We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit old, but comfortable & in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #56 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A bit old, but comfortable & in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

I loved the location of the hotel. A bit more quiet than around Union Square, but with excellent transportation options; with bay views but not as touristy as Fisherman's wharf.

The hotel is old, loved the huge vintage lobby but the rooms could use some modernisation (esp. the bathrooms). The rooms may be old but are still comfortable and fairly spacious. The first room we got had city views and was very noisy, but we asked for another and got one with bay views, much more quiet.

Staff was super professional and courteous. Room service was good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arevan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,602
    1,471
    680
    255
    116
See reviews for
793
1,096
185
1,560
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Stayed here with my partner in Nov 2010. Wowed by the lobby, as it was Xmas they had fairy lights cascading down all through the lobby, looked amazing! The room itself I found to be big with a great feeling of space as the window ran the whole length and height of the room. The bed was huge and very comfy. The bathroom could do with updating but was fine. We had a cityview and because of its location it could b quite noisy but never stopped me falling asleep! The staff we nothing but helpful and friendly and when we asked for a late check-out it was given free of charge, Ive had to pay extra for that before so that was a nice touch. I would stay here again and would recommend it to couples and business people, they had a great business center on the bottom floor.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loubox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

I stayed here for one night. The hotel is in a great location, directly across the street from the Ferry Building (although the entrance is on the other side of the hotel). There are trolley, Muni, and BART stops right outside the hotel.

The building is massive and the lobby is awesome. Very interesting architecture. You can tell its an older building, but it's been modernized over the years. Most of the hotel was clean, but I noticed a few scratches/dents/marks on the walls in various places. I guess that's to be expected in a hotel of this size.

Check-in was easy - there was no line when I arrived (around 4:00PM). I was staying in an "Embarcadero Suite" on the 15th floor. The view was really nice - you can see the whole plaza in front of the ferry building, down Market Street, and (most importantly) the Bay Bridge. I was glad to have spent a little more to get that great view. The room was very modern and clean and I really liked the sliding glass doors so that I could get pictures outside. The doors just open to a railing - there is no balcony.

I ordered room service which came promptly and was very good. I actually enjoyed the meal as much as if I'd been eating it in their restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

This hotel is great if you want to be in the offices on Market near Embarcadero.
But the hotel itself is quite dated.

Pros:
- Proximity to Ferry Building, Embarcadero
- Near BART
- Rooms are spacious but not amazing

Cons:
- Dated
- Bedding is old

There are other better hotels in this star level and price

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepless_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

I originally chose this hotel due to the proximity of the client; had been comfortable at the Hilton on Kearny. Nonetheless, while I see some wear and tear (the hall carpets are getting worn (were there any leaks?), the rooms are comfortable and the staff is friendly and top-notch. I will stay again and have already made my arrangements. It's all about customer service and the Hyatt fills that bill.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDebsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

I hit the road for weeks at a time and when in SF I like this property for its location and the aesthetic value. However, the past 2 times I've stayed there I have to say the decor inside the rooms is getting tattered, the carpet has dust on it along the baseboards, the wood on the sink was rotting, and the wonderful mattresses are sagging -- you can always tell where people have slept in the past. This past trip I really noticed how poorly the dated sliding glass doors are at keeping out noise. I heard trolley cars, traffic, ferry and boat horns -- and there was duct tape on the one side! In the 2 weeks I was there I also noticed that the room was never vacuumed! Yuck! I really hope Hyatt has some plans to bring this property into the 21st century. When I first stayed here the current decor was new -- not so much anymore! new decor and new windows is what this place needs!

The staff and service by the way are all excellent!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blairz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

This hotel is excellent. We only had one hiccup. Our check-in (early) was very pleasant and we felt the hotel was very glad we had arrived. We asked for a late check out and promised that we did not have to be out of our room until 2 p.m. Our room was ready, it was very clean, well furnished, and updated. Lovely bed. The balcony was clean and the chaise, table & chair were a very nice addition. Our view of the Bay and Embarcardero center was stunning. The entire hotel staff (except one) were extrememly helpful, courteous, and the restaurant service was impeccable and the food was very good too. The hiccup - housecleaning knocked on the door on departure day at 10:00a.m. and ask when we where leaving. I had to inform this man that we had a late check out. We love this Hyatt Rengency and stay here each time we come into the city for an overnight stay. It has BART right outside its doors, the Ferry Building is 1/2 block away, buses, streetcars, cabs, and trolleys are at the doorstop, and some of the BEST restaurants in the city are within walking distance. Fisherman's Wharf is also close-by.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACALIFNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#47 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#51 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing