We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #100 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Campbell Hall, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

arrived for a 2 night stay, room was spotless, quiet. newly remodeled. The staff at the desk was extremely helpful and ready to answer any questions. I would definitely go back and stay here. good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnturnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate so very much that you took the time to post your review! Our team members do love being helpful and assisting our guests. I am glad that you found our hotel to be a good value. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Clark Latterell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    147
    70
    29
    14
See reviews for
132
133
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is fairly basic in terms of it being a place to stay, it's not a spa retreat or a relaxing get away. But it IS clean comfortable and the staff are very courteous, your surroundings may not be 5* but your service is. I would definitely go back here again. The location may not suit everyone but I loved walking in to the city or hopping on the bus which stops just opposite the hotel. A cab is cheap too. If you like great service good value and a room that's clean even if not cutting edge in decor, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayboy221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable in addition to the fact that our team members are very courteous. Like you, many of our guests truly enjoy walking through the neighborhood as well as our convenient location. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Clark Latterell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Nicely appointed rooms, friendly, accommodating and helpful staff. Great location. Easy access to bus transit, close to markets, restaurants, shopping. Have already booked to stay there again due to location and positive experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nana23011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you found our hotel to be a friendly neighborhood inn with nicely appointed rooms and a helpful team. It is nice to see that you have already booked a room to stay with us again. We look forward to having you continue to stay with us in your travels.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Clark Latterell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great location for transportation, restaurants and basic shopping. This is a no frills inn, but decorated tastefully in an understated way. Great coffee in the lobby. Parking on site is a big plus. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff is very pleasant and helpful. I'll always stay here when I am in SF.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Birdie637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is nice to see that you have chosen the Laurel Inn for your San Francisco home. Our great location and staff are frequently mentioned by our guests. But, our on-site parking is a big plus as well.

Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to your return to your San Francisco home.

Sincerely,

Clark Latterell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

It's hard to find a hotel like the Laurel Inn in San Francisco or in any large city, really. It feels like going home at the end of a long work day. The day is helpful and kind (I've gotten to know them over the course of any stays), the rooms feel homey, and it's in a terrific neighborhood that lets you experience the city like you actually live there. Only downside would be a little "tiredness" to some of the facilities, but mostly that is charming. Beds and nice linens are new and comfy. The bathrooms are spacious, but a little oddly configured and the ceramic tubs and shower floors need to be re-done (chipping, flaking off, old and rusty). It would be great if they had a gym, but the JCC is right next door and you can work out there as a hotel guest for $12/day. The on-site parking garage is such a huge plus!

Room Tip: pay the extra money for the "city-view" room. Rooms that look onto Presidio are a bit loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tractorgirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is so nice to hear that you feel like going home at the end of a long work day when you stay at the Laurel Inn. I am glad to tell you that we recently did have our showers remodeled. In addition, we are coming out with a package that will include the cost of a fitness pass for the JCC. We look forward to your return so that you can enjoy both of these features.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Clark Latterell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Min
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We came to town for a family get together and this hotel was recommended to us. I didn't think it would be so wonderful, but surprise, surprise! Near lots of fun restaurants and shops and located in a safe upscale neighborhood. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean rooms, comfy beds and free coffee and pastries in the morning. Nice parking lot and not too far from all the sites. I would recommend this to anyone who was looking to stay in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the street room side which got a bit noisy if when we opened a window. Maybe we'd s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryzoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. Like you, many of our guests are pleasantly surprised by our location. The fun restaurants and shopping in our upscale neighborhood are a pleasant addition to our hotel.


Cordially,

Clark Latterell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los altos
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed at The Laurel while my husband was a patient at UCSF. Now that he is fully recovered, we will go back for another stay. The service was wonderful, and I felt very safe in the neighborhood. The biggest plus is the parking lot. I could walk to and from the hospital and never had to go through that "move your car every three hours" ordeal at other small SF hotels. I had a room with a kitchenette and it was very quiet and comfortable. Nice bathroom, comfy bed, good shower (my pet peeve is a bad shower head) safety bars in the shower), mirrored vanity table, desk, sofa, fast free internet, warm cookies in the afternoon - and a lovely neighborhood. I highly recommend a restaurant nearby, Spruce, and the sandwiches at Food Incorporated near California. Didn't get to the cafe, but will next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that your husband has made a full recovery since his visit to UCSF. Like you, many of our other guests find our hotel to be convenient to UCSF as well as a lovely neighborhood. Having eighteen rooms that are equipped with kitchenettes is something that is a rare find in San Francisco and a welcomed feature by our guests.

Once again, I would like to thank you for your review. We look forward to to you and your husband returning to the Laurel Inn.

Sincerely,

Clark Latterell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Kimpton Buchanan
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
428 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#152 of 228 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Pacific Heights
Jackson Court San Francisco
Jackson Court San Francisco
#143 of 228 in San Francisco
69 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#85 of 228 in San Francisco
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 444 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the charming neighborhood that surrounds it, the Laurel Inn is noted for its warm sense of hospitality. Built in 1963, this newly renovated hotel represents a contemporary take on Mid-Century style to create a sophisticated and comfortable interior drenched in rich colors, relaxed textures, and ingenious details. Each spacious guestroom is designed in the style of a studio apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Laurel Hotel San Francisco
Laurel Inn San Francisco
Laurel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing