We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Francisco Charm”
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #7 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“San Francisco Charm”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Taj Campton Place is a long time favorite. This pre Xmas trip was delightful with proximity to Union Square. The staff are exceptionally professional. We especially appreciate the bellman Dan and his superb staff for providing easy transfers, access to taxis, etc. The restaurant is superb.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay at Taj Campton Place! We are glad you enjoyed your ideal location as much as we do, and hope you were able to fit some shopping in! We will be sure to pass along your kind remarks to our staff, especially Dan. We look forward to hosting you during your next trip back to San Francisco!

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    278
    87
    37
    33
See reviews for
157
442
68
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The Taj is near Union Square which is a wonderful spot for ice skating, sipping coffee, and listening to street music. Lots of good shopping nearby. The hotel is overpriced and the rooms are nothing speicial; however, the beds are very comfortable. Staff are helpful and gracious. Be sure to avoid a room adjacent to the elevator, you will be up all night with the sounds and bells.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear San Diego Paula,

I was happy to see you like our location, but distressed to read of your sleepless night and not happy to read of your disappointment in the room. As I do not know exactly what you paid, I can tell you our rates the first of December were high due to a conference in the city and I suspect your room was one of the last assigned as occasionally a guest will complain about elevator sounds in certain rooms. I hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satl Lake City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

First of all, the hotel is very well located - just a block away from Union Sqaure. I've heard various reviews that the rooms were small ... we were in a corner room and perhaps that makes the difference, because it was a nice size with great views. The staff were all very friendly and courteous, food was prepared well (we just had breakfast) and the service was friendly and efficient. A standout was the young man (host?) in the restaurant (and I am embarrased to say I cannot remember his name: Shintan??) who was possibly one of the best staff members I have run across: always pleasant, extremely courteous, engaging and friendly, and always alert but not overbearing.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room - larger with of course good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ski-BikerBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback! We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the size of your room. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff, whom are always so appreciative when their service is recognized. Our restaurant received a Michelin star for the third year in a row; on your next visit you must join us for dinner! We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to San Francisco!

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Recently my sister, husband and I stayed at this hotel. I booked a double room for three persons. When we arrived, we were informed that we were to share a king bed and if we wanted two beds we would have to upgrade at a cost of another 150.00 per night. Our upgraded room gave us a view of a cesspool at the top of a building next door and the wall of another hotel-3rd floor. The Business dictionary defines a double room as a room with two beds. This hotel also charges $12.50 per day for internet PER DEVICE. So if you have an IPAD and an IPHONE hyou will be paying $25.00 per 24 hours period for internet. This hotel is a giant RIP OFF and I would not recommend it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bea154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear bea154943,

I cannot tell you how much I regretted reading of your disappointment with your room rate. As I do not know your name so I cannot look up how you booked your room, i.e. expedia or another on-line service, or the rate you paid, it’s difficult for me to respond to your particular circumstance. However, if you booked the lowest category room, a California King, at the lowest possible price, a king bed room is what would have been assigned. These rooms are also not large enough to accommodate a rollaway. Our “double” rooms (with two double beds) are larger and are in the deluxe category which is $150 more than the standard California King room. Also suitable for three people are the deluxe king rooms that are generally large enough to accommodate a rollaway. If your room had been booked directly through the hotel, you would have been told of the different categories and different room configurations and been able to make a more informed decision as to which kind of room would have been most suitable for your situation.

In addition, we are a city hotel and few of our rooms are “view” rooms and are not advertised as such. Most city hotel rooms have views of the walls of other buildings unless the room is on a high floor (which generally also costs more) or the hotel is on top a hill. Further, as cesspools are not located on rooftops, I think it was unfair of you to categorize your view in that manner. May I suggest your “cesspool” was of the skylights of the very high end Wilkes-Bashford store in the building next door?

I am truly sorry you won’t be giving us an opportunity to demonstrate that we truly do provide the experience you had anticipated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Third visit. The room was very small, and we did not have the lowest priced room.They charge $12.50 for Internet per day and $57 for parking per day. We found a parking lot on Post St for $32. A 10 minute walk.

But the big disappointment was the $100 amenity, that was part of our package. A bottle of wine and 4 small chocolates. The wine - Grayson Lot 10 Cab retails for $7.75. I don't think the chocolates cost $92. Really dumb on the Taj's part to advertise a package and then not follow through. Our package was to include the amenity.. Not a good deal and certainly not what was advertised and promised.

Service people were nice, especially the maids. Very sweet. But I just don't get this amenity issue.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Timkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Timkate,

I am so sorry you were disappointed in your room. As a Virtuoso guest your upgrade is predicated on availability and apparently none was available when you were here. There were several times during November when we had high occupancy with only the lower category of rooms available. As a boutique hotel, our rooms tend to be on a smaller scale which we feel is more than compensated by the quality of the bath amenities and fine linens we provide.

Valet parking is more expensive than several of the nearby city lots, but it affords the convenience of not having to carry luggage several blocks, provides for daily in and out privileges as well as 24 hour security not available in lots where you park the car yourself. The charge for internet is standard in all luxury hotels in the city, but we do offer complimentary internet with our business package, which includes other valuable amenities as well, and free internet use in our business chamber.

You were correct that the Grayson was not a premium wine and we have since upgraded it to a more appropriate bottle. While the bonbons may not have been worth $92, they are very fine chocolates, made in our kitchen with the best chocolate on the market, and they do retail for $3 each.

We hope to have another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality and we will hope to look forward to welcoming you back the next time you return to San Francisco.

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The restaurant, and the less expensive bar restaurant were excellent. The decor has a Asian elegance to it.

A few annoying nits...

#1. When we arrived the hotel clerk said our reservation had been cancelled. (What?)

I told her there must be a mistake because I had just checked it the day before!

But the female clerk kept shaking her head and telling me I was wrong. I didn't have a paper copy of my reservation and asked to login using my laptop to view my Booking.com account. However, the clerk said you have to be signed into a room to get internet access. Fortunately, my father-in-law was checking in at the same time and he let me use his account. I logged on, and showed the clerk the reservation I had made.
*Magically she then found our lost reservation.* I asked for an explanation but was given none. For the price of our stay, I would have greatly appreciated an apology for the time wasted and the super-aggravation.
#2 I asked for a room with a nice view. The clerk said they don't have any rooms with a view. Ours looked across at another hotel where you can see people very clearly in their rooms. Not the view I was looking for (see photo).
#3. Our stay was three days. I asked for a top sheet and blanket in addition to the duvet. By the third night, and after several phone calls, they finally got it right.
#4. They need to renovate the bathrooms. The combo tub-shower is very old and tricky to climb in and out of.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLJ_designer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear FLJ-designer,
Please accept my apologies that the Front Desk clerk, who was as frustrated as you with the check in process, did not offer an apology or explanation. When reservations are booked through third parties, particularly on the internet, they do not always come through in a manner easy to access, i.e. they use a different coding system or do not always get names correctly. I don’t know what the problem was in your case, but I do apologize that you were caused the aggravation.
We are not known for our “rooms with a view” being located at the bottom of the hill, but also being conveniently located to Union Square, the Financial District and the Embarcadaro. If you could see people in the hotel across the street, you could also see part of Union Square, our view. City hotels often do not have views—that’s the nature of being in a city among other tall buildings.
There is no excuse for your request for a traditionally made up bed not to have been honored immediately, an obvious breakdown in communication between several departments and you may be sure the various managers have been taken to task for this lapse in service. This is not an unusual request and if you would care to get in touch with us, I will be sure your preference is put in your guest profile to be automatically provided on your next visit.
Thank you for having selected our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

1) no free wifi (unacceptable!!)
2) no coffee before 6 am
3) the staff is not so nice

The standard is not so high: it's not more than a normal 4 star hotel.
The rest was OK, but for that price I expect more!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kappa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Kappa U,
I was so sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay. Our rates, like all hotels, fluctuate with the level of occupancy and as I do not know exactly when you were here, I cannot tell if your rate was higher than usual.
Regarding WiFi, you will find there is a charge in all luxury hotels in San Francisco and ours are in line with our competition. However, we do offer complimentary connectivity, along with other valuable amenities, with our Business Traveler package and in our business chamber as well.
I must take exception to your comment that there is no coffee before 6:00 a.m. We offer 24 hour in-room dining to our guests and coffee is available 24/7, in addition to espresso machines in every room and complimentary coffee in the bar from 6:30 – 9:00 a.m. Monday through Friday, and from 7 – 10 a.m. on weekends.
I truly regret you found our staff not as helpful or friendly they might have been. There is no excuse for a less than hospitable greeting, but as you were not specific as to what happened, I can only ask that you accept my sincere apologies and my hope that you were not inconvenienced by the lack of courtesy.
I hope we may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality and to welcome you back the next time your plans bring you to San Francisco.

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,018 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Property: Taj Campton Place
Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Campton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing