We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Service outweigh the run-down room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #50 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 15, 2010

The location of the Hyatt was perfect for us. We were able to return our rental car here and we were right next to the Ferry Building, cable-cars, the trolley, BART and muni-buses. Across the street was a Walgreen's and there were plenty of restaurants nearby.

The hotel was a mixed bag for us. On one hand, the service we received (especially from the concierge) was excellent and the general grounds, notably the atrium, were well maintained. However, our room was not up to standards for a four-star hotel as this is rated. We stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Belleview, WA last year and it had an excellent room. We expected a similar room at the San Francisco location but we were mistaken. The room was old and worn. It looked like it was an excellent room about 10 years ago but you could tell it was worn down. The carpets were stained and the shower tub had mildew. The balcony and door leading out to it were dirty. The bedding itself was nice and new but the mattress was terrible as it sagged horribly. Ironically, there was a card on the desk in the room touting the Hyatt beds. Also, our room had a connecting door in it and on our third night we could hear our neighbors quite well. Thankfully they quieted down and we were able to get to sleep.

If I were to rate the hotel on the room alone I would give it 2 stars for being rated a four-star hotel. The location and service were excellent for us and this warranted giving the hotel an overall "average" rating. I would consider staying here again but would look at other options in the same area first. I cautiously recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acadiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,013 - 4,019 of 4,751 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2010

My only problem is that if the room has the connection door to another room, you can hear through. After being moved, I really enjoyed the place. Awesome location in the city too.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehudson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I stayed at the Hyatt on Embarcadero during Independence Day weekend. The location cannot be beat - near the bay, next to a BART station, along the California cable car line, and access to the buses and F streetcar. It is walking distance, or a quick ride on public transit, to Chinatown and Union Square. The staff I encountered were friendly and professional. I loved the glass elevators.

Upon checking in, the friendly lady (Kathleen) gave me a room on the 12th floor with a view of the bay and Ferry Building. The room had everything I need and the bed was very comfortable. Although the hotel is open atrium style, the room was very quiet. The only drawbacks of the room were: the iPod feature on the iHome did not work and the tub plug was broken.

Overall, a great stay for the holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My husband and I planned a two night stay at the Hyatt during the same weekend as Pride Fest. We did not realize it was Pride weekend, so we hadn't planned on the area being as overly busy as it was, but we took it in stride and the hotel was in a great location for the festivities. But as much fun as the parade was (that was right outside the hotel) it didn't make for a pleasant stay. We were originally placed in a corner room that was small and had a connection to another room - to a party we were not with. At 3:00 in the afternoon we could hear every word coming from next door, even over our blarring tv, so I called down to the front desk, who thankfully was able to move us down a few doors to a non-connecting room. This room was much larger and laid out much nicer and thankfully was quieter. Understanding that it was a very busy weekend, we half expect to be able to get a taxi outside of our hotel. My husband and I tried for practically an hour to get a taxi to take us to the ballpark on a Sunday afternoon, and the hotel staff could care less about helping us. We finally caved and walked to the train and asked local police for help to getting to the stadium. The hotel staff was very unhelpful. Find a better place, you'll be much happier!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SJSlesnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

it was one of the best hotels I stayed. Food was great. Room was excellent. Transportation was very good. Clioase to everything,. I even went shopping with the van.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency for a conference this past week. We arrived around 9 PM only to find we had been upgraded from a king room to a one bedroom balcony suite (the ones with a 30ft balcony). We were told we would be there for our entire stay (4 days). I have rarely had the service or comfort we enjoyed with the Hyatt in San Francisco and we've stayed in some great hotels over the years. Everything, and I mean everything, was picture perfect. The staff? Amazing from the crew out front, to the desk staff, to the housekeeping staff, everybody we met was friendly and professional. I am a die-hard Hilton customer but Hilton now has competition. Hyatt, we will indeed be back for a vacation to San Fran and when we do, we are staying with you again! Thanks so much for a most wonderful stay. Note: The F Line street cars run from the Ferry Building next to the hotel to Fisherman's Wharf. It is an easy bus ride to Union Square as well.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
Thank CitizenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We love this place! Two years ago we stayed here-the only room rate available was the Regency Club rate. It cost $250 then, and worth every penny. This time the cost was $200-a special Peter Pan musical rate (we didn't see the musical, but took advantage of the special). We highly recommend this! First off, we arrived at 11:30 a.m. not expecting to check in, but hoping to leave our luggage. The clerk said a room was ready for us-we left our luggage and headed to our favorite Dim Sum Tea restaurant-City View-a few blocks away. We returned and headed up to the 18th floor-the lounge for RC members and enjoyed some cold drinks and cookies. At 5 p.m. are "appetizers". That consisted of a delicious clam chowder, baked sea bass, fried shrimp, calamari, oysters, shrimp cocktail, speciality cheeses, roasted vegetables, raw vegetables, dips, crackers, olives...Breakfast was continental, but nice touches: hot oatmeal, cereals, bagels, cheeses, meats, salmon, nice fruit. With all this for $200-it was a bargain! The RC floors are the top two-quieter than the others. Also, a previous review stated to go to the top floor revolving lounge for cocktails. Firstly, it does NOT revolve. It did years ago, but no longer. Secondly, you may not go up without having a Regency Club room. (The rate is higher, but very worth it). Service is amazing-from housekeeping, maintenance, everyone encountered wants to know if everything is going ok. Obviously, management is top-notch to have employees so customer minded. Do sign up for Golden Passport (their reward club). There is no cost, and the first thing we were asked was would we like a late (2 p.m.) checkout. And do sign up for internet specials-that's how we got this great rate. We'll be back soon...

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BSmith068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 231 in San Francisco
5,035 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#22 of 231 in San Francisco
6,231 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 231 in San Francisco
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 231 in San Francisco
5,579 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
564 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 231 in San Francisco
3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $224 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing