We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night - in and out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #50 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We live in San Francisco, and had to move out of our place for almost a month in May while it was being remodeled. In between longer-term temporary rentals, we had one night during which we were "homeless." I booked a night here using Delta Skymiles. One thing that impressed me was the speed of check-in. I'm pretty sure the whole process took less than a minute.

The room was perfectly nice, and the balcony with a view of the bay was a real treat! We ordered room service for dinner and breakfast. Both came quickly and were tasty.

We had to park our car there for the night, and yes, it's outrageously expensive, but you're in the heart of SF and parking is crazy. Listen to the valets when they tell you to call down before you need your car. We checked out on a Sunday morning, called down and alerted them that we'd need our car in a half an hour, and there was no wait when we went to get it. There were several people down there who had not called in advance and were not very happy that they had to wait.

All in all a very pleasant short stay. Good service, great location and views of the bay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GogoSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear GogoSanFrancisco,

Thank you for your review! Sounds like check in was a breeze and you enjoyed the meals in the comfort of your own room! I must agree the bay view from our room is definitely gorgeous! We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,237 - 3,243 of 4,749 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Big, traditional hotel, very well located, near the pier, and 10 mins walk to Westfield.
Breakfast is not big but good quality, service sometimes can be a bit slower than expected,
no food after 12am even room service, and room was too cold - opportunity areas
Bathroom needs a "revamp" looked old and not pristine clean
good gym
easy internet service

Room Tip: it is a big hotel, and there is a big construction site in front of it, nevertheless i could not hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPatriciaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear MrsPatriciaC,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel. There will be a cosmetic upgrade towards the end of this year to refresh our guestrooms. Your comment is very important to us and I will be sure to share it with my management team to review. Hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The sleeping accommodation was comfortable. The housekeeping service was fair. The room was clean, but we had to ask for cups, tea and towels at times. The front desk staff was helpful and quick to remedy the deficiencies once they were informed.
We received a complementary coupon for one morning breakfast buffet at check-in. The cost without the coupon would have been $24.99 plus tax and tip. We chose to use this coupon on the last morning of our stay. The food and presentation was very disappointing. The oatmeal was not easy to find, as it was at the opposite end of a very long set of tables from the dry cereals. Very odd. It was only lukewarm and not very good at all. There was no cream on the buffet for cereal, only milk. One had to ask the waiter for cream as if for coffee; that is if you could find a waiter or get their attention. The coffee and decaf coffee had a strong burnt taste that some might like, but we did not. The small breakfast quiches were cold, had a heavy doughy crust, and no flavor at all. The scrambled eggs were only lukewarm and gooey looking. There was also a scrambled egg/spinach/sausage offering that was lukewarm, gooey and ugly. We didn't have the nerve to even taste either. The toast was okay, but had little flavor. The best offering on the buffet was the fresh fruit, the yogurt with mixed fruit cup, and the small jars of honey or jam on the dining tables. Save your money; eat elsewhere!
To top it all off, a bill for 2 persons for breakfast appeared on our credit card bill when we returned home. Yikes!! We called the hotel and their representative apologized and said she would remove the $49.98 from our credit card bill, but would still charge us the tax and tip. We found that very odd, since we had not received any bill from a waiter and couldn't have possibly recorded a tip. We signed nothing regarding this meal, as it was supposed to be complementary. Apparently the food service people take your room number from the complementary coupon and proceed to stick it to you. We are still discussing this with the hotel management and are also filing a dispute with our credit card. If the meal was supposed to be free, it seems impossible to tax zero dollars. Also any tip that the almost invisible waiter thought he might get is a percent of zero which equals zero. That is equal to the wait staff service we got. What a lousy way to end our time with the Hyatt Regency San Francisco. The bottom line is that it is best, in our opinion, to take your meals elsewhere. We will find another hotel for our next San Francisco visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2onthetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip. It was noisy during the day because there is construction near the front door. It was noisy at night because the sound-proofing is poor. I often wondered if the window was open. It was noisey during our banquet, which was held in the lobby, and the very high ceiling caused the awards portion to be unrecognizable. It was actually easier to hear the pedestrians at night while in my room than it was to hear the speakers at our banquet. I was offered at room change as I was dealing with a crisis in preparing my conference talk. I declined it because I needed to remain focused. I wanted to accept the offer of a noise-machine until I learned that it must be reset every 90 minutes. I once again took my chances with earplugs but they would usually fall out in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Harold H.,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to offer an enjoyable stay for our guests and seem we fell short during your stay, please accept our sincere apology for the unpleasant experience. Our management team will continue to work with the City to minimize the noise during the construction on Drumm Street.

Truly yours,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel in a fantastic location. It is priced reasonably if booked online. Thats about it, I would go back, need 200 characters, still missing characters hopefully if is done now. Not quite, it is honestly a great hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamskennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I've stayed at the Hyatt Regency in San Francisco numerous times. It's fine. I choose it primarily because it's close to my office, not because it's a particularly nice hotel.

The hotel has several pluses. The internal architecture is exceptional. Some rooms have great views. The Ferry Building is only a block away. Also, I've always been fond of the service on check-in (which includes a bottle of water--a nice touch).

The hotel also has some negatives. Most notably, the rooms are old, dark, and shabby. Some rooms (especially those low and above Market Street) are noisy. The bathrooms aren't so nice. Also, the restaurant sucks (at least for breakfast).

Unfortunately, I don't know of any superior choices in the same price range in this area. It's about even with the Westin Market Street.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan_90401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here during the San Francisco WIPRO marathon. The location is perfect as we arrived via Amtrak at the Ferry Building right across the street. The room was very nice, the lobby beautiful, plus we had a nice view of the bay. The hotel is very expensive, but other than that we loved it. Walking distance to the piers, Union Square, and lots of great restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if its affordable. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 231 in San Francisco
5,032 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#21 of 231 in San Francisco
6,222 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 231 in San Francisco
3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,578 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 231 in San Francisco
565 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $225 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing