We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Standard but Pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #61 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Standard but Pricey.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Typical big hotel chain room, clean, tidy and all the usual facilities, but nothing exceptional. Expensive for an average hotel, but seems about the norm for Fishermans Wharf area. The valet parking was expensive, but again about the going rate for where we were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    624
    248
    43
    33
See reviews for
400
461
34
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for three nights as part of our honeymoon trip. The night we arrived there was only one valet/bellhop on staff, he helped us unload our luggage onto a cart which we brought to our room by ourself, unloaded, and brought back down to him in the lobby. The day we checked out, a bellhop named Dana refused to let us use a cart as they can only be brought up to a guest room by a staff member, but then he didn't offer to help us. When we told him that the night we checked in, we were allowed to bring the cart to our room ourselves, his response was "well that shouldn't have happened." When we finally made it down to the lobby with all of our luggage, he laughed and joked about us with another staff member named Ramy, who proceeded to point out and make fun of ANOTHER guest that HE had just refused to help for whatever reason. The two gentlemen stood by the front desk in a crowded lobby full of guests struggling with luggage giggling like stuck up teenage girls, pointing and laughing at us and other guests, it was pathetic.
The day we checked in we were given a coupon for a free drink at the bar due to our Platinum Elite Marriott Rewards member status, so we decided to get a little dressed up one night and sit down at the bar for a few drinks. Well the bartender decided we were only there for our one free drink and proceeded to give us ONE glass of wine split into two glasses when we had actually ordered two full glasses. We were put off by his attitude and let the front desk know, the guy at the front insisted on getting a manager for us to tell what had happened, so we waited for several minutes to recount the experience to him at which point he apologized and asked if we wanted another free drink to "make up for it" but neither gentleman even found out which room we were staying in so it was clear he had no intention of following up so we didn't feel like sitting at that bar again and declined our second free drink.
The location is great because you're walking distance to some of the best San Fran attractions but get ready to pay $50 a night for valet parking or try to find somewhere else cheaper nearby (tons of parking nearby, but most of it is outdoor)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I am a Marriott Platinum member and have stayed at many many Marriotts. This is one of my least favorite hotels.

Plus:
It is very close to Fisherman's Wharf. Right in North Beach Area.

Great service in the bar at night. They lady bar tender is very nice and takes good care of you. I wish I could remember her name to complement her.

Valet is expensive but very fast and convenient.

Minus:
The absolute worst breakfast buffet I have seen at any Marriott anywhere. Don't waste your money on this. I get it for free being a Platinum member and the next time I stay there I will go out of the hotel and pay for breakfast. Very limited selection. Nobody cooking fresh eggs. No Marriott omelets. The scrambled eggs were hard and looked like they had been there a while. Normally the Marriott buffet is one of the reasons I stay at Marriott hotels. This was very disappointing and if I had paid for it I would have asked for my money back. I can’t believe they charge $18.95 for it.

There is one set of elevators and if you get one of the rooms out on the edges it is a long walk with your luggage.

No pool. No Spa.

Don’t even think about an upgrade even if you are at Marriott's highest level.

Room Tip: Ask for something closer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_B_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a low key, quiet Marriott. It has a nice lobby with bar and restaurant. The staff is helpful without being pushy. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The only downside is that they haven't figured out to give free wifi in the rooms. $12.95 per day is outrageous in this day and age.

Room Tip: The inner courtyard rooms have no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on a getaway. The building is ugly outside with no setback from the street, but the location is great, very close to all things Fisherman's Wharf. We even walked to the financial district and Embarcadero. Lobby is tastefully remodeled with comfortable chairs/couches. Staff were friendly and helpful at check-in and check-out. We were booked into a standard room facing the street; noise from the street was not noticeable. Room was clean enough but there was some dirt and dust in the corners. Very comfortable beds. Would return although would probably not want to pay rack rate (we had an excellent Priceline deal).

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dpenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Another wonderful hotel to close out my trip. Everything you would expect of a Marriott. However, $49/day for parking is outrageous! Great junior suite. Fisherman's Wharf is only two blocks away. Great restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Junior suite is great value - try 401.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spent one night last week. Location and staff are the best! Room very nice, and very quiet. Valet service was probably the quickest, and nicest, in San Francisco! I travel quite a bit for business, have always wanted to stay near the wharf, it was walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickSolvang_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,130 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#90 of 229 in San Francisco
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf

Property: San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf. Our LOCATION in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, between two of San Francisco's cable car lines near attractions and shopping, and 15 miles north of the San Francisco International Airport, is ideal. Enjoy our Fisherman's Wharf hotel's perfect setting just 1.5 miles from the San Francisco Financial District. SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS 285 Deluxe Sleeping Rooms (including 12 Junior Suites and 1 Hospitality Suite) Five Floors Completely Renovated Guests Rooms and Meeting Space MEETING ACCOMMODATIONS Seven meeting rooms totaling over 6,000 square feet We can accommodate meetings and food & beverage functions for groups of 5 to 250 RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE FACILITIES Casual dining in a full-service restaurant, Redfin EXTRAS Fitness Center (24-hour access with guestroom key). Handicap Accessible Rooms Safety Deposit Boxes Available Iron, Ironing Board and Hairdryers in Each Guest Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Marriott Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing