We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location but small hotel with drawbacks”
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #4 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 28, 2014

I have stayed at a number of hotels in San Francisco so I have some barometer here. The hotel is very small but the location is about as good as you will ever find. $65 a night for parking a car is extortionary, like holding your head under water until you tell them they are classy. The restaurant is price fix only so nice but wayyyyy too limited. The bar, continuing the trend, is small with somewhat stuffy service. The excercise facilities are excelptional, an outdoor balcony with great equipment, great views of Union Square, and a nice breeze. The rooms are good but the views are not generally pleasing, thus warranting the four star rating. In the end of the day, this is a nice and safe property if you get a good rate deal but I would not go out of my way to make this home, particularly if you are a tourist travelling with a family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear Deacon87,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed certain aspects of our hotel, including our location and gym facilities. The view from the gym is exceptional. We would like to take a moment to address some of the other comments you made throughout your review.

We are a city hotel in the flat, easily walked area of a very hilly city, so the views will not meet certain expectations. However, not being on top the hills is one of the reasons our location is so fantastic.

Valet parking is commonly expensive, and is a cost to consider in a city of expensive real estate. However the majority of our guests feel the convenience of door-to-door drop off and delivery is worth the extra cost, as well as the extra security knowing their vehicles are safe.

We regretted reading of your disappointment with the limited menu of our Michelin starred restaurant and the adjacent bar. Fine dining menus and tasting menus, are necessarily limited due to the intense labor involved in the food preparation. The Bistro is not intended to be a full menu restaurant, but serves a variety of lighter items, but certainly a place where a good sized meal can be obtained.

We hope that you return to our hotel so that we have the opportunity to leave you with a better impression.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, but I'm reviewing this hotel based upon it's status as a 5 star hotel. If this were a lesser ranked hotel it would get 5 stars from me. The room was nice, but quite small. It was also loud with the co-joined room, presumably because the interior door had about an inch of clearance from the floor. We could almost make out whole conversations from our neighbors. You had to pay for the internet daily, which I personally don't care for when I'm paying that much for a room. And the "business center" consisted of one old desktop hooked to a printer, for which there was a line waiting to use it.

The good: the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was outstanding, right in union square. The breakfast was amazing. All in all, we enjoyed it, but there's still some room to grow to get 5 start status. For the right price we would stay here again, but not for full price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dawgfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Dawgfan22,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. We are continuously striving for perfection and the practice of perfect hospitality, so we thank you for your feedback. We will follow up with the necessary parties so that we can prevent this experience from happening again.

We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the near future. We hope that we have the opportunity to leave you with a five-star impression of Taj Campton Place.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was quite a small hotel compared to the large chain hotels in the city. Perfectly situated near Union Square, shops and restaurants all in easy walking distance. Really friendly reception staff and excellent concierge here giving exceptional directions and advise on places to eat.
Well equipped modern very clean rooms, but there was one criticism !
The breakfast was very inflexible with requests, and the breakfast staff difficult, and service very slow, not an enjoyable start to the day! I was disappointed with this, and it did make breakfast expensive. But the restaurant there in the evening was brilliant! Fabulous Indian cuisine, service staff and menu. I would highly recommend having breakfast out and dinner in. That was my only criticism from an otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Janice J,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is a pleasure to read the experiences of our recent guests who have stayed at our hotel. We thank you for highlighting our location and friendly service.

We will give your feedback to our Food and Beverage Department. We strive for perfection, and we thank you for voicing your concerns so that we can continue to make changes that will better serve our guests.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel had an excellent location next to Union Square and Market Street with well known shops such as Macys and Bloomingdales etc in easy walking distance. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and efficient, always friendly and welcoming. The food in the hotel was excellent , especially the Indian themed dinner we had on Sunday. The ensuite room was very comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2015

Dear Janis M,

Thank you for your excellent reiew of Taj Campton Place. We are loking forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Where do I start? Most of the people there were so friendly. From the doormen, to the front desk agents, to some of the concierge agents, I was really impressed. I was very nervous to stay at the hotel because some of the reviews I read about the hotel overall.

Perfect location, literally a block away from Union Square. Throughout our stay, it took us less than a minute, and we were right at the park. You would be surprised how far you can get in San Francisco on foot. It was also five minutes away from Market Street, where the infamous F line can take you all the way to Fisherman's Wharf.

Now, for the one star deduction. I felt very insulted by the male concierge attendant that was assisting us the final day we were there. The female concierge was very friendly, and helped me book my San Francisco tour. The male concierge on the other hand, I could have done without. I felt very insulted by the way he talked to me. I went down the day before to double check on the times of the tour, and the areas that they pick up the tourists. I mean, it's always good to double check, correct? I asked him a question, and I felt as if he was very disinterested, and gave me a snarky comment. It's as if he thought I was "stupid", and being in the hospitality industry myself, I expected a little more professionalism from him.

Other than that, the hotel was perfect. The complaints of the noise that many people talk about was non-existent. Elevators were fast, and lobby smelled amazing. The view was not an issue at all, because you're in San Francisco. Get out of your hotel, and do some exploring. Finally, the hotel gave me a Four Seasons feel to it. Very luxurious.

Stayed August 18-20

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanson922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear stanleybased,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to read that you had a great experience that our hotel. Our location is a highlight that many of our guests enjoy, so we are delighted to read that you enjoyed it as well.

We will follow up with our Concierge team. Please accept our sincerely apologies. It is never okay for any of our guest to feel that way when interacting with one of the staff members in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future.

warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

If travelling on business, which I was the hotel is superbly located almost on the Union Square. Found the hotel functional, efficient but found it lacking the hospitality one is used to at the Taj in India which was a prime reason to pick the property. If in SF on business, its value, if you are here as a family or on holiday, there are better places to pick from.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adhru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015

Dear adhru,

Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel. I am happy to note that you find it to be a good business hotel. We are looking forwatrd to your future stay with us.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel is comfortable, conveniently located to the city center and financial district and is unpretentious. Only complaint is that the bathroom (which is gorgeous) doesn't have a proper shower cubicle and water sprays all over the floors while showering.
WiFi cost is also outrageous - $15 per device per day

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JonnyNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear JonnyNew,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you found our hotel to be comfortable, and convenient for your business needs.

We will send your feedback to our engineering department, and see if there is a way in which we can prevent future guests from experiencing what you had. In addition, we kindly note that we are making adjustments to our WiFi accessibility policy so that we can better serve our guests.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again in the near future. Hopefully it is for leisure, and not just business.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
534 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,469 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,506 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,367 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $287 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Campton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, DerbySoftTaj, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing