We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to enjoy the Joys of san Francisco!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #61 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location to enjoy the Joys of san Francisco!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Marriott at Fisherman's Wharf is in an ideal location! On the waterfront you can walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, all the Piers, North Beach, Chinatown, Coit Tower, catch a trolley or take a fabulous Big B Bus On and Off Tour of ALL of San Francisco!! The staff is great! With newer hotels in the neighborhood I am confident that Marriott will upgrade this hotel soon. Until then the hotel is a great location with all the services a traveler will need.I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher Floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HartfordMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello HartfordMom,

Thank you so much for your kind words about property and our staff.

Our wonderful location, coupled with a dedicated team of professionals that provides topnotch service and care for our property, indeed are some of our best assets.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to the City by the Bay, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    625
    249
    43
    33
See reviews for
400
464
34
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great hotel, perfect location to walk around SF, Ghiradelli Square, North Beach, Crooked Street,
Pier 39 and lots of restaurants. Breakfast at IHOP restaurant was great only 3 blocks from hotel, look for coupons in local news papers. You need to do the Bike tour over the golden gate bridge, lots of fun, do it early to get a token when you reach the end for VIP ferry ride. Do not book the winery tours if you have teens in your group, they will be bored. SF is a great town lots to do, we enjoyed out trip and will be back. Make sure you book the trip to Alcatraz, you will enjoy it.

AP

Room Tip: ask for the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMP312014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Location wise, you cannot beat it if you want to be able to walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Ghiradelli Square, restaurants,Lombard Street, Coit Tower, Hyde/ Powell Cable Car, North Beach, etc... We had a 6 & 10 year old and aside from the trolley car up to Chinatown, we walked everywhere ... and easily.

Additional plus is that the staff in this hotel is extremely friendly and accommodating - and I mean everyone! We arrived after a long day of travel to a very bubbly and kind front desk. Jarred was ridiculously helpful with restaurant tips, walking suggestions, etc.. and the concierge put together an amazing itinerary for us complete with suggested times, phone numbers and printouts with directions. The valet was also fast and attentive - although the parking fee is steep at $50 per night - and always had our car waiting for us when we came downstairs.

Room wise, we had a Junior Suite with a courtyard view and found it to be perfect four our family of four. City noise was not an issue, it had King bed, a pullout sofa plus space for a roll a way and we all slept. Also nice was that they included breakfast for 3 (not 2!) since we are platinum with Marriott and a concierge lounge is not on site.

Overall, great place to stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel through Hotwire.com for one night in SF for a friend, my partner and I. We were early before normal check-in time but the staff at reception was very nice and helpful and told me that our room was ready. I asked for 3 keys and was informed about the price of valet parking: $50 plus taxes per night... Expensive, particularly when we have been already charged almost $400 for the room. We were surprised when we came up to the room to find that there was only one king bed. I went immediately down to the reception to speak to the same lady I have been served by and she told me that they did not have any double rooms available. I explained to her that the room was booked for three people and then I was told that the booking does not guarantee the number of beds!!. She offered to put an extra bed in the room and assured me she would get that sorted right away. Although this was far from ideal, we could not do much about it, since we were already in the city and the hotel room had been already paid for. We left for lunch and a stroll and we were out for about 4 hours. When we got back for a rest, the supplementary bed had not been put in the room. I went to reception to complained about the whole experience. The guy there told me that the hotel does not know how many people are for each room when a booking is made and they only know at check-in (found this very difficult to believe) and only offered a very cold apology about the oversight of the second bed not being put in the room. Then he called housekeeping who brought a ridiculously small and very uncomfortable bed to a not very big room in the first place. Needless is to say that we did not have a proper night if sleep. My friend could not sleep at all during the night in the tiny supplementary bed and we could not sleep well either knowing about him and the poor quality offered.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, if they cannot be bothered to check the number of people that they are booked for each room. And even when the problem is reported to them, they do not do much to get the situation improved.

Very expensive, not value for money and poor customer services is how I can describe our stay at this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hello Victor A,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay .

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the parking charges and the bed issue.

Please know that our valet parking fee is in line, if not lesser, than the average parking fee in the city.

Unfortunately, some third party booking sites guarantee a room but do not specify the room type upon reservation. As the comfort of our guests is our highest priority, we always recommend guests reach out to us directly so that we may assign accommodations based on their preference.

Please also know that I will be sharing your comments with our entire team as we strive to raise the bar of excellence here at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.

We hope you will consider our hotel again on your next visit, and allow us the opportunity to provide you with an increased level of service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our 12 day vacation that started in Yellowstone and was diverted to San Francisco due to the fires in Yosemite brought us to this Marriott. The front desk representative could see on my face what a lousy day that I was having and was quick to offer us two free drinks in the lounge. It was a small gesture but meant a lot. Up to that point all we heard was excuses and apologies for our poor experiences. The hotel is in a great location and is full service. The bar service could be improved but I was greatly appreciative for the handout. My family had the buffet on Sunday morning and enjoyed it. The rooms are somewhat small but typical of the city. Be prepared for the $50 nightly parking charge which seems to be the norm in the Wharf area. It still irks me. Thank you Marriott for stopping the proverbial bleeding. You where there when we needed you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hello StevenP,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience from your recent stay.

We are very pleased that we were able to made your trip better. It means a lot to our team knowing that we made your trip memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco and we assure you that we will be there anytime you need us!

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. Nothing extra was provided. Wifi was expensive in room (17.95). Breakfast buffet was $26. At least there was free coffee in the lobby in the morning and the rooms were clean and had a refrigerator. This place has a great location but they need to work a bit harder to make it worth it to stay here.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hello Traveljunkie237,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about our clean rooms and great location.

We also appreciate your candid comments about the breakfast and wifi. Please know that we do offer complimentary wifi in our hotel lobby. The $12.95 per day charge in the guestrooms includes unlimited local and domestic long distance calls, while the enhanced wifi for $17.95 is 3x faster and also allows for streaming, conferencing, and more. I will be certain to share your comments with our team, as we work on exceeding expectations such as yours.

We hope you will give us a chance to make it better for you on your future visit. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Best regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This Marriott was a fine property but for the price and the category 8 status, I expected much more from it. It did not have a concierge lounge and everything about the hotel was fine but average. The breakfast buffet in the morning was also fine but absolutely nothing special. Overall, this hotel was clean, safe and in a great area for tourist offerings, but I was certainly not impressed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello katjacob,

Thank you so much for commenting on the cleanliness of our hotel as well as the safe condition of our location.

We are sorry to hear about your disapponment with the other amenities. Please know that the hotel prices in the city fluctuates based on compression.

We hope you would consider our property again in the future. When you do, please do contact us at the hotel directly so that we can offer you the best possible rates.

Warm regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 229 in San Francisco
2,136 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf

Property: San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf. Our LOCATION in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, between two of San Francisco's cable car lines near attractions and shopping, and 15 miles north of the San Francisco International Airport, is ideal. Enjoy our Fisherman's Wharf hotel's perfect setting just 1.5 miles from the San Francisco Financial District. SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS 285 Deluxe Sleeping Rooms (including 12 Junior Suites and 1 Hospitality Suite) Five Floors Completely Renovated Guests Rooms and Meeting Space MEETING ACCOMMODATIONS Seven meeting rooms totaling over 6,000 square feet We can accommodate meetings and food & beverage functions for groups of 5 to 250 RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE FACILITIES Casual dining in a full-service restaurant, Redfin EXTRAS Fitness Center (24-hour access with guestroom key). Handicap Accessible Rooms Safety Deposit Boxes Available Iron, Ironing Board and Hairdryers in Each Guest Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Marriott Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing