We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property for business trip, unacceptable reservation problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #56 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good property for business trip, unacceptable reservation problem”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Was in town on business. The hotel has a great location on the edge of the business disctrict, right on the bay and close by to some great restaurants. Its a massive proprerty. Room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, despite reserving my room with a credit card and calling the same day to advise that I would be arrving late, they still did not have a room for me at check in. The assistant manager was extremely apologetic, found me a room at a sister property for the night and picked up the charges, making the best of a bad situation. Unfortunately, the situation was just unacceptable. You can be sure that if I didn't arrive they would have charged me for the night. That's the whole purpose of guaranteeing with a credit card.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzucknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,591
    1,465
    675
    253
    116
See reviews for
788
1,091
185
1,547
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here when it first opened long ago and returned this past week. Customer service was impeccable throughout. Treat yourself to the Regency Club experience. You wont be disappointed. Love the location close to the Embarcadero, cable cars, BART, Front Street and just about everything else you come to SFO for!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayPays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear RayPays,

Thank you so much for your review and welcomed back after many years! Our location is definitely ideal especially with all the new attractions along the Embarcadero waterfront! We truly appreciate your loyalty to the Hyatt Regency San Francisco and we hope to see you come back again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a good spot if you want to be close to the waterfront. It's across the street from the Ferry Building, with its coffee shops and food stalls. The lower floors get street sound, but the rooms also have white noise machines, which help mask the noise. I've stayed here three times and had a different and good view each time. The staff are friendly and helpful. The lobby is full of business travelers and meeting attendees, although the lobby does also offer some displays that would be of interest to children and tourists to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbaChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is convenient. However, we just had too many poor interactions with the staff that made our stay here unpleasant.

It started before we arrived. The hotel address doesn't show up consistently on navigation sites. We tried 4 different devices got three different answers. The hotel should be aware of their presence on the internet and ensure the address shows up properly on different maps etc.

When we pulled up, we were met by the valet who asked what we needed, then walked off, never to be seen again. Then a second person showed up to tell us to move and we explained for the second time that we wanted to valet park our car and check in. Then a third guy shows up (second guy leaves) and we go through it again only this time we are told something different than the first two times. Very frustrating and time consuming. Parking is $60 a day - how ridiculous.

Check-in was actually ok, although instead of asking for my Hyatt account, they just signed us up for a new one which I didn't want. When I called to change this, I got the full court sales press.

There was extensive construction work being done that made the access to the hotel extremely difficult. I think it would have been nice if someone, anyone, informed us of an alternate way to enter or even better, made it easier for the guests during this mess. The hotel did nothing, which tells you a lot about how they don't think about the customer's convenience, only theirs.

Rooms - the air conditioning clatttered so loudly we didn't sleep the first night. It had to be fixed fairly extensively which kept us out of that room.

Housekeeping - I have never been hounded so badly by housekeeping. Every day they busted up in our room early. One day the housekeeper waited outside our door for us to leave. She blocked the door with her cart as well and we almost fell over it as we walked out the door. Back off ladies!!!

Internet access - three tiers of pricing. $4.95, $9.95 and $14.95 for crappy, slow or normal speeds. Then add on top of that they charge by device. This sort of customer-gouging practice by itself guarantees I will not stay at a Hyatt property again (and in some cities I visit, I prefer a Hyatt brand *see Denver). I just cannot forgive this kind of rip-off in this day and time.

You beat me out of $40-50 bucks this time Hyatt, but you lost my future business forever. The Westin folks are happy to have me and don't pull this kind of nonsense. I can walk across the street to the Starbucks and get free access or a block away at the McDonalds, but in the room I paid for I get this complex cluster of a policy etc. You should be ashamed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joe-Bob-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience from your recent stay. A private message has been sent to you to request for more information. We certainly want to gain your confidence back to the Hyatt. Look forward to hearing from you.

Truly yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel's location is superb, being across the street from the Ferry Building and within walking distance of outstanding shopping and dining, as well as China Town. We stayed five nights for a combination business and family vacation. The restaurant provided casual dining that was good, with service that was a bit uneven. The room was well appointed and an appropriate size but the bathroom was small. The hotel is starting to show a few a few signs of age, but it was clean. The maid service was outstanding. I had a complex reservation for which I was not properly billed and didn't catch it until later. The manager was 100% cooperative and service oriented and fixed the issue without any difficulty. I would stay with them again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRHolmes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel. It is definitely a central hub for both business and pleasure. Your compliment on our housekeeping ladies is much appreciated and I will be sure to share your kind words with the team. Please come back and see us again soon.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed in HRSF this past week, and overall had a wonderful stay.

Pros:
* Location. It's on top of a BART station, at the intersection of nearly every major MUNI line, a cable car line runs here. Heck, the Amtrak station is across the street. This hotel is the nexus of SF transit.
* Atrium. It's as awesome as it was when this hotel was built, which is saying a lot.
* Rooms. Several reviews panned the rooms as needing an upgrade. The furniture looks a bit weathered, but overall, the rooms are very clean, and in good condition. Electronics all worked well; no problems there.
* Service. We started our stay in a full suite on the 9th floor. At 6:30am the next morning, it was apparent that city construction was going to be waking us up early on a daily basis. The staff at the front desk was nice enough to move us to the 16th floor in a junior suite that was much quieter and had a fantastic view. (See photos.)
* Food. Their breakfast buffet (in the atrium) is awesome. Not sure about regency club; we didn't opt for that.
* Location. Yes, I mentioned it twice, but I just remembered that the ferry building and the Embarcadero are right next door. And Embarcadero Center. And the Financial District...

Cons:
* Sound. The problem with being in the center of everything is that everybody wants to be there. That said, some rooms are quieter than others; see my room tips for details.
* Parking fees. Hyatt claims that the rates are comparable to other hotels in the area, but for the record, I'm having trouble finding a hotel in the financial district that charges *exactly as much* as Hyatt does. Recommendation: park in the Embarcadero Center buildings.
* City construction. For some reason, San Francisco thought it would be cool to nearly destroy every street around the entrance of the hotel for peak tourist season construction. This *totally* isn't Hyatt's fault, but I think the city should really reconsider the time of year they tear apart streets and sidewalks. Maybe they should have a tax holiday for Hyatt regency, for deterring any walk-ins.

(If you're reading this review after September 2013, feel free to disregard that last bullet point. :)

Room Tip: A room on a high floor or a room facing the northern side is recommended for quieter times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. Great to hear you enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel and glad our staff was able to find you a quieter room. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the city construction. Your business is truly appreciated and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is expensive and the rooms are typical high-rise hotel style: two beds, a desk, a closet, and basic bathroom. Nice to have a little fridge in the room, and the beds are very comfortable. Would have loved two queens instead of two doubles though for our family of four. I asked for a roll-away bed for my teenage son but the hotel desk said it was against fire code. Not the hotel's fault, of course, but there really was plenty of room for one. (Bring an air mattress if you need to.) Anyway, the location of the hotel is perfect: walk to the ferry building farmer's market and to the embarcadero. I prefer boutique hotels and B&Bs but in San Francisco everything is super expensive, so you might as well pay for a great location.

Room Tip: Having a bay view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToEuropeWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 227 in San Francisco
4,396 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#47 of 227 in San Francisco
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,901 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
1,247 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing