We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room but go elsewhere to eat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #48 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Stayed last 4 days in August on business trip. Location is excellent - central to shopping/eating/attractions. Checking in/out was very quick and courteous. The foyer is very impressive. Got Kingsize room on second floor (quiet for a second floor) - very good sized room. Nice view over Bay area. Room spotless. Had tea making facilities and lots of tv channels. The minibar was very large but quite expensive - 4USD for a bottle of water .

I would recommend calling help-desk for wireless internet connectivity. My European bank called at 4am to notify me of uncharacteristic authorizations on my credit card - this was caused by me trying to pay for wireless access through their site and repeatedly telling me that my card was declined when in fact authorizations were put through. I then had problems trying to get an outgoing connection from the hotel phone to stop my bank from freezing my card but eventually it was resolved.

Breakfast is not cheap at 26USD (+tip) for the buffet. Unless you've got an huge appetite, I would recommend ordering off the menu or going elsewhere.

I had dinner on one evening - fillet steak - although reasonably priced, it was quite bland and there were only about 4 other people in a sizable dining area (the chicken starter was quite poor). San Fran has some great places to eat so do not eat dinner in the hotel.

I didn't use the gym facilities but take a walk around hilly San Fran with it's spectacular views and you won't need any other exercise.

For business trips, I would recommend the Hyatt but might be a bit pricey for a vacation.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank dub1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,495)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,005 - 4,011 of 4,495 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2007

We have just returned from a short stay at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco. The hotel lobby is amanzing and the rooms are very confortable . The location is good with good acess by public transportation!
Didn´t try the restaurants . Overall I would say this is a good hotel

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank vmimartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

The bad:
The room we stayed in had spots on the carpet, black mold by the tub and red/orange mold dots in the bathroom ceiling.
The room was non-smoking in theory but we had to sleep with the window open with all the street noise in order to get the smell out.
The hot water pressure was weak in the shower.
No robes.
Could hear people in room above walking about.
Front desk was not very motivated to help us change rooms.


The good:
The beds were very nice.
Had tube TV, clock radio, extra synthetic pillow, cosmetic mirror, coffe maker, hair dryer and iron.

Conclusion:
Guess this hotel would be ok if it was updated. Not sure about the open lobby design unless they had sound proof doors.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank iMagellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We decided to stay at this hotel after previously staying in Fishermans Wharf and this is a much better location - so much mroe central and if you do their park and play package which comes with breakfast and free parking all the better.

Having a car in San Fran makes the world of difference - our previous trips we were reliant on taxis and walking - which was not so bad but to get off the beaten track and see some amazing parts of SF def get a car!

The hotel concierge team were great at ensuring we had maps and info.

The breakfasts were fine for the included price and they always took great care of our 3 year old.

The only complaint we had was the room next door was full of College students who decided to party from 1am until 6am - not great for us at all. Told the hotel who offered us free breakfast but that didn't mean much to us as we were already having breakfasts included.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to all sorts of groups!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kiwigirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

I was shocked to hear that the valet parking was $50+ a day! Even though San Francisco has little parking, this rate is outrageous. Not only that, but they charged internet, which has been free for nearly every hotel I've stayed in. Because the summer there was very chilly (like Mark Twain said), I wanted to swim indoors, but the hotel does not have a swimming pool. The Em barcadero center that the hotel is in not bad. The restaurants in the center are an excellent spot for lunch with choices ranging from classic deli sandwhiches to pizza to sushi and there are plenty of hungry pigeons to feed. I would recommend this hotel strictly for business people that will have their expenses paid. The environment at the is good for a conference, maybe not a family trip.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank bluedolphin94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Spent one night at the Hyatt and, while I loved the location, I was not so pleased with the hotel itself. I booked a room on one of the "Business Plan" floors, thinking this might be a little nicer than average. My mistake. What I got was a room on a floor just like all the others, except I had to swipe my key card in the elevator to punch my floor's button. Before I arrived, the hotel sent me an e-mail from the "E-Concierge" offering a variety of services for free and for extra cost. I responded by asking for extra towels and the New York Times, but got neither. The hotel is huge and built during the era of the giant interior courtyard (much like the Marriott Marquis in New York City). The now-dated interior is dark and damp (a stream runs through the lobby, which is probably the moisture source). The corridors are narrow and dark. The room itself is a bit dated and the bathroom is small. Mold was present on the seam between the tub and the wall. Given the cost of the room, I expected better.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WIRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Hotel was very nice. We had a semi corner room that could see the bay bridge. Ammenities were all there and standard fair for a upscale business hotel. One downside however was the rotating restaurant. Wasn't really worth it for the price and the wall was a tad dirty, so ever full rotation, we would see that black smudge on the wall. There are so many great restaurants in SF that I would recommend that you look elsewhere for either drinks or food. The bar downstairs in the lobby was also a bit wanting. Not too many people, and tried to be a little too hip for what it really was, a lobby bar.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ahnion777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,769 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,323 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
2,976 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
5,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $209 - $798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing