We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service, fine rooms. Pricey (not surprising in SFO!), but fair value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #11 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, good service, fine rooms. Pricey (not surprising in SFO!), but fair value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed three nights at the Taj Campton after spending the weekend at the Mandarin Oriental. Though certainly not as luxurious, as days went by I liked it better than the MO.

Location is excellent, right on Union Square. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed (bathroom not very well lit, in my opinion). Service is good, it caters an excellent upscale, renowned restaurant and a very nice bar / bistro which provide it with a local feel.

Just for fun, Luke Perry and Phillip Phillips were tying at the hotel at the same time I did.

Pricey as most SFO hotels, though not as steep at the MO. I think it delivers decent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, December 30, 2015
Dear Tomas Q,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your future stays and appreciate your continued patronage.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    228
    76
    31
    28
See reviews for
123
331
47
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
475 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had reserved this hotel for a few night. The service was very good , the room although completely refurbished look a little too classy for us, as we prefer more modern features and furnitures. Nevertheless we have no formal critic to suggest, Just an expensive well located hotel.

Room Tip: Close to all shopping activities and Union Square with access to the very close cable cars. choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, December 30, 2015
Dear jmLondon845,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your future stays with us.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Not as good as advertised. The rooms are tiny or small at best. Staff is great, but some services (Hotels Town car) were never available. Breakfast was amazingly good. But beeing a LH the standard is at least a little bit higher than what the Taj Campton Place provides.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 23JayJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the size of your room, and do encourage you to check out our other room types during your next visit to Taj Campton Place. In addition, the house car is on a first come first serve basis, so we apologize that it was never available for you to experience. We would love the opportunity to host you again and provide you with a more impressionable experience.

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A nice and classy hotell with great location. Conservative in style decoration. Rooms are very nice and well equiped. The bed was very comfortable. Really good quality of the breakfast and with a good service level.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, December 30, 2015
Dear crummond,
Thank you for your excellent review of Taj campton Place. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your future stays and appreciate your continued patronage.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I didn't like the receptionist who made our check in. She denied an early check in to my wife and our 2 years old daughter at 14 o'clock, while I was away. She said our room would be ready only at 16 o'clock, but the regular check in hour was 15 o'clock. When I arrived at the hotel, at 16 o'clock, this recepcionist was not working anymore and I talked to a colleague, who apologized and gave us the room immediately.
But I had the worst impression with this unpolite recepcionist who denied the room. She is the only recepcionist in the morning shift who doesn't wear a badge with her name. So curious...
And the wifi internet is very slow and they charge US$ 12,50 per use/day.
The good side is that bed and pillows are superb, although the California King Suite is not very large. The bathroom is really large, the shower is excellent, the towels are new and very soft and the amenities are high quality.
The doorman and the bellboy are very polite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreLALC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Andre,

Thank you for your feedback about your check-in experience. I cannot tell you how sorry I was to read of your trial in trying to have access your room, especially with a small child. You may rest assured our manager has investigated and counseled that receptionist on our standards of hospitality. I was so happy to read that this unfortunate experience did not detract from the rest of your visit and that you were generally very satisfied with your room, its amenities and the others of our staff with whom you dealt. Again, thank you for letting us know about your stay.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

It's been a while since my last stay & I'm happy to say it's still as wonderful as ever. I love staying here! It's so COMFORTABLE. The rooms are great and the whole place has a really relaxed charm. The staff & service is so warm, friendly and helpful. Location is just perfect too. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when in San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreekAussieChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, December 30, 2015
Dear GreekAussieChick,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your future stays and appreciate your continued patronage.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel. As smart and clean as you would expect from the Taj chain. Staff polite and helpful.

Only downside - valet parking extortionate (even by San Francisco standards) and all the electrics failed in the bathroom one morning, which meant showering and trying to walk on the now-ice-rink-like marble floor in the dark. Problem immediately fixed when mentioned though!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Jdingley,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize profusely for the inconvenience with the electrical system and thank you again for your patience while we fixed this problem. We are glad you found our staff polite and helpful, as we pride ourselves on our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Campton Place!

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,263 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#30 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,730 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,714 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Property: Taj Campton Place
Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Campton Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Indian Hotels Company Limited, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing