We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A great find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abri
Ranked #40 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
torrance,ca
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

After getting a great rate at HT, we stayed at Hotel Abri on a busy, rainy Friday night. Large urban suite, nice remodeled bathroom, coffee maker, 2 big TVs and plush robes! The only minus is because it is an old building, the noise is bad. Will return again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W.O.F.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrehant, General Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear W.O.F.,
I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We are proud to provide a comfortable, cozy, and hip home away from home for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Abri soon and hope to bring out the sunshine for your return!

Yours in hospitality,
Rob Brehant, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    623
    157
    40
    30
See reviews for
266
561
122
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from a 2 day stay at the Hotel Abri. Location is perfect, walking distince to everything near Union Square. My husband was at a conference at a nearby hotel, where the rooms were $400/night, and no room for our daughter. Here we had a suite with a king and sofabed for my 17 yo daughter, she had no complaints and the room was even separated by a door. Much cheaper! Two huge flatscreen tvs (although we were too busy to watch) and a small fridge. Really clean and nicely decorated. Super friendly staff. Only bummer was the parking, $35/night, and 3 blocks away, so if you forgot something in your car, too bad! We thought it was quiet except for the vacuuming was a little early (9am) on a weekend morning. Would stay here again. Let us check in early.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonGal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Abri Hotel for 5 nights and it was worth every penny. The location is excellent; near Union Square and all the major transportation hubs. The room was very clean, modern, quiet and comfortable. And the staff was outstanding! At the end of our stay our flight was cancelled and we had to stay one more night. Even though they did not have rooms available the front desk staff found us another hotel a block away and even negotiated a better rate for us. This is now my favorite hotel in SF.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff at this hotel is amazing. I always call ahead to get early check in and then never ever get it at any hotel but when we arrived (before noon I think) they had noted our early arrival and had our rooms all set for us.
They were friendly and helpful with directions as well.
Rooms were clean. Complimentary water (in addition to water you have to pay $4 for...the sign is really hard to read so make sure you are aware).
Great location...really can't beat the location. I had no noise issues.
Price was amazing. I think for a suite it was $250/night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrehant, General Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Nadinelk-

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience here at the Abri! I am glad that we were able to accomodate your early arrival request and I'm glad you found my team so hospitable. I have an amazing team and we all take great pride in our hotel and the amazing city that we are hosts to. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Abri when your travels return you to San Francisco!

Yours in hospitality-

Rob Brehant, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel was nice and it was in a great location. Our room experienced a little outside noise due to the restaurant below, but the hotel staff was very apologetic. The train station and trolley is right around the corner. They don't give very good written directions if you want them, they tell you where something is and you just hope you don't forget what they said. Overall, very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoney75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrehant, General Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Shoney75,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are always excited and eager to make recommendations for guests when exploring the city, but I do apologize for the lack of written directions throughout your excursions. I have shared your experience with our staff and we will make sure to be as thorough as possible in the future. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Abri when your travels return you to the vibrant city of San Francisco!

Yours in hospitality,

Rob Brehant, General Manager, on behalf of the entire Abri Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, fl
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Nice boutique hotel a block from Market street, BART, MUNI and union station. Quiet room. No street noises! Bed and linens very high quality. Room pretty big for the city. The only reason it's not a 5 was there is no gym and they make you pay to 15 for a pass to a gym down the road. No kids around. Business and couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
290 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We had requested a quiet room near our friends. We were given a tiny room right over the front door, and three floors away from our friends. Very loud car, trolley, sirens, and people yelling all night. Even wearing earplugs it was a long night. They were very nice at the front desk and moved us to another room while we were away for the day. We came back to an even smaller room now only one floor away from our friends. We just had to laugh, afraid that if we complained we would end up in a birdhouse! It was much more quiet as we only had a tiny window facing inside but the room was so small that we had to take turns walking around the bed. Our friends had huge room with a table, chairs, chaise for luggage. We had one chair and we were paying the same rate! What is up with this!? The staff was nice but I think we'll look around next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank flosser201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#45 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Union Square
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Union Square
Holiday Inn Express San Francisc...
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Property: Hotel Abri
Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco's Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel's energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. We are a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing