We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SF Hyatt Regency Was great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #48 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Got a terrific deal on Hotwire and was really pleased with this hotel. Excellent location and services. Staff was friendly and helpful and my room with a view of the Bay was nice and spacious. Valet parking at $50 a day was pretty stiff but you can park next door for $27 a day (without in-and-out provleges.)

2  Thank MalibuMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,241 - 4,247 of 4,646 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Georgia
26
Reviewed July 11, 2005

I stayed at the Hyatt for a conference for 4 days and was not at all impressed for the pretty high group rate we were paying. Minuses: rooms are pretty small, bed was extremely uncomfortable, tiny bathrooms(showers don't even compare to Holiday Inn Express for instance), rooms and overall hotel were not very clean, decor is outdated and the fare was just that, fair. Not all what you would expect from a Hyatt or comparable chain. Pluses: Helpful concierge and valet attendants, having a club level room that was on a higher floor, a small but nice balcony, and the view of the bay. From other attendees at my conference I was extremely lucky to garner a room with a nice view, even on the club level, as most were said to be very limited. I would not come back to this hotel for pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2005

Location is right off the BART station and start of California street cable car. Room is clean and spacious. Never any line up at the registration. Staff is polite and helpful.
Downside : internet is $10/day and phone call is $1 each. Fridge is controlled by computer for usage of drinks and cannot be used for personal stuff.

1  Thank dtlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2005

Purchased room through priceline. Found hotel to be nice, comfortable, and above average. Check-in was a breeze and front desk employees were very helpful. I wouldn't really consider this the "Union Square" area...a nice 20 minute walk, but it is a great location for picking up a trolley, bus, etc. from right in front of hotel. Embacadero Center has shops and restuarants for those who do not want to venture far from hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spunkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
16
Reviewed July 5, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency. He wanted to stay at the Hyatt because of the revolving restaurant, Equinox. I wanted to stay in a suite at one of the more smaller hotels (boutique) or even the Omni. The room was small and the bay view was very limited. Also, although we had reservations, when we arrived we only had a choice of the second floor or the 8th floor, which was the smoking floor. The hotel's lobby is huge and beautiful, but they truly did not splurge on the rooms. The reception stated that the hotel caters to conventions and that is exactly what it felt like. The BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT, however was the hefty valet parking (there is no self parking). Parking per night was $41.00 plus a tax, which ended up being almost $50.00. For a three night stay it cost us $147.00 total for parking alone. My next stay will NOT be at the Hyatt Regency with all of the other hotels available.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2005

The Hyatt Regency San Francisco is a nice hotel. It's very pricey-- not as much for the quality of the room, but for the location. It is right at the beginning of one of the cable car lines, has a stop for the buses that take you to Fisherman's Wharf right outside, and has stunning bay views. There is a Starbucks and a Walgreen's, right across the street as well as an infinate number of restaurants within walking distance. It is right next door to Embarcadero Center... a retail shopping mall that spans 4 blocks. We stayed here because my husband was attending a conference at the Hyatt. The room was nice. They offered ammenities like shampoo, soap, and conditioner, but no lotion or other "extras". I have yet to stay at a hotel that had a clean shower/tub. This was no different. There was hair in the tub when we got there. We liked the daily newspaper and the concierge was helpful with public transportation and restaurant suggestions. If you're visiting soon, go see Les Miserables. It is a phenomenal show playing at the Curran Theatre. We paid $210/night.... I never would've paid that much for the Hyatt myself, but we were reimbursed by my husband's company.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie_GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2005

We just returned from 3 nights at the Hyatt Regency at Embarcadero and we feel that the property is in dire need of a facelift. The room was warm and comfortable, however, the lobby and the atrium were extremely drab and dreary. The location is central to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 and Union Square, easily within walking distance or if you prefer, public transportation was easily accessible. We have stayed in upscale hotels in the past and this fell well below the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bzmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,922 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,476 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $182 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing