We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #53 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
Reviewed March 17, 2009

I booked the Hyatt for a business trip and stayed for two nights. The location is perfect, on Market in the financial district. The BART station is right in front of the hotel, which made getting from SFO cheap & easy. The hotel has a grand central area and a very unique appearance. I stayed in a King room w/ a balcony, which was clean and spacious. It had great views of the bay and the city. The hotel has all the ammeneties of a larger chain hotel (gift shop, business center) as well as the convenience of a Walgreens and liquor store right across the street. The bar downstairs was busy and stayed open late. I am a smoker, but chose a non-smoking room and they provided me an ashtray to smoke on the balcony, which had a table and chairs for lounging. I would absolutely stay here again on my next trip. I was on the 10th floor and didn't hear any street noise, nor neighbors, doors slamming etc.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calimom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,711
    1,543
    708
    265
    123
See reviews for
849
1,157
198
1,630
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

I had 7 faster free nights that I needed to use before Feb. 28. So I took the Cal Train into the city and spent 9 nights at they Hyatt Regency. As a Hyatt Diamond Member I was upgraded to the Regency Club Level, Balcony Bay View, and I loved every second of it, was hard to leave. The Regency Club Rooms occupy the top 2 floors, and the club is on top of the hotel with an awesome views of the Bay Bridge, The Bay, and the Financial District. Each night the club had a wonderful spread of hous D'oenuvers, and in the morning a generous continental breakfast. The rooms have been renovated and are tastefully decorated with large plasma tv in the room, and a tv located in the bathroom mirror. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and professional. I would like to spend a special thanks to the housekeeping staff for the friendly 5 star service they provided. Every morning when I returned from breakfast my room was clean!!! Amazing it like they knew my schedule. I've stayed at almost every Hyatt, and one of my pet peaves is not having my room cleaned by 12 noon, and encountering a cold housekeeping staff. Thanks again Hyatt Regency San Francisco, you have the best Regency Club and Housekeeping Staff, it was an experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klarkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We booked 1 night for a family weekend overnight. The location of the hotel is the main attraction. We booked a room with view of the bay. The room was decent size, but everything about the room was out of date. Second, everything cost extra. Its ridiculous that hotels charge extra for internet these days. $10/day. Parking was $33/day for self park, and $55/day for valet.

The hotel is probably fine for business or conventions, but there are much better choices in the city for a family or anyone wanting a weekend gateaway in the city.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jtooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

A couple years ago before I had an apartment to myself I booked a room at the Hyatt for a getaway with my girlfriend. At that time I was able to get a room here for under $100/nt through Hotwire.

The rooms are large and the beds are ultra-comfortable. The bathroom was also nice. I enjoyed staying at this hotel thoroughly. It is a good value if you can get a decent last-minute price.

  • Liked — Nice rooms. Close to transportation.
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyboredom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

I booked this hotel on a very last minute trip to escape the cold weather and take advantage of sunny 70 degree weather in SF. I decided to go at 930am Friday 1/16 and was on a plane by 230pm. =).

I bid for the hotel on Priceline, telling myself I would go if my $75 / night bid was accepted. Lo and behold, it was.

Getting to the hotel from SFO via BART could not be easier - just exit at Embarcadero and the hotel is right in front of you. I arrived late - around 10pm. There was no wait and the service was friendly. They offered to upgrade me to a harborview room for $40+ / night. I politely declined, knowing I would rarely be in my room anyway. The clerk said no problem, and told me I'd get a nice room anyway. I didn't really believe him, but sure enough, my 12th floor room (1 king bed) had a great view of the port, Embarcadero Street and the SF / Oakland bridge.

I found the room to be perfect - clean and comfortable (particularly the bed). There's a safe, iron, coffeemaker and minibar in the room. You could tell the room had be refurbished, as it was just a little nicer than the bathroom, where the tile and fixtures were just a bit dated (but still clean). Water was hot and pressure was fine. TV worked well and got plenty of channels.
I did not use room service.

As others have noted, the location is optimal. There's a 7-11. Walgreens and Starbucks right across the street, and a bagel store right around the corner. They were all open, even on weekends when the financial district is pretty quiet.

For transportation, the BART / MUNI station is right at the hotel, as is the terminus for one of the cable car lines. Bus Route 1 stops 2 blocks away, making it easy to get to Chinatown and Nob Hill. The bus seems to run constantly with short waits to catch it. North Beach area is a quick 10 min walk. You can also easily catch the streetcar to Fisherman's Wharf or other places.

I did a ton of walking, and the hotel is a great base camp for that. I did 15 miles on my first day's visit, going to Union Square, the Castro, through all of Golden Gate park, then along the Coastal Trail. When you get tired, it's easy to jump on public transportation and get right back to the hotel.

Be sure to check out the Farmer's Market at the port across the street.

When I needed a taxi at 430am to get to the airport, there were plenty available, along with a towncar service.

Given the great price, awesome location and friendly service, I was very happy with the hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No negatives
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mellicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 804 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We came here for my spouse's conference and got a $130 rate for two. Our room was excellent, with a partial bay view--probably because we are both Gold Passport members. I think the "you get what you pay for" comment from another reviewer is true; hotels also reward loyalty.

The room was fine, on a low floor away from the elevator as per our\
profiles. It had a small balcony which (if it were a bit warmer or drier) would be nice to sit on to see the bay and Embaracero area.
The honor bar is touch-sensitive but I managed to slide some cheese in on top of the beer. (Note that if you do move something and are charged, if you have not consumed it, you CAN get them to take it off your bill!) The soap and lotion amenities are nice quality and scented with white ginger.

Morning coffee is via a small coffeemaker in the room (ugh) or via a $2/cup honor bar in the atrium. That coffee is fine. Breakfast bufffet was perfectly OK but not extraordinary. You are across from the Ferry Building with its food markets, so with a little planning you can get food there to bring back for the morning or just go over there for breakfast.

I was a tourist on this trip, so I found the location superb--on the flats for easy walking, close to ferries for scenic rides, a reasonable walk to Fishermans Wharf/Pier 39/the ballpark. It is right at the Embaracadero BART/Muni stop. You can be at Ocean Beach in under half an hour, or at Golden Gate Park.

This definitely is my new favorite hotel in SF.

And if you see the man with the gray cat on the sidewalk by the bagel place, please help them out!

  • Liked — Location, quality
  • Disliked — Could not use coffeemaker with my own Peets coffee
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Honu_Ohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

We had tickets to a nearby show and decided to have dinner out before and stay over in the City. We booked a Bay View King (Room 1128) through the Hyatt website at a decent rate, Used the valet parking--very convenient but steep at $50 per day. The view was nice, though a lot of the view was of Embarcadero Center, rather than of the Bay itself. Very pleasant nonetheless. Big room with a desk and two sitting areas. Clean but smallish bathroom. The Atrium is decorated for the holidays, and the Ferry Building and holiday skating rink are adjacent.
Tip: The turnaround for the California Cable Car Line is just steps outside this hotel. While not as famous as the Powell Street Line, it's still a great ride and very often with little or no waiting.
We will probably make this stay again for the holidays or another special occasion.
Also, a note about booking rooms: I see many complaints posted on Tripadvisor from folks booking rooms at deep discounts and then complaining when they are offered one of the less desirable rooms at the hotel. Cliche but true: You get what you pay for.

  • Liked — View and location.
  • Disliked — Confusing entry from Valet Area, though there is staff there to point the way.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikec1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
4,621 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,180 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,910 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
444 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 229 in San Francisco
5,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing