We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't use the wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #57 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Marriot at Fisherman's Wharf is nicely located, and therefore doesn't need to make any special effort. If you want to be right near Giradelli square, a block from the ocean and in the middle of all the action on the wharf, then this is a good location. The rooms are adequate. The cleaning service could be better. Old food trays sat in front of doors for many hours. The parking is very expensive, but the valets were nice. The thing that really got me was the 12.99 per day wifi charge which was added to all three of the rooms I had rented. When I booked on line it listed wifi as one of the amenities offered by the hotel. I was surprised to have to pay for it. We also had an unusual experience where we walked past a man (who did not appear to be a guest). He was watching porn in the business center which is right in the main lobby. He seemed to have no trouble viewing it as wifi is free in the business center. After shielding the eyes of my fourteen year old niece, I brought this to the attention of the management. They really didn't seem to care at all. I think they have it backwards. Paying guests should have the wifi for free in the room and the people who wander into the lobby should have to pay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leeandbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a weekend trip to SF. I agree with the other reviewers in that the hotel was in a great location for doing all the kitschy-tourist spots. You can easily walk down to Fisherman's Wharf (seafood/chowder), to Ghirardelli Square (desserts), and further up the hill (low-grade incline) into the little Italy neighborhood if you get tired of having crab for dinner. There are so many options nearby for just wandering. So if you have a car and do not want to move it - ever, pay the $48 fee (gulp), and put on your best walking shoes and light sweater. Public transportation is on all sides of the hotel, which was a pitfall for my stay because I had a room on the lower floor, facing the Muni stop, and heard its comings and goings. No soundproof windows. Bed - comfy. Cleanliness - very. Hotel staff - friendly. Modern furnishings in the hotel lobby with a nautical theme. Accessible.

Room Tip: Higher floors will likely have less noise coming from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jahnuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and found the location perfect for our family of 4. The rooms were clean and all the staff were pleasant to deal with. There is a small bar fridge, so a quick walk to Trader joe's or Safeway down the street lets you stock up on snacks and drinks. Walgreen's across the street. The one downside is that the rooms do not get free WIFI (you need to sit in the lobby if you need to check your emails or access complimentary internet (or pay an arm & a leg for in room internet)).
The location is very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Ghiradelli Square and halfway between the 2 cable car routes (2 blocks in either direction). You can get to Union Square by taking the Hyde cable car. You can walk to the Alcatraz cruise site from the hotel about 15 minutes.
We were going to come back to SF 2 days later and had another hotel booked (because the internet price was > $300 the previous week), but we liked this location so much we asked if they had a reasonable rate. They gave us an even better rate than what we had just paid (including parking), so we came back and had the same great experience.
Try and get a room rate which includes parking since parking is $48. We did not have breakfast in the hotel since there were several options at the Wharf (Boudin's, McDonald's) which were down the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TO_TRAVELLERS_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel has a great location which is super close to Fisherman's Wharf area. Front desk staff was always very helpful and the concierge was very knowledgeable. We found the bed a bit on the hard side for our liking. We happened to get a rate with valet parking included but the parking is very expensive otherwise (but is in line with the other hotel parking rates that we saw along that area). We were there for 4 nights and found it very convenient that there were 2 sets of washers and dryers in the fitness center area that were free for us to use. We would definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louolym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm staying here with the family for 3 nights - 2 rooms. Usually we stay a the Hilton across the street, but were intrigued by the deal that included breakfast. (Breakfast buffet is normally $22 EACH. Food was good, but not THAT good.)

Nice enough property, rooms were good, mattress creaky, but comfortable. We got the room types we requested.

Main complaint is that after you get dinged for $50 for mandatory valet parking, and $12.95 per day/per room wi-fi service, it wrecks the value.

Parking for 3 days, and wi-fi for both rooms ends up being about $220 - so build that in to your trip budget, or stay somewhere that doesn't nickel and dime you for things like wi-fi. (It is 2013, after al.)

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor facing the courtyard for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for a week for work - clean, modern hotel in a good location. It is a very touristy area, but quiet and walking distance to lots of restaurants and sightseeing. Decent sized rooms and good fitness center. Parking is valet only and was kind of expensive - about $45/day. There is street parking on the side streets around the hotel, but I didn't examine it closely enough to know if it was available overnight or not. I would gladly stay here again.

For MR members - no concierge lounge, but you get the choice of breakfast in the restaurant M-F or 500 points per day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice hotel, friendly staff and the location was excellent if you want to be in the Fisherman's Wharf area. The concierge was especially helpful in assisting with a restaurant location. The view wasn't anything to get excited about, but that's not why we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris42310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
4,207 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $176 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf. Our LOCATION in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, between two of San Francisco's cable car lines near attractions and shopping, and 15 miles north of the San Francisco International Airport, is ideal. Enjoy our Fisherman's Wharf hotel's perfect setting just 1.5 miles from the San Francisco Financial District. SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS 285 Deluxe Sleeping Rooms (including 12 Junior Suites and 1 Hospitality Suite) Five Floors Completely Renovated Guests Rooms and Meeting Space MEETING ACCOMMODATIONS Seven meeting rooms totaling over 6,000 square feet We can accommodate meetings and food & beverage functions for groups of 5 to 250 RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE FACILITIES Casual dining in a full-service restaurant, Redfin EXTRAS Fitness Center (24-hour access with guestroom key). Handicap Accessible Rooms Safety Deposit Boxes Available Iron, Ironing Board and Hairdryers in Each Guest Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Marriott Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing