We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Hotel, Great location for tourists.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #60 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great location for tourists.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is our second stay here within two years. The hotel is a very short walk to Fishermans wharf. The hotel is well presented and the rooms are always well serviced and clean. The first stay was on the ground level with a street view towards Walgreens (grocery/convenience store) Little bit of street noise. Second stay was with courtyard view level 5 and was very quiet.

The staff are pleasant and helpful. We made one local telephone call to the airport shuttle transfer company to confirm our pickup, billed US$6.85.

No free wifi in your room for guests, but free wifi is available in the lobby.

Short walk to a 24hrs Dennys Restaurant, Walgreens, a couple of breakfast cafes towards Fishermans wharf.

Overall the hotel is very good

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room. The street facing rooms have traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello Chris C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about our friendly staff and great location. Our property is indeed located right in the heart of the Fisherman’s Wharf, and within walking distance from the famous North Beach district, Chinatown, Embarcadero, and more.

We indeed offer comlimentary wifi in our hotel lobby, while the $12.95 per day charge in the guestrooms also covers unlimited local and domestic long distance calls.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the City by the Bay!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    538
    221
    37
    25
See reviews for
338
395
30
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jonesboro ar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights while on vacation and everything about this hotel was great!
They kept out bags secure for early check in, the staff was really friendly and welcoming. They had the most delicious cookies my family looked forward to in the evening after a long day of site seeing. The staff went above and beyond to help us in anyway they could even arranging a taxi cab for us to the airport on our last night. The location was perfect walking distance for Fisherman's Wharf, restaurants and many other activities. We felt safe and well taken care of.
The room was on the top floor and was well equipped with a minifridge and microwave upon request, beds were really comfy. We loved the location and the just the kindness of everyone of the staff we came in contact with at the hotel. Would definetly stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello BobbiB,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience from your recent stay.

We are very pleased to hear that your family had a great visit to San Francisco. It always makes us happy knowing we helped created wonderful travel experiences like yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the City by the Bay.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't typically stay in such a touristy area, but there was big conference in town and most hotels were sold out. I paid $400 a night, plus $50 for parking for a room with 2 beds. It was much more than I typically spend, but that was the going rate for the night.

I had to head to an event, the valet kindly kept my car up front so I could check in and zip out.

My check in was a little slower than expected. When I did check in, the front desk person gave me a complimentary drink at the bar. Very nice touch.


The room as nice, a typical SF hotel room that was spacious and had nice amenities. I liked how they had a small menu fridge.

If you are a tourist and want to stay by the Wharf, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OliveOylSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello OliveOylSLO,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at our hotel. Our property is indeed conveniently located right in the heart of the Fisherman’s Wharf, and within walking distance from the famous North Beach district, Chinatown, Embarcadero, and more.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. I will make it a point to share your comments with everyone in our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the City by the Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here again this summer for three nights in June with my wife and 18 year old son as part of a week long vacation/college orientation in Reno and SF. (Stayed last summer also). Another very nice stay. Got he room type we requested (top floor, facing courtyard/roof) so no street noise (or any other noise for that matter). Very centrally located to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, Pier 39, harbor cruises, bus and trolley lines, even Lombard Street is only four blocks away, etc. We never used our car in the three days/nights we were there. (of course we still had to pay the $57.00 per night parking fee). Very helpful valets, bellmen, and concierges. (Though all had different opinions on how to get to the baseball game at AT&T park we were going to one night). We ended up taking the F line part way and walking the rest of the way. (Only about two miles along the wharf from the hotel to the ballpark total).
Yes the price is somewhat high (over $300 per night when we were there, plus the parking fee) but it is in a very good location. Will probably stay here again or maybe try the Marriott at Union Square next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello JohnB,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience from your recent stay.

We are very pleased to hear that you and your family had a great visit to San Francisco. It always makes us happy to know that we were a part of memorable travel experiences like yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent location if looking to explore the Fisherman's Wharf area. Rooms are larger than what I expected and in great shape. All of the staff was amazingly friendly: smiling faces and making a point to wish us a nice day whenever we walked by them or asked for anything

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here for a week for a work related conference.
The room was clean and tidy, quiet with a comfortable bed.I was very happy to be able to turn down the thermostat to get the room nice and cool for sleeping
Great location with nearby attractions and the 30 bus outside the door
On the whole I was very happy but the plug in the bath leaked and I had to pay for wifi in my room - going down to the foyer at 10pm to skype home is NOT convenient

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizaBennet1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Excellent decision to book this hotel. The staff was outstanding, friendly, and went the extra mile. The rooms were spacious, spotless, and nicely appointed. Can't say enough about the location. Easy, flat walk to everything we wanted. We were here on the night of July 4th and were able to see all the fireworks from our room window...a real bonus!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gonealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#52 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#58 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#39 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#32 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf

Property: San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 1250 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-1327
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf , North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION In the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, between two of San Francisco's cable car lines Near attractions, shopping, and 15 miles north of the San Francisco International Airport 1.5 miles from the San Francisco Financial District SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS 285 Deluxe Sleeping Rooms (including 12 Junior Suites and 1 Hospitality Suite) Five Floors Completely Renovated Guests Rooms and Meeting Space MEETING ACCOMMODATIONS Seven meeting rooms totaling over 6,000 square feet We can accommodate meetings and food & beverage functions for groups of 5 to 250 RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE FACILITIES Casual dining in a full-service restaurant, Spada EXTRAS tComplimentary Limousine Service to Financial District (7 a.m. – 9a.m., Mon – Fri) Health Club with Sauna (24-hour access with guestroom key), located on the second floor Gift Shop, open daily 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Fully-stocked Honor Bars in Each Guest Room Handicap Accessible Rooms Safety Deposit Boxes Available Iron, Ironing Board and Hairdryers in Each Guest Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Marriott Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing