We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #48 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were going on a bus tour that left from this location and decided to go out a few days early so we could take in some of the city. The hotel is in an excellent location down by Embarcadero with easy access to all of the public transportation. Upon arrival, we were offered an upgrade to a room with a balconey for a modest upcharge and decided to take it. We had a great view of the bay and numerous perks that went with the room (like free use of a robe and slippers). The room was well appointed and very well laid out. Easy access to the Ferry Building and transportation down to Fisherman's Wharf. Also, one of the cable car routes ends right next to the hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous and the hotel was very nicely maintained with a fabulous lobby. The security was very good. I would stay at this hotel again if I went back to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask how much an upgrade would cost to get a room that has a balconey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Hope you had a fantastic time on your bus tour and it is great to hear you spent a few days in the city. We are delighted you enjoy the ideal location of our hotel and had a wonderful time exploring the Embarcadero waterfront. Your kind words on our staffs are much appreciated and I'll be sure to share with my team! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,780 - 2,786 of 4,646 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Loved staying on the Club Level at the famed Hyatt Regency in San Francisco. It wasn't just the bay views from my room and balcony but also access to the Regency Club on the top level of the hotel. Sunset views with cocktails and appetizers was fantastic.

Rooms are spacious with comfy beds and luxury linens. I loved that if I forgot any products or even a curling iron, I could have it delivered to my room. From the hotel is easy access to any sights in San Francisco you desire: the Ferry Building, the waterfront, PacBell Park for a baseball game, Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf, and the list goes on. My room was so comfortable with everything I could possibly need including plenty of plug ins for electronics and an iPod docking station. The sleep machine ensured that I could fall asleep to waves, or other sounds. My terrace overlooking the bay was the perfect place to savor a glass of wine or watch the sunset. I loved staying here and will be back!

Room Tip: Get a bay facing room on the Club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InternationalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed the beautiful bay view from your balcony and the amenities offered at the Regency Club Lounge! You will find the list of amenities card at many other Hyatt Hotels in the U.S., so you can travel light when you stay with us! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was our first visit to San Francisco so had no idea where to stay, so went with the suggestion of our travel agent. Ideally situated, if you do not mind walking, you can walk to the Ferry building and pier to catch the ferry to Alcatraz, also within walking distance to Union Square. Has some nice restaurants within walking distance also. We had a nice room on 16th floor which had a balcony and good view to the Ferry building and waterfront. We found the staff helpful and obliging when we asked for a room away from the noise of construction on the street facing the hotel. We were exhausted from a long flight and just wanted to sleep. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maree461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great service, unbeatable location, our room had a gorgeous view of the bay bridge (and a cute warning sign about pigeons getting in the room if you leave your window open).
But the design is very out of date and the furniture and carpets are pretty beat up. The banquettes in the lobby bar are completely worn out, with cracked vinyl and stuffing peeking out of the cushions (see photo). The lobby itself is beautiful architecturally, but totally worn out and the cosmetic half-steps they have taken to spruce the place up can't disguise the fact that the furniture and fixtures are just old and need to be replaced. Could be an amazing hotel, but at these prices the place really shouldn't look like it was last renovated in the 90's.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

There are 3 Hyatts in San Francisco and while many like the Union Square location, the Hyatt Regency Embarcadero is the most convenient:

-- BART from SFO airport stops right in front of the hotel
-- Ferry Building (with gourmet shops, restaurants, farmers market, ferries) right across the street
-- Sue Bierman Park right next door with new playground to entertain smaller children (city somehow reached agreement with homeless to stay clear of the playground. no such agreement with Union Square).
-- Safeway for groceries several blocks away with Walgreens drug store right across the street
-- Easy walking to tourist attractions in the financial district like Exploratorium, Levi's Plaza and jean museum, Filbert Steps, Coit Tower, Chinatown and North Beach.
-- Great restaurants within walking distance (Boulevard, Slanted Door, Kokkari, Tadich Grill, One Market) with more reasonable lunch places that cater to office workers.
-- MUNI transport and Cable Car stops right outside
-- Alcatraz ferry a longish stroll along the waterfront or a short "F" trolley ride away

This is a traditional Hyatt with a huge atrium and is more of a conference hotel. It has the usual Hyatt amenities with StayFit gym, KenetMD toiletries and 42 inch flat screen TVs. My room also had a refrigerator. Too bad there wasn't a pool.

The best part? Someone at the front desk suggested upgrading to The Regency Club (it cost us $75 to upgrade) and we were glad we did. That's where the old revolving restaurant used to be and we enjoyed the 360 degree views from the top and the Bay Bridge lights at night (see photos). We stayed at the Regency Club pretty much for our entire stay except for lunch at the Slanted Door next door, dinner & movie at the Castro (MUNI ride away), and a wine country shuttle tour that picked up at the Ferry Building across the street.

The main downside is the road work that is slated to continue all through this year. The BART/MUNI station right outside the hotel is closed so it required crossing the street and a slight detour to get to the station. But it wasn't that big of a deal. The construction stops during nights and weekends so noise wasn't too much of an issue. With the revitalization of the waterfront -- this hotel will soon be a favorite of tourists instead of just business travelers.

Right now it is 4 stars only because of the construction.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ALTippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed here for about a week attending a conference. There was a Muni station right outside the hotel which made it easy to get around. There were also some nice restaurants scattered throughout the area. I had a standard room that seemed a little dated, but it was clean and had a great view of the Bay Bridge.

The only thing I can think of that could have been better were the sliding door/windows. There were signs saying if you leave them open, pigeons might enter. It would be great if one of them had a screen so you could enjoy the breeze without worrying about birds. Also, while the bathroom "area" was a nice size, the actual room with the toilet and shower was a bit tiny. Other than this, the place was great.

Room Tip: Decide what you want to look at and ask them if they have rooms facing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

While the hotel (lobby, halls, etc) seem a little dated, the staff was very professional and friendly and the location was great. You are able to walk straight out to the Ferry Building and waterfront. The rooms are fine. The higher floors have good views of the Ferry Building and Bay Bridge. The breakfast buffet was good and waiters work well to get you out if you are in a rush.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,922 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,476 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $182 - $674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing