We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #58 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I've stayed at hotels for over 120 nights in the past 12 to 14 months. Needless to say, I know my hotels.

The Marriott Fisherman's Wharf was centrally located for tourists and others wanting to see the the sights of San Francisco. The staff was friendly and the hotel was pretty darn clean, even by hotel standards.

However, I found it to be not worth the cost. It's a very old Marriott with limited amenities. Even for elite-level Marriott guests, the amenities are lacking.

As such, I cannot recommend this hotel. You'd get a much better value at the Holiday Inn or even Courtyard by Marriott.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank planetraincar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville H, Front Office Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Trainplaincar:
Thank you so much for the kind words about our hotel’s location, staff, service, cleanliness and location. We are very happy to hear that you were impressed with the above mention especially the friendliness of our staff.

However, I am very sad to hear that you were not impressed with the condition of the hotel and especially to the amenities we offer our elite members. I am further saddened that our hotel would not be on your list of recommendations. I hope that we can somehow regain your loyalty where we will strive to make your stay be a memorable experience.

We are always seeking opportunities to improve on our service and product and your comments will be used as a guide to foster our commitment to our valued guests.
We look forward to your next visit to our beautiful city by the bay and, more so, as a guest at the Marriott San Francisco Fisherman’s Wharf where we will continue to create memorable experiences for all of our guests.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Convenient location and magnificent employees!

The concierge arranged a wonderful 3 hr. minibus tour of the city with Great Pacific Tours! Wonderful experience.

Breakfast this am was delicious, probably the best egg Benedict I have ever had and service personnel were tops!

Room lovely and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Hello Ricalla,

Thank you so much for your kind words about property and our staff.

Our wonderful location, coupled with a dedicated team of professionals that provides topnotch service and care for our property, indeed are some of our best assets. We are also very happy that you enjoyed the breakfast at our restaurant.

We are very happy to be a part of your memorable trip to San Francisco, and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards from all of us,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here for 2 nights. The good: the lobby was nice, staff friendly and great location (although it is very tourista). The bad: old rooms and dirty carpets. The ugly: hotel from the outside is a bit of a train smash and hasn't been updated in 20 years probably.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hello Greg M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about our friendly staff and great location. Our property is indeed located right in the heart of the Fisherman’s Wharf, and within walking distance from the famous North Beach district, Chinatown, Embarcadero, and more.

Thank you also for your candid comments about the rooms and the property in general. I will make it a point to address your feedback with the departments concerned.

We hope you will give us a chance to make it better for you on your future visit. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Best regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hubby and I had to be in San Francisco, and for business he was booked here. The location of this hotel is great, very convenient to several shops and restaurants at Fisherman's Wharf. Our room was pretty average, nothing super special but it was clean. Room service did a good job. All the staff we encountered were all very nice with the exception of one of the bartenders in the lobby. He was as about as friendly as a stop sign. Everyone else we encountered were very friendly. I would stay here again due to its proximity to Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hello Tamstrat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay.

We are glad that you liked our location, clean rooms and our friendly staff. We are indeed very lucky to have a team of professional and caring associates, and as you pointed out, a great location.

I will make sure to share your feedback to our entire team.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit. If I can be of any assistance, please feel welcome to contact me.

Warm regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The room was great. The lobby had a very nice, modern design. Great location, where you could easily walk to Starbucks or Fisherman's Wharf. The only downfall was the $50 a day parking. I'd stay here again for the location alone.

Room Tip: We stayed facing an inner courtyard, so be aware that this exists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikikarpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville H, Front Office Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Kikikarpus:

Thank you so much for the kind words about our hotel’s location and your impression of our lobby area.

We are very happy to hear that you were impressed with our location and especially the proximity to all of the attractions that were important to you.

We are always seeking opportunities to improve on our service and product and your comments will be used as a guide to foster our commitment to our valued guests.

We look forward to your next visit to our beautiful city by the bay and, more so, as a guest at the Marriott San Francisco Fisherman’s Wharf where we will continue to create memorable experiences for all of our guests.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for a business trip in the area. The location is great - two blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and only a 15 minute drive to the financial district. The hotel staff is very friendly and the concierge provided some good restaurant recommendations in the area. The hotel lobby is nice and up-to-date. The rooms are a good size but the bathroom was a bit small and the shower could use an update. I could hear traffic outside the room in the early evening and morning but it didn't bother me. The premium internet connection left something to be desired. Overall, I had a nice stay and would stay here again in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyonTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville H, Front Office Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Flyon Time:
Thank you so much for the kind words about the service and location of our hotel. It is always great to hear positive comments about our service and especially our staff performance providing memorable service.
We are very happy to hear that you were so impressed with our location and service; your next trip will bring you back to our hotel.
We are always seeking opportunities to improve on our service and product and your comments will be used as a guide to foster our commitment to our valued guests.
We look forward to your next visit to our beautiful city by the bay and, more so, as a guest at the Marriott San Francisco Fisherman’s Wharf where we will continue to create memorable experiences for all of our guests.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend. The location is perfect. The people who work here are incredibly helpful and friendly. Was worried about street noise but not an issue. Wore ear plugs at night when sleeping. Easy walk to cable car pick up to downtown for shopping. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qtpiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Hello qtpiemi,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We are very pleased to hear of your wonderful experience.

Thank you also for recognizing the helpfulness of our staff and our perfect location. We are indeed very proud to have both a very caring team and a great property. Most of all, we are very happy to be a part of your memorable experience of the beautiful City by the Bay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
#28 of 231 in San Francisco
429 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 231 in San Francisco
4,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $189 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf. Our LOCATION in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, between two of San Francisco's cable car lines near attractions and shopping, and 15 miles north of the San Francisco International Airport, is ideal. Enjoy our Fisherman's Wharf hotel's perfect setting just 1.5 miles from the San Francisco Financial District. SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS 285 Deluxe Sleeping Rooms (including 12 Junior Suites and 1 Hospitality Suite) Five Floors Completely Renovated Guests Rooms and Meeting Space MEETING ACCOMMODATIONS Seven meeting rooms totaling over 6,000 square feet We can accommodate meetings and food & beverage functions for groups of 5 to 250 RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE FACILITIES Casual dining in a full-service restaurant, Redfin EXTRAS Fitness Center (24-hour access with guestroom key). Handicap Accessible Rooms Safety Deposit Boxes Available Iron, Ironing Board and Hairdryers in Each Guest Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Marriott Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing