We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better elsewhere”
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #4 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Find a different hotel. First they put my over 90 year old disabled parent in a room that you have to walk a flight of stairs to get to. We are paying top dollar here no discounts. Next they have moved us to another room; tiny by almost any standard. They said the room would have two beds ,buy it doesn't ..only one. Additionally, they wanted to charge $12.50 a nigh for internet. On top of the $57.00 they are charging for parking. I think there are much better hotels at fairer prices.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinTraveler0, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear glennopp,

I was so terribly sorry to read of the poor room assignment that was made and it is difficult for me to know how that came about without being able to look at the original reservation. I suspect you had reserved a room with two beds but that we had no indication your parent was disabled. Why, when you explained about the stairs, you were not shown a room with two beds and no stairs, I cannot understand and I must ask that you please accept my apologies for not having been more sensitive to your request and your needs.

I also apologize that you dissatisfied with the parking charge, but wish you to understand that charge is for valet parking, curb to curb service, with in and out privileges. For guests who use the in and out feature several times during the day, the charge can be very comparable to what it would cost at nearby public garages—without the convenience of having the car delivered to the front door, a valuable service I would think for someone travelling with a disabled companion.

We hope you will give us a opportunity to redeem our reputation for hospitality and that we may welcome you back to Taj Campton Place the next time you plan to stay in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel and were booked for three days. It boasts a fantastic location; 1 block from Union Square and 2 blocks from Powell St for the cable car. The hotel is not too big and not too small, and has clean and comfortable rooms.

Our check-in was fine. Every guest gets a letter from the GM welcoming them to the property. The room was a decent size and the bathroom was fairly large. It has Molton Brown products (great!) although I was hoping to see Taj-branded products (amazing!).The bed was heavenly - I dont think I have ever slept so well. The turn down service was also a great perk.

But here is my only complaint. Campton Place needs to ditch the U.S. business model of ripping off customers with a 20% gratuity and $4 delivery charge when it comes to food. Taj Hotels (Taj "Mansingh") in India are very well known for their food and beverage service. We would have eaten at the hotel for breakfast, but the prices were crazy. We found a Starbucks right next door. Moreover, there is a french cafe two blocks away called La Boulange (good). There's also a Cheesecake Factory (good) above Macys (two blocks away). I also suggest the hotel makes the snacks and soft drinks free for guests in the rooms. Finally, putting together a really nice buffet for guests for 25 bucks or offering complimentary pastries in the morning would be a way to change. That's how Taj Campton will get five stars from me.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arkamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinTraveler0, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Arkamus,

Thank you for your response and for mentioning our heavenly bed—you are not alone in your opinion about the beds.

I must apologize that you were so disappointed in our food service. As you mentioned, in the United States room service comes with an automatic gratuity and delivery charge in all hotels. Delivering food to a room incurs many expenses in addition to those in a restaurant and most guests feel the convenience of in-room dining is worth the extra cost.

Given our boutique size, we are simply not set up to provide a breakfast buffet, and a full room service menu, as well as full breakfast menu which seems to be preferred by most of our guests. And you are correct in saying there are many other very acceptable restaurants within a few blocks of our hotel. However, they are not same kind of restaurant and do not provide the same items, amenities or ambience. There’s no reason not to experience several different breakfast venues if one is here for several days.

I was pleased to read that you otherwise had a pleasant stay and we hope you will return to Taj Campton Place the next time you are in San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We would just like to wish all the staff at the hotel for a beautiful start to our honeymoon, we stayed hear for 5 nights and could not fault our stay at all . We thought our room was splendid
and very comfortable and would stay there again if we ever go back .
Regards Mr and Mrs Cranny

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blacksheep58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Cranny,

Congratulations on your recent marriage, we are so happy for you both. Thank you so much for choosing Taj Campton Place for this very special trip together! It is our honor to help you celebrate this once-in-a-lifetime event. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to San Francisco!

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

1. Leaders Club amentities are a bottel of water and fruits. Is that a joke?

2. There a Nespresso coffee machine but coffee is limtied to one cup/personne/day. Is that a joke?

3. Leaders Club "included" breakfast is limited to 25 USD per day per personne. Just FYI, a glass of orange juice is already 7 dollars.

4. We were on a honeymoon and nothing special was prepared by the hotel management.

5. Front desk staff (Anita) is unpleasant and rude. She cetainly does not want to accomodate your requests and needs.

6. Gym is big but outside. i.e. can very cold.

7. Probably the only good thing of this hotel is its location (with soundproofed windows) and concierge (Peruvian).

I will go for the Mandarin Oriental next time I will be in Frisco.

Room Tip: California King was better than the Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinTraveler0, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Swiss Luxury Fan,

We were delighted to have you with us and so sorry to learn you were not so delighted as we. It is always more pleasant to see nothing but positive comments, but surely more beneficial to learn where improvement is required.

We are genuinely interested in your impressions and truly always endeavor to provide the best possible experience for all our guests. I must, therefore, ask that you please accept my apologies that you were not recognized as a honeymoon couple. One of the joys of hospitality is doing special things for special occasions and we truly regret when we have missed an occasion to make others feel that we share their pleasure.

I truly apologize that you found the front desk agent unhelpful, not understanding of your situation. There is no excuse for any attitude other than warm hospitality and you may be sure she has been counseled about our standards of welcome.

We hope to have another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality and would be pleased if you will contact my office directly the next time your plans bring you to San Francisco.

Kind regards,

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We hadn't stayed here for a few years and thought why not? Well, we were rewarded with an excellent stay with a very helpful staff. We had a lovely and exotic breakfast in the restaurant and the room service curry was bloody marvelous!

Room Tip: The suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2015

Dear Donald T,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your future stays and appreciate your continued patronage.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Room was very small.......view of a wall. Bathroom clean but poor lighting at vanity. Carpet stained...........only one luggage rack for 2 guests........no top sheet on bed (unique)..........no stationery

Room Tip: request room overlooking Stockton street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wooddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinTraveler0, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear Wooddy,

Thank you so very much for writing and please accept my apologies that we did not meet your expectations. We are a boutique hotel and our rooms are more on the scale as those found in smaller European hotels. We think that what we lack in size is made up for with premium amenities and superior service. I regret very much that we did not provide those amenities and that service when you were here. Not having a top sheet is also in the European manner of making a bed where the duvet cover serves as the top sheet. We are happy to provide a more traditional bed make up for those who prefer that style…but we need to be aware of that preference. When we know, it is entered into the guest’s profile for future visits. We also provide extra luggage racks when we realize there is a need. No stationery was an oversight on the part of the room attendant and you may be sure we have refreshed our attendants on our standards for room amenities.

I do hope you will allow us an opportunity to redeem our reputation for hospitality the next time you come to San Francisco.

Kindest regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel used to be a lovely and enjoyable place to spend a couple of days while visiting the shops on Union Square, but not any more! The staff and management now cater to conventions and corporate account holders, relying on the steady income this sort of clientele provides. If you are an individual traveler, looking for a luxury hotel, you will not be satisfied with the service provided by the staff of the Campton Place, if you have any issues with the accommodations. The staff are not sincere and they are definitely not interested trying their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They are not exactly courteous if you have any complaints, either! Having stayed in many "five star" hotels, I would definitely not include the Campton Place in the five star category. The Ritz Carlton and the Four Seasons are located very near the Campton Place, and both are competitive with their rates. I will not go back to the Campton Place and would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Bobby Marie,

We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was disappointing and did not meet your expectations. It is by listening to our guests that we are able to maintain our five diamond service. At Taj Campton Place we continually strive to exceed our guests’ personal service standards, and it is important to us to know when we are not doing so. I would be happy to speak with you directly regarding your experience, please feel free to contact me at anytime.

We apologize if your visit with us fell during a conference in SF, which tends to be a very busy time for us at the hotel. We truly apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us at Taj Campton Place. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again and allow us to make up for any shortcomings you experienced.

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
552 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,547 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,576 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $309 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Campton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing