We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #57 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We just completed another stay at the Hyatt Regency Embarcadero, three nights. We have stayed here 3-5 times a year for the last 10 years, after tiring of the Union Square crowds and panhandling. For us, it is mostly about location, plus that we can get decent room rates and maintain Hyatt platinum status together with other travels. The rooms work well for us; there are some negatives, which I will discuss later.

Location: close to the ferry building, allowing use of the Vallejo Ferry for arrival, and avoiding the $50-plus-per-day parking charge (75 Howard Street garage is a viable option, but still about $30 per day); 50 steps from the Embarcadero BART and Muni underground station entrance (e.g., N Muni to Golden Gate Park and the museums); a few more steps to the 21 bus to the opera and Davies Symphony Hall; two blocks to the 1 bus running to the top of Nob Hill and on to the Legion of Honor; the F trolley car to Fisherman’s Wharf area; two blocks to the Ferry Building and the Embarcadero for walking without traffic signals; and close to a number of the City’s best restaurants. It is more of a business and commuter crossroads than a tourist area, in comparison to Union Square.

Rooms: functional, reasonably spacious, sink faucets annoying, carpets worn and stained (needed replacing 10 years ago), at least partial views of the Bay from most rooms on the higher floors (but avoid rooms facing Drumm Street for noise and lack of any compensating view), comfortable beds and nice bedding, the mini-bars appear to have been replaced with functioning small refrigerators (a most welcome change), the flat panel TVs provide distorted (horizontally stretched non-HD) analog reproductions of a selection of local and cable channels (disgraceful) and no connections for peripherals, good work desk and chair, Internet access, in-room safe, large floor-to-ceiling window and sliding door (balconies only on the premium rooms on the north side of the building), and shower tubs with lots of water pressure and ample flow (no water conservation ethic here). Noise can be an issue anywhere in San Francisco, and this hotel is no exception. Market Street is active, the plaza adjacent to the west side of the hotel is active with events, the Embarcadero is busy, trolleys can be noisy (especially those from Milan), and the taxi whistle and street noise on the Drumm Street side are all occasional issues.

Access Issue: the hotel has deliberately blocked, with large concrete planters, a sidewalk that was designed to provide access to the main revolving entrance doors on the Drumm Street side from the Market Street side without having to cross the hotel entrance drive twice. There is a door on the Market Street side close to the elevators that is used for exiting, but is kept locked to entry. In our experience, many guests use this Market Street exit for their local excursions. Re-entry to this locked door was improved two years ago through the provision of a hotel key-activated release for the door. That release is currently broken. Because the planters now block the broad sidewalk, guests either have to detour around onto Drumm Street, cross the hotel drive exit, then find a central walkway and again cross the drive area that is often blocked by vehicles, or slip between the planter and the valet area to access the main Drumm Street entrance. The arrangement is a real issue to mobility-impaired guests, guests arriving on Market Street with luggage in tow (as we do), and a major annoyance at other times to many guests, including us.

This stay: No newspapers provided to our room; cigarette butts and bottle caps on the little balcony ledge (the window sign says $250 charge for discarding the butts there); the lack of room key access to the Market Street door an annoyance; otherwise our stay was ok.

Overall, we think the minuses of the hotel keep its popularity down such that we can get good rates much of the time (except during major conventions) and enjoy the location benefits and comfortable rooms in spite of the annoyances.

Room Tip: High floor. Either Market Street side, or the higher-cost balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterEngineer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear WaterEngineer77,

Welcome back and thank you for your detailed comment. I must agree our location to the public transportation and the historic Ferry Building is unbeatable. There will be a cosmetic upgrade towards the end of this year to refresh all of our guestrooms and Hyatt is currently working on a project to upgrade all of the in-room entertainment system to be more interactive and hi-tech. We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Rest assured your feedback will be shared with my team. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,641
    1,499
    691
    260
    121
See reviews for
811
1,117
187
1,597
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This has got to be one of the worst Hyatt hotels Ive ever stayed in throughout my life.
The room looked like something from a 70's show and the bathroom was made for little people.
The hotel is clean and location is good but by God it needs a major refurbishment, its so gloomy and depressing.

Breakfast was ok but overall nothing special and definetely not worth the 26 bucks they charge you.

At night its terrible to get a cab and the doorman is no help whatsoever (they have these terrible whistles to call cabs ) and he literally blew it right next to my ear, they could also do with some training on how to be friendlier to guests and not scream.

I had to stay here as I was attending a summit taking place in the hotel so it was convenient but I would really advice anyone to stay elsewhere (the Grand hyatt 2 miles away is a much better property).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WendyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear WendyDub,

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointed to hear you had a poor experience at our hotel. There will be a cosmetic upgrade towards to end of this year to refresh all of our guestrooms. Our staffs tried very hard to provide great customer service, seems we fell short this time and for that we are truly sorry. Rest assured, I have related your comment to my upper management team to review. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent.,right next to the ferry building as well as the BART, MUNI, and cable cars. The service at the front desk was impeccable and the room that we got had a great view and was very clean. I will definitely be coming back here during my next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kervgala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear kervgala,

Thanks so much for the review! Great to hear you enjoyed the close proximity to many attractions from our hotel and the beautiful view from your room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cheers!
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just stayed at Hyatt for a wedding. Great location - close to restaurants, shopping and Pier 1. The ferry building has great coffee places, cheese shop, gluten-free bakery, market, etc. You can seat outside and watch the boats!
The room is good size, clean and has a coffee maker and a mini fridge. Our room was on 10th floor with the view of the city. Unfortunately you could hear traffic and unloading of trucks at night.
Concierge recommended Bike and Roll for biking to GG bridge. Not a good choice-3 different people were manning the booth. As a result we got charged for the lost keys that they didn't give to us in the first place! Also we asked for an express check out as we were leaving early after late night. No bill was delivered to the room!
For the price we expected a better service!

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms over Drumm str
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingelom, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spend 3 nights in this hotel. Great location (close to the pier, good neighbourhood), clean rooms. Really nice lobby with original elevators. Friendly staff. We didn`t have breakfast of dinner there, so no opinion about that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A small group of us stayed one night before and one night after a visit to Napa and Sonoma. The front desk staff couldn't have been any more welcoming. My only complaint was that when we arrived on the second night, there were no king bayview rooms which is what I made my reservation for. This was only at 6 pm so it was not because I was that late. My husband and I cannot sleep in double beds because we are too tall so our only option was to take another king room. The room we were given was at the very end of the hotel and was not as large or nice as the one we had the first night. We were charged the price for the bayview king room and though we were only there to sleep and get on the plane the next day, it was the principle that bothered me.

On a more positive note, Florence (concierge) tried her best to help me when I was distraught because the van company we rented a 15-passenger van from did not show up with the vehicle the first morning. We were finally able to work things out but she was very patient with me and called numerous companies to try to locate a replacement. I REALLY appreciated her help and concern.

I also lucked out and picked a fortune cookie from the jar on the front desk that gave us access to the Regency Club. The view was awsome since it was on the top floor with views of the bay. One suggestion....serve better red wine! The only choice was AWFUL and it would have still been horrible if we had NOT been tasting good wine all the previous week in Napa/Sonoma!! We would have been willing to pay for better wine -- especially with the great free food.

The staff was holding a silent auction for the Make a Wish Foundation the second night we were there and we were able to "win" a towne car" ride to the airport the next morning for only $40. Nice ending to our vacation!

The location was good and the staff was attentive and helpful. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent 6 nights at the beginning of September. After a long journey from the UK our check in was quick and friendly. The concierge staff were efficient and I would like to mention Ken in particular who helped us with a problem related to our transfer to the airport. The hotel was in a good location for people who enjoy observing city life, shopping and exploring the bay area. The only thing I could moan about (only a little moan) was the cost of wifi.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Don't get an adjoining room unless you require it as we could hear the guy next door talking on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMKGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#49 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,025 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#50 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing