We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #59 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I spent just one night here. We got a great deal on Priceline. Check in was fast and friendly. The room was just like any other hotel in S.F. in this class, nice sheets, comfy pillows, fairly small room. BUT the view and location were way better than average. And the sliding glass door actually opened so we got fresh air and an even better look out at the bay bridge and ferry building. Pretty lobby and nice happy hour at the bar. Hope to stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zjsantarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review. We are pleased to hear you and your husband enjoyed your short stay with us. I must agree we had one of the best bay view in town. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    1,253
    603
    216
    97
See reviews for
659
929
164
1,264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My employer obviously got a great deal here and the location in general is wonderful, but the rooms are just tired. Old carpeting, odd room design, tiny (and old....and cramped/ creepy) bathrooms....I'm going back to the JW Marriott next time for sure! The front desk was pleasant but I had to call the bellman / valet (there were 3 standing around when I got there) to help me get bags out of the taxi.... and I was given the impression they were doing me a favor. Again great location.... But major updates needed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank lchaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel. We apologize for the dated guestroom in the hotel. There will be a cosmetic upgrade towards the end of this year to refreshed all of our guest rooms including new carpeting. We hope you will consider returning to our hotel in the near future after the upgrade is completed.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Definitely not the best Hyatt I've stayed at. From the first glance, it's difficult to get a positive impression of the Hyatt. The street level floor is not where reception is located and you must navigate the various rooms and columns to find out how to move upstairs to reception. The hotel is also an interior corridor hotel, an older construction that looks dated in light of modern hotel architecture. The rooms could also use some investment with numerous light fixtures not working. Finally, the Internet was a nightmare to deal with-the WiFi would cut in and out all the time. With that all said, service was excellent, the gym was a pleasure to use and the hotel is located very conveniently in downtown next to public transport and major tourist attractions. It's a pity that it hasn't made a few changes to make it into a truly excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Go onto a high floor and as faraway from the elevators as possible (you get a view of the Golden Gat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanTourist78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
212 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed excellent food and concierge service. The view was fantastic. The 360 degree view was worth the splurge. The location was fantastic. We were at a cable car hub and Bart station. Check in was very efficient. It was clear our room had not been occupied in awhile, and could have used a quick dusting.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear laurie c,

Thank you so much for your review! Sounds like check in was a breeze and we are glad you enjoyed the great view from the Regency Club lounge. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

First time I stayed at this hotel 6 years ago and this was the second time and i realized nothing has changed after years and i felt i shouldn't leave without leaving a comment. One of the best hotel at pacific coast... drinking a coffee after a tiring travel with lots of flight at the lounge with bay bridge, historical ferry building, , that takes all my stress... delicious food, spotless hotel, friendly and helpful housekeeping staff, plus their supervisor and helpful guest service and welcoming front staff for my luggages.... i would love to thank you for all of your hard work to make me feel a member of your family...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doyduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Doyduk,

Thank you so much for your 5-star review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and great to hear our staff was able to make you feel welcome. You are part of our family and we look forward to your many returns in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip on the coast. I had a free Hyatt night so I had used it for this place. Other than that I would definitely not choose to stay here again. The location on a weekend stay is not good because since its the Financial District everything is closed on the weekends here. The hotel was very much a business hotel for people here doing business, definitely not a place you want to stay for a couples trip. View from room was pretty though overlooking the water. Other than that very loud, large and impersonable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shel714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. Excellent location with easy access to BART train to the airport and also for street cars to Fisherman's wharf and Union square. The atrium was brilliant, the elevator ride to the top floor was an experience in itself. Helpful staff. We got an upgrade to the regency club. Amazing view at the top. Excellent breakfast. We will definitely stay here if we go back to SF again.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms might be expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suresh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Suresh63,

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us back in July. We have recently put up all of the holiday decorations in the atrium lobby which makes it even more dramatic and beautiful! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#34 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,841 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#55 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#49 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing