We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #49 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for three weeks over the New Year 2009. Very classy. I personally like the concrete curves of it and its massive atrium lobby. The glass elevators take you up to your room and it all feels kind of special.

The room was amazing. I've stopped in a fair share of 5 star hotels and this was assuredly one of them. Huge room with sofa, chairs and writing desk. Large LCD TV and the best en suite bathroom I have ever encountered. TV in the mirror was very novel. Excellent view of the Wharf and bay.

It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I had a terrible cold the first few days and needed somewhere to relax: this was the ideal medicine. The food was excellent and we had access with our room to the circular dining area that provides a 180 degree view of the area. Tremendous at night.

The staff were very warm and welcoming. I was chatting in passing to one and just mentioned in conversation that it was my wife's birthday the following day so I was taking her to Ghiardelli's famous ice cream parlour. When we returned from there the next day to our room, without another word, there was a knock and she was served a beautifully arranged chocolate flower display on a plate. She was absolutely bowled over by this and I will be forever grateful to the staff.

It was definitely a 'splurge' to stay there for three weeks, but it was well worth it.

NB - I had to put May 2012 down as that was the earliest date I could go for. :(

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 766DaveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear 766DaveR,

Thank you so much for you review! We are thrilled you and your wife had a wonderful time with us last year May. Sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful bay view and the amenities offered at our Regency Club Lounge. I must agree our staffs are great and very attentive to our guests. It is great to hear we left you a long lasting impression. Your recommendation is truly appreciated and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    1,561
    712
    270
    123
See reviews for
866
1,179
202
1,643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay in this hotel. As sson arrive it was 5 pm and my room was not ready jet. so the concierge told me to wait so I come back after 20 minutes but was no ready so Iask them that I was traveling for business but I have my family with me with child. so after 5 minutes the give me the room.
As soon I arrive in the room there was 3 hunger 1 soap 1 bottle of shampoo and 1 bottle of conditioner. 2 small towel and 2 big towel. Incredible for a hotel. The room was dirty and no very clean. I ask for more hunger, towels and soap etc. They toke about 30 minutes to arrive.
Anyway I just want to tell or client to avoide this hotel if they want to have all confort of Hyatt.I was there before and I did not have this type of trettament. I don't know what happened maybe the new General Manager and all the other person they don't know how to run an hotel.
I'm sorry this is not Hyatt, but something similar even is not relative to Hyatt. if you want to have all service that usually Hyatt and all hotel that belong to hyatt give to you don't go there.
Hotel very beautifull but I'm thinking they need somebody that they know how to run an hotel start from the general manager.
Believe I have been in a lots hotel all over the word and after this experience I decide to start to write in Trip Advisor and to let the people know about how treat the people bad and with no service.

Room Tip: Room no clean. Service no good check in disaster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rickyus-newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is great for location and service but it comes at a price.

The hotel is big, let me point that out right from the start if you hadn't already gathered. Not Las Vegas big but 802 rooms big. The lifts are on one side of the building overlooking the Atrium.So if you are prone to staggering back from a bar or if you are one of those people who is always late for a meeting you might want to ask for a room near the lifts.

The bar is ok but really overlooked from the other floors (think the Luxor). It isn't really shut off from the whole lobby so can feel a bit impersonal and gold fish bowl like.

Rooms and bathrooms good. Not contemporary and new but still fine. Clean and not shabby. Fridge, desk, coffee maker, toilet and bath separate to the sink. Double doors to outside - no balcony to step out on though.Take your own hair dryer! I might have dried my hair quicker sticking it out of the car window like a dog...

Can hire bikes just outside the hotel and there is a rental company in the lobby which we used. Rubbish sat navs - very basic.Take your own. My tip - drive down to beautiful Carmel - doable in one day and gets you a few hours at the beach.

The only thing we found a negative on was the room service. Really awful and expensive - don't bother. The food was generally classic dishes but with an unwelcome twist which ruins the dish. So what you might expect, you wont get and what you get doesn't taste great. If it aint broke...

The other thing that might bother you is some noise from outside - music and bells. We were high up and facing the wharf. If you have kids it might be something to consider. Didn't bother us so much.

Location wise the hotel is great for getting around (see my note below re cable cars). Its right on top of Pier 1 and the ferry terminal so an easy walk down along the sea and good for the ferry to Alcatraz and Sausalito.

The hotel is situated at the start of the California cable car which is great if you don't fancy walking or if you just want the experience. At the top you can go to Ruth's Chris and there's China Town half way up. Get your tickets on the cable car. It also crosses with other lines so you can hop off and get on another line to get around. We hopped off and got another line which took us to Lombard Street and Fisherman's Wharf. Then we managed to hop on a bus to the Golden Gate Bridge (bit of a distance from the hotel. Wouldn't walk it but you could cycle if relatively fit). We aren't massive public transport users but this was easy.

A few nice restaurants and bars within walking distance from the hotel but we felt this was quite a business district. i.e. busy in the week, quiet at the weekend. Lots of sandwich type places near for bagels, fast food, coffee etc. Shopping too.

Another tip - If you are unfamiliar with San Francisco. Take note of the additional taxes that will appear on your bill - occupancy tax (14%) and CA assessment or Tourist Improvement District Tax (about 1.5%).

WIFI is also expensive at the hotel so find free WIFI at a coffee shop if you don't want to pay the elevated prices.

Overall lots of positives for this hotel but it comes at the cost of being at the higher end of the budget.

Room Tip: Near to lift if needed (see my review) Facing wharf - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ifitsgoodimhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed there for a conference: it was OK. The staff was nice and I had a room with a beautiful view of the bay. But the hotel is a massive concrete structure that must have looked futuristic or trendy many years ago but looks passe today, something like staying in a "2001 Space Odyssey" recycled decor. The hotel is part of the Embarcadero Center so you feel like living above a mall. It's also not at the level of other Hyatt Regency I stayed at in other cities: the room, the furniture and the bathroom looked really ready for a major refresh.

So again, nothing really wrong but for the price you pay, there are many other options to choose from in the city that are higher standards and more typical San Francisco

Room Tip: ask for a room with balcony and view of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the beautiful bay view from your room. A cosmetic upgrade to refresh all of our guest rooms are scheduled for end of this year. We apologize for not meeting your expectation. We truly appreciate your business and we hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The good
Bed - I have recently hurt my back and the bed was comfortable and good for my healing back - a surprise for a hotel bed

Toothpaste!! - I love the Hyatt provides toothpaste. Other hotels provide soap, lotion, shampoo etc but what about the essential toothpaste

Lunch - the grilled cheese and tomato soup was amazing

Did I mention the staff - very friendly. One of the nights that I was their the hot water went out. While it was annoying and I was tired everyone was very nice and helpful in getting the hot water back on and keeping me up to date with what was going on.

Location - in one word great! restaurants, trolley, shops, everything is accessable

The less than good
The only reason for not having 5 is it is an older hotel and needs a little refresh. But it i not dirty older just older decor older.

Room Tip: There was construction on the side with the higher numbers (so 322 for instance). I was not on that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIPTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty MO
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Hyatt Regency at Embarcadero in San Francisco is a great hotel for either business or a family vacation. The Financial District is often overlooked by families, who often stay closer to some of the tourist sites. However, there are good rates at the Hyatt, especially on weekends. More importantly, the Hyatt is at the confluence of the BART, street car, muni and cable car lines that run along Market and California Streets. You can avoid all of the noise and harrassment of Union Square by staying here.
The hotel is very clean and the staff is as helpful as you can find anywhere in the city. I've stayed here many times on business and personal trips and have never had a bad experience. Try to get a breakfast package, perhaps through AAA, but if you can't the breakfast may be a bit too pricey. There are plenty of coffee shops in the area, though, for inexpensive breakfasts. A favorite thing that you or your kids may enjoy - walk across to the Ferry Building and enjoy breakfast at one of the coffee shops while watching the commuter ferries come in and out. There are several good lunch and dinner options in the Ferry Building too.
Upon arriving, head over to Bay Crossings in the Ferry Building (or go underground at the Embarcadero Station) to buy a Muni pass for each of you for the duration of your stay. You will find the access to inexpensive public transportion preferrable to maintaining and paying for parking for a rental car. They Hyatt has a Budget rental car counter on the Street Level if you want to rent a car for a day trip to Muir Woods, the Golden Gate Bridge, and/or Point Reyes Nat'l Seashore (all recommended). The Muni pass will get you unlimited access on the Muni trains, buses, cable cars and historic streetcars. Get a good map when you get your Muni pass and the city is wide open to you.
For business trips, you are in the heart of the Financial District with easy access to any downtown office. I get the Muni pass even on business trips so I have easy access to the restaurants in North Beach, or along the Market Street. A favorite, the historic Tadich Grill, is within a two or three block walk.
I can't say enough about the wonderful service you will receive at the Hyatt - Embarcadero!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDHLibertyMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! Thank you so much for your review! Sounds like you had a wonderful time exploring San Francisco and took advantage of our convenient location and easy access to the BART and Muni. Our ideal location is unbeatable and I must agree with you the Ferry Building across the street offers a good variety of shops and dining options. Your compliment to our hotel and staffs is much appreciated. Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUENOS AIRES
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

You will enter into a HUGE Lobby. Nice People, nice Staff, and the best is the Hotel. I was at room 1219, Bay view area of the Hotel, the best side for me.
Nice room, the incredible view!!! Perfect Location, close to everywhere you want to go, I also took the trolley round trip for one day is $12 each person. There is another trolley running through all the Pier that coast only One Dollar.
I recommend the sightseeing tour, Hop and Hop bus, that shows you all the Beautiful City, to the Golden Gate.
These is one of the most beautiful cities of the US for me.

Room Tip: Take a room to the Bay the views are really AMAZING, you have to walk a little one to get into the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIL3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear SILVINILS,

Wow! Thank you so much for your 5-start review! Sounds like you took advantage of our convenient location and easy access to public transportation to explore San Francisco! The bay view from our room is definitely amazing especially with the Bay Lights sculpture! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,674 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
470 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
2,935 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 229 in San Francisco
5,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing