We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large hotel--efficient but uninviting. Good but not great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #52 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Detroit
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Large hotel--efficient but uninviting. Good but not great hotel.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip. There were no real issues but this is a large hotel that feels cold and perfunctory; there was not much that was warm and welcoming about this place. With that said, the service was generally good although a bit lackluster in the restaurant. Food was good but not anything special. Depending on what you are looking for, the location could be great as it is near the SF Bay, the Bay Bridge, activities and business, and trolley. However I marked the location down bc I didn't feel particularly safe outside the hotel. Almost everything for sale at the Walgreens across the street was under lock and key, which made me question the safety of the neighborhood. The room was fine with a nice view of the Bay but the layout of the bathroom was inconvenient and the lighting was poor. Room had a balcony, which was nice, but posted a sign to keep the sliding door closed or pigeons might enter your room. Bottom line, this is a better than okay but not great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieKDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,742
    1,560
    712
    269
    123
See reviews for
866
1,175
202
1,642
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The grand lobby and 60's modernism architecture is pretty cool; always thought so and to this day, still love the indoor lobby water feature. Unfortunately the rooms are simply average, however I did have a view of the financial district skyline. The noise level coming from Market Street is audible, but the worst part is the homeless wandering outside, which SF now appears to have more of than I recall. Great location to the Ferry Building, but I prefer other properties within the general area.

Room Tip: If you could keep away from the Market Street side, you'll probably sleep better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hvlewfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I just spent a week at the Hyatt. It was a great experience. The hotel is clean, and the staff is friendly. The breakfast was outstanding. The hotel is located a short walk to many attractions. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They work very hard to ensure that your stay is a good experience. They are very knowledgable about the city and are able to answer any questions you may have. When in San Fran I will stay here again. Nice job Hyatt.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MollyJJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear MollyJJM,

Wow! Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us and you enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel. It is always great to hear compliments on our staffs. Thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in excellent conditions. You cannot beat the location and the high quality service of their staff. They have a great gym or you can simply run outside on the pier or rent a bike on the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwurbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! Great to hear you enjoyed the convenient location and thank you for the nice compliments on our staffs! We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is a great choice for your stay in San Francisco. There is a BART stop right in front of the hotel (Embarcadero stop, walk out the Drumm Street Exit), about a half hour ride from SFO airport. The cable car is right there outside the hotel, and it is an easy walk to many wonderful places. Excellent location. Housekeeping does a great job, and the concierge staff was very helpful and friendly. The bathroom needs an update, but was very clean. The lobby/atrium is beautiful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preedlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to a conference held at the Hyatt and my first impression was that it was a business hotel and not very friendly. The front desk clerk was very rude and couldn't care less about welcoming me to a new city. And by the way, the mini lights hanging from the ceiling made me dizzy. Don't waste your money here unless it is for business only!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointed to hear your recent stay was not a pleasant one. We strive to provide excellent and personal guest service to our guests but clearly we fell short during your visit. Please accept our sincere apologies. Your comment help us improve and I will be sure to share it with the management team.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency on business for 4 nights. Regency Club King room which was newly refurbished and had a great view of the Bay. The Atrium is spectacular and the hanging lights were a nice touch. In the heart of the Financial District with easy access to California Line cable car, Muni trolley and taxis. Easy walk to Chinatown. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. One negative-for $300+ a night in the Regency Club, the "honor bar" for beer, wine and liquor where you had to fill out a card, insert it into a box and have it charged to your room was tacky. Would definately recommend especially of you can get a good rate.

Room Tip: Room facing Bay if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducci15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ducci15,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the Regency Club room and the close proximity to the financial district and many San Francisco attractions. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to you see come back and visit us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,674 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
469 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,933 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
5,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing