We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Campton Place
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$225
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$261
$236
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$219
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $295/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$422
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$299
$254
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,330)
Filter reviews
1,330 results
Traveler rating
836
318
98
44
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
836
318
98
44
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squarecalifornia kingmolton brown toiletriesboutique hotelturn down serviceapple storecomplimentary coffeesmall hotelfront desk staffheart of san franciscofour seasonswonderful hotelthe location is perfectgrand hyattthe financial districtcable carfisherman's wharf
Filter
Updating list...
787 - 792 of 1,330 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel three times and each time we hope it would get better but it continues to disappoint. We have stayed at almost every Taj internationally and sadly this hotel doesnt live up to a taj at all.

The rooms are ok but not really upgraded so they give you a feel of an older hotel. They are clean but not the quality you expect from Taj.

The housekeeping is just down right rude and disrespectful - we had done a lot of shopping and had scattered wrapping paper and just the bags on the floor. When I walked in as housekeeping was cleaning the room, she told me "Here is the trash can!", I tipped her five dollars and told her to go ahead and clean the room. She still left all the wrapping paper there, that night, we called front desk and told them not to let the same lady clean our room.
The next day, we get a call from the front desk saying housekeeping is saying there is a stain on a lampshade and you will be charged $100 for it. Ummm, isnt that a coincidence but either way, we call the front desk and the general manager and eventually got the charge removed.

Overall, this is an average hotel but we wont be going back as there are better options at the same, if not better price.

The location is amazing and the door man is friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovetotravel2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear lovetotravel2812,

Greetings from Taj Campton Place!

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are genuinely interested in your impressions and truly always endeavor to provide the best possible experience for all our guests. I regret very much that we failed to provide that experience to you and ask that you accept my deepest apologies for our shortcomings.

I was very concerned to note about your experience with the housekeeping and the concierge. This is certainly not the way that we look after our esteemed guests. I have taken this up with the concerned individuals. I assure you that this will not be repeated for your future visits.

Thank you once again for being such a loyal supporter of the Taj Group. We hope we may look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Campton Place the next time you plan to be in San Francisco.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

As we were on our honeymoon the Taj Campton Place upgrade us for free which was a wondeful gesture. We had a dual aspect room which overlooked Union Square. The rooms aren't all that big, but for a city hotel they were fine with plenty of storage and a good sized bathroom.

The location is fantastic with everything being within walking distance, although Fisherman's Wharf take about 25 minutes to walk to so wear flats.

The customer service was great, all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. If you have a car with you I would recommend parking at a local car park and not using the valet service as this is very expensive. The hotel are happy to help you with this and tell you where best to go.

For a city break, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher up you stay the better as you then have great views of the square if you stay at the front.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015

Dear Amy G,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are looking forward to your future visit to our hotel.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I'm here all the time. The Doormen at this place are soooooooo nice!! So helpful and knowledgable. Their food and bar selection impressive and the location can't be beat !!
Thank you!! Union square is right there and there are taxis in front to take you any where.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getoutandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear getoutandtravel,

Thank you for spending the time to write this great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, and that you find our employees to be personable and nice. It is reviews like these that inspire us to continue to provide five-star service everyday.

We hope that you return to our hotel again soon so that we can make your next stay just as memorable.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The campion place has a wonderful location on Union square.the rooms are well sized and comfortable. A la carte breakfast was good and the chef readily made Indian/vegetarian options such as poha and paratha which was a treat for us!

The six course meal at the hotel restaurant was an absolute treat and definitely not worth missing out. One of our best meals!!

Everyone at the taj was extremely cheerful ,warm and pleasant. Maria the concierge was extremely helpful in planning our day trips and made some wonderful reccomendations that made our trip even more special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmiRKothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear AmiRKothari,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review with us. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay with us, and that you enjoyed our food prepared by Chef Sri.

We will be sure to let Maria know that you enjoyed her recommendations, and that she was able ot help you have a memorable trip in San Francisco.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to The City by The Bay.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I am not sure what the fuss is about this hotel - average lobby, overpriced wi-fi access (charged per device and not even free in the lobby), ok rooms with banged up furniture, grumpy staff, hallways smell of paint, zero perks and average decor. This hotel is definitely not a Leading Hotel of World - management must have paid for this status.

I was awoken in the morning by water running through the pipes at 6am (initially I thought it was raining in my room). Also the gym is far from modern - basically outdoor gym with outdated equipment.

There are much better hotel experiences elsewhere in San Fran for much less. Don't waste your money - you will be disappointed. I travel a lot for work and pleasure and this place left a lot to be desired.

2 star hotel at best.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnnySSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Johnny,

We always appreciate feedback from our guests, but would much have preferred that you speak to us first about any problems you experienced so that we had an opportunity to correct your impression of our hotel. Not knowing which room you occupied or which date you were here makes it difficult to respond specifically. We are updating our rooms, one room at a time, the schedule depending largely on occupancy. However, the hallways are maintained on a regular basis which occasionally means the smell of fresh paint which dissipates quickly. In the meantime, all our rooms feature luxurious Frette linens, top quality down comforters and Molton Brown toiletries. Our fitness center is not meant to be a full service gym, but will allow for a full body workout, more than adequate for our small hotel and for a few days stay. The equipment is also top quality and not outdated. If a guest requires a larger facility, our concierge will be happy to arrange for day use with a more traditional gym.

We’re sorry you will not be staying with us should you return to San Francisco, but hope time will soften your attitude about our hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews