We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a try ! Not as bad as the reviews make it seem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #50 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 5, 2006

I read the other reviews by prior visits and was very concerned. So in effect my expectations were lowered a bit. But I was suprised. Yes, when it was built it was a showplace of the period. I loved looking at the architecture as the build had to be difficult. So I saw something different then others.

The room was comfortable and in good shape, had a water for view and a balcony. Room service was ok. Nothing to write home about but I did not starve either.

The bath was smaller than some hotels these days but not to small to worry about touching the shower curtain :) I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank leroyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,280 - 4,286 of 4,749 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2006

This was our first experience using Priceline and were very hesitant as to what we would get for the price we selected. WOW were we surprised and delighted. This hotel is fabulous in every respect but most particularly the view from the room: Oakland Bay Bridge and the Embarcadero. The location to the financial district makes it an excellent business hotel but it is walking distance to many wonderful areas for leisure travel.The only negative is the parking at $43 a night, discounted for hotel guests!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank ZZMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

I have stayed at this hotel for several business meetings. The hotel has a nice atrium court with a cafe, bar and small market. The cable cars are right out outside of the lobby entrance and most rooms have unobstructed views of the San Francisco bay. This hotel is great for conferences, but I wouldn't stay here for a romantic weekend. The rooms are somewhat bland and there are better hotels in SF with more character (Mark Hopkins, Ritz, Orchard).

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
3  Thank TravelGal415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

I took my wife to San Francisco for the weekend to celebrate her birthday. The room was booked through Hyatt’s own website, which offered a pretty good deal at the time. At our request, we were given a room on the 17th floor, which was very quite. The bed and pillows were incredible. In fact, once we arrived home, we ordered two pillows. If you’re interested in purchasing the same pillows, you can purchase them from Pacific Coast Feather Company. Although we ended up with a city view room, it was still enjoyable. If you have an opportunity, try to have dinner at the hotel’s rotating restaurant. The views from the Equinox restaurant are incredible. However, the food is somewhat overpriced and nothing to write home about. Then again, you're paying for the view. As for the lobby... it's just beautiful.

I've read all of the reviews regarding this hotel, especially the critical ones. All I can say is that some folks should just stay home and forget about traveling. Some people are just way too critical and will never be pleased with anything. This is a beautiful hotel with outstanding service.

If you're looking to spend some time at a spectacular hotel, then you should certainly put this one on your list.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Springerhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

Location was great for tourist.... Cable car starts right outside the door and the Ferry building being across the street. Embarcadero buildings next door. Starbucks and a Walgreens across the street help make things convenient. Room wise is was a typical Hyatt room. We checked in late so we were on a low floor (4th Floor) since the hotel was sold out. Which wasn't bad at all.. the noise from the street didn't effect us at all... and somehow we got a handicap room so the bathrooms were extra large. Hotel was nice open atrium look and I would recommend having a drink at the bar equinox (great view and the rotation kinda throws you off but you get use to it). Overall a nice hotel to be in the central area of things and everything can be reached via public transit... either Bart, Cable, Bus, Ferry. Oh and don't bring a car ... the parking will be more then the cost of your room so I suggest taking the Bart into the hotel.... very easy or a cab (not during rush hour traffic or you'll pay) Best bet is the shuttle service or a car service. You won't need your car once you get into the city.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank irworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2006

This hotel is the perfect location for a view of the bay, access to ferries and the Ferry Terminal Markets (which was our focus). We had a nice room on a high floor and it is not inexpensive. We were a bit taken-aback to find that parking is $50/night with tax and that they even charge $10/day for wifi access. These days almost everyplace offers free wifi ... we felt they were gouging us a bit.

Stayed: August 2006
4  Thank outoford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

This hotel is a gem! Stayed here for a Fri, Sat & Sun night in Aug 2006. Got it from Priceline at an extraordinarily good price (90). My room was on the 3rd floor and I had a partial view of the bay, which was great. Especially when there were fireworks on Friday night! The room itself was very large with a king bed, dresser with TV on a swivel (so you could watch it from anywhere in the room) a desk w/chair, an upholstered chair by the window and another nice comfy upholstered chair with ottoman and convenient reading light/table right next to it. There was a coffee maker and coffee/supplies in the room. Bathroom products were fab with a nice fresh scent - and replenished daily. King size bed was a dream - pillowtop mattress, loads of pillows and a feather comforter. Felt like I was falling into marshamallow fluff each night! You absolutely could not ask for a better located hotel. Right across from the newly renovated ferry building, with all the convenient public transportation right outside the door, including subway to airport and trolley car to Chinatown. Quite a few coffee shops and some fast food type places within steps of the hotel. Embarcadero center shopping (with all the standard chains) right up the street. Definitely go over to the farmers market at the Ferry building on Saturday if you are there. They also have Arts & Crafts booths each weekend right outside the hotel. It is such a breeze to have the ferry right across the street from the Hyatt, too. Just walk over and hop on to spend a day in Sausalito. There are a few nice restaurants within walking distance (reccomend Schroders on Front Street - for great beer and German food.) My stay at the fabulously located, highly appointed Hyatt was a good contributor to "leaving my heart in San Francisco..."

Stayed: August 2006
11  Thank TwoTravelersToG... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 231 in San Francisco
5,032 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#21 of 231 in San Francisco
6,222 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 231 in San Francisco
3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,578 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 231 in San Francisco
565 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $225 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing