night discount. Its very close to the cable car line, to the Westfield mall on market, to BART, and to Union Square. its a 10 minute walk up market street to the financial district. I could also see bringing my family here

Room Tip: ask for AAA Auto Club discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millions_0Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    640
    165
    42
    33
See reviews for
274
576
126
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pretty but smallish rooms, that can get noisy on the infusion club side. The competent restaurant next door delivers to the rooms for a small charge.

Very centrally located, convenient to most areas and the moscone center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lordmerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location and price of this hotel were exactly what we wanted...1 block from the BART and 2 blocks from Union Square. The hotel is very well managed, clean, and comfortable. Great showers and comfortable beds. We weren't in the hotel much as we were on a vacation and were busy running around but we looked forward to coming "home" to our hotel each night and finding dinner at all the local restaurants. It's centrally located to everything you'll want to see. We're very frugal people so we vetted many, many hotels. And finally settled on this one. So glad we did! Anytime we go back to San Francisco (which now we want to make a regular thing out of it) we want to stay at Hotel Abri. We even looked into their enrollment program to earn free nights...and we never do that.
When we were initially debating whether to stay in the Fisherman's Wharf area or Union Square, we ultimately decided we wanted to be in the city...not a tourist attraction, so we went with Union Square. It was great to visit touristy areas but come back to local life. That said, Union Square is a huge shopping mecca so you could argue that its a commercial area. But the vibe feel much more local. This hotel is like staying Union Square in NY versus sleeping in Time Square...exactly how we wanted to experience San Fran.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Definitely a nice hotel under idea circumstances. Lovely lobby. Nice to have Puccini & Pinetti close by and for room service. The vibe is hip and sophisticated. Unlike my previous review of Hotel Diva where they botched the 'boutique' renovation, Abri has done it right. Not too hip for it's own good they took an old hotel and classed it up. The rooms have VERY comfy beds, nice details, full channels on the TV, very nice bathrooms, very helpful staff.

My only complaint is that our room was INCREDIBLY noisy on the night of Jan 22-23rd. First, at 2am the Infusion Lounge across the street let out. It was as if there was a party just outside our room for at least 45 minutes. Yelling, woo-hoo'ing and mayhem. To make matters worse, the same d*mn club decided to start some work at 5am by firing up the loudest generator known to man. I'm still sitting listening to this, which sounds like a jet engine - relentless.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Seeing how easily the noise can penetrate, I'd recommend earplugs. Also check to see if there is any known construction or other disturbances planned.

Room Tip: Anywhere away from Ellis St. if possible. Noise is awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shakaZOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a great experience at Hotel Abri. The friendly front-desk staff gave me a great first impression of the hotel, and the hotel is very hip and chic! The location speaks for itself - right in the heart of it all and easy to get anywhere in San Francisco. Room was great as well - very modern, nice flatscreens in both rooms, and one of us used the pullout sofa which provided for an amazing sleep. Look forward to staying at Hotel Abri again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jaydonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our first impression the minute we checked in was that this had been a good choice! We were cordially greeted by a smiling receptionist who even upgraded us for free to a suite ! That was quite a pleasant surprise as the room was quite spacious with a large modern bathroom , free wifi and beautifully decorated. Just the perfect way to spend our last night in San Fransisco. The location is perfect just a few minutes on foot from Powell street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna_maraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed recently at the Hotel Abri and recommend it. Very clean and nice room, and upon requesting a quiet room were given a room with no street noise whatsoever room on the inside courtyard - no view but did not mind. Very friendly and helpful staff. Modern nicely-refurbished room and bathroom and comfortable king-size mattress. The heat/AC is not the best, but slept very comfortably with the extra blanket from the closet. Nice big TV and shower. Did not have a car so can't comment on valet parking, but the location is within easy walking distance to lots of great things to do in SF.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside (of which they have quite a few) have no street noise at all and are very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeT425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#41 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#101 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#75 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#56 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Property: Hotel Abri
Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco's Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel's energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. We are a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing