We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #99 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and pleasant”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Sure, it's not the Four Seasons, but this is the best place to stay if you're in town with the family and want to stay in a SF neighborhood. Room was perfectly fine, staff friendly and helpful. Convenient to bus lines, lots of shops nearby. And two Zipcars in the garage if you feel like taking off for a few hours. I've stayed here before, and will look forward to staying here again. For dinner try Osteria up the block, for breakfast don't miss Ella's on the other side of California St. And the fitness center at the JCC across the street is great.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    147
    70
    29
    14
See reviews for
132
133
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
504 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We prefer to stay in the smaller hotels and walk around the city , this hotel met the small criteria but was a little far out.
The Hotel staff were very nice but the hotel itself was a little worn , the carpets had lots of stains on them , the bathroom tiles was coming away around the shower and sink . if your a Hilton type person probably not your cup of tea , if you take it for what it is , clean , cheap ( for seattle) and local you will like it.
The rooms had a kitchennette which was nice , though the street noise was loud ( no double glazing ) and the rooms around were quite noisy ( creaking floors , thin walls etc , not the neighbours).
You get a free drink as the bar next door which serves breakfast and evening snacks , the hotel provides pastries in the morning and free ( but slow) internet access).
Foe me the biggest issue as a tourist with family and only 2 days in the ciry was the commute, about 30mins by local Muni bus to the main tourist areas of the pier 39 and the Ferry station.
You can walk as we did on the first day to the bridge but its about an hour and very steep down hill climb.
The best buy was the 3 day muni pass for all busses and cable cars for $20 per person , we certainly took advantage being so far out hte no1 bus stops righ by the hotel.
The no1 bus east goes straight into the Ferry terminal area but get off at Van Ness and catch the cable car down Calafornia.For the Golden Gate bridge get the No1 west connect with the 28 north that takes you right to the bridge ,then continues to Fort Mason and Fishermans Wharf.
the advantage of this is youe coming from the residential areas so not a lot of tourists . Example you will get straigh on a cable car at Van Ness , if you try down at fishermans wharf it was taking at least 90mins wait ( they only run about every 20mins as they can only run 23 cars at a time on the cables).
Got to do Alcatraz but YOU MUST book at least 2 months ahead as we did , the day we went in July the next avaialble trips were August.
The Ferry terminal has nice places to eat that are not to expensive , and great breakfasts for the financial distriuct workers

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper ask for a room away from the elevator and the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good location, but the room was a disappointment and I expected more for the price. The bed was comfortable but fairly soft and not hotel premium. Our room was between the stairwell and the elevator and the only other option was the same room one floor above. And though the hotel is in a residential neighborhood, street-noise was somewhat disturbing. No fan in the bathroom, frozen pizza tasting pizza in the "hip" bar, we'll do elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieSpidell, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
BenB_9,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. We are working on several projects around the hotel and I'm confident that these issues will be addressed quickly. It is only with feedback that we can continue to improve our product and service, so thank you for your candor. If you choose to return, which I sincerely hope you do, please feel free to contact me directly to book your reservation.

Warmest regards,

Katie Spidell, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This place was a last minute booking that I did to get away for two days into the city. The sad part was this hotel was really expensive-and it wasn't a weekend get away, it was checking in on a Thursday and out on a Saturday and I still paid over $450 total!

The pluses:
-Allows pets
-located right next to Petfood so the dogs can potty easily
-4 blocks away from Divisidaro
-has own parking garage

Minus-
-Bed was very soft or over worn-I barely weigh 100 lbs and kept sinking to the middle of the bed
-Saturday morning (I had a room on the 1st floor), there were construction men outside my window standing on the roof and doing work on the hotel! (7am!)
-Need to use the elevator to get to the first floor

I would stay here next time only if I had a better deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ting B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Hallways have the feel and stench of a college dorm facility. Property is pet friendly. Observed many guests with dogs the size of a small horse. So called Continental Breakfast consists of a limited supply of pastry and coffee. Desk clerk upon check out had to get the managers approval to provide a envelop for my receipt. Another suggestion is to bring slippers or chance having your feet stick to the bathroom floor. Cannot understand why this hotel rated four stars from Travel Advisor a few years ago.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on the west side of the facility, especially during the warmer months. Rooms have no ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieSpidell, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear TNMarine,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that you experienced so many issues during your stay. I am surprised that you had such issues with cleanliness in your room and hallway as we have a very dedicated housekeeping team who take great pride in our hotel. I will use your review to do some additional training with our entire housekeeping department to ensure that these issues do not occur again. We are also planning to renovate later this year, focusing on our bathrooms.

As for the host going to the manager's office for envelopes, it seems that there was a bit of a misunderstanding. The front desk supply had run out and they came back to the office to get more envelopes. We are always happy to give out an envelope with your reciept. I am sorry that this wasn't properly relayed to you.

Again, thank you for your time and your candor. It is only with feedback like yours that we can continue to improve our product and ensure the superior service that we strive for at the Laurel Inn!

Warmest regards,
Katie Spidell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Room is clean, bed is comfortable. For the location, I think it is good value for the price. If you wish to experience San Francisco away from all the touristy areas and live like a true San Franciscan, this hotel is an excellent choice. The plumbing is expected for the age of the hotel. But then again, most houses in this neighborhood would have the same kinda plumbing if you were actually living there. Unless of course in comparison you live in one of the high-rise condo/flats that are recently built, then that's a different base of comparison. But otherwise, I think this place is charming, with friendly staff... the Swank bar is not too rowdy and there are enough neighborhood restaurants in the area for some local experience. Also a very convenient location to UCSF Laurel Hts campus and the Jewish Center or something like that. Altogether, this place is a good boutique hotel for travel savvy tourists. If you don't mind splurging, for a few hundred more $$ you can get a room down the street at the Fairmont, but then your room will pretty much smell the same way. Something to do with the age of the buildings in this neighborhood. A lot of them are historically preserved. As for sleep quality, it is in a city location cornered by two busy streets. If you're not used to city noise, you can ask for a room away from the streets. Otherwise, just make sure your windows are shut. However, the rooms are not completely sound proof. Some noise can be expected. But in my experience, this neighborhood is actually quieter than what I'm used to which by comparison, is a much smaller city than SF. So really, this neighborhood is urban but quietly urban.

Room Tip: If not used to street noise, ask for a room away from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IceQueen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband had surgery at Mt. Zion (UCSF), and the Laurel Inn was recommended by a friend who had a similar situation. It is only 8 blocks from the hospital. The staff was wonderful ---- very helpful with directions and needed recommendations. Be sure and have dinner at Osteria, which is on the corner. The inn has coffee and pastries in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Kimpton Buchanan
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
429 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#152 of 228 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Pacific Heights
Jackson Court San Francisco
Jackson Court San Francisco
#142 of 228 in San Francisco
69 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 444 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the charming neighborhood that surrounds it, the Laurel Inn is noted for its warm sense of hospitality. Built in 1963, this newly renovated hotel represents a contemporary take on Mid-Century style to create a sophisticated and comfortable interior drenched in rich colors, relaxed textures, and ingenious details. Each spacious guestroom is designed in the style of a studio apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Laurel Hotel San Francisco
Laurel Inn San Francisco
Laurel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing