We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #53 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wilmington, NC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good location and staff”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A small group of us stayed one night before and one night after a visit to Napa and Sonoma. The front desk staff couldn't have been any more welcoming. My only complaint was that when we arrived on the second night, there were no king bayview rooms which is what I made my reservation for. This was only at 6 pm so it was not because I was that late. My husband and I cannot sleep in double beds because we are too tall so our only option was to take another king room. The room we were given was at the very end of the hotel and was not as large or nice as the one we had the first night. We were charged the price for the bayview king room and though we were only there to sleep and get on the plane the next day, it was the principle that bothered me.

On a more positive note, Florence (concierge) tried her best to help me when I was distraught because the van company we rented a 15-passenger van from did not show up with the vehicle the first morning. We were finally able to work things out but she was very patient with me and called numerous companies to try to locate a replacement. I REALLY appreciated her help and concern.

I also lucked out and picked a fortune cookie from the jar on the front desk that gave us access to the Regency Club. The view was awsome since it was on the top floor with views of the bay. One suggestion....serve better red wine! The only choice was AWFUL and it would have still been horrible if we had NOT been tasting good wine all the previous week in Napa/Sonoma!! We would have been willing to pay for better wine -- especially with the great free food.

The staff was holding a silent auction for the Make a Wish Foundation the second night we were there and we were able to "win" a towne car" ride to the airport the next morning for only $40. Nice ending to our vacation!

The location was good and the staff was attentive and helpful. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,703
    1,540
    706
    264
    123
See reviews for
845
1,155
197
1,627
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent 6 nights at the beginning of September. After a long journey from the UK our check in was quick and friendly. The concierge staff were efficient and I would like to mention Ken in particular who helped us with a problem related to our transfer to the airport. The hotel was in a good location for people who enjoy observing city life, shopping and exploring the bay area. The only thing I could moan about (only a little moan) was the cost of wifi.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Don't get an adjoining room unless you require it as we could hear the guy next door talking on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMKGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A conference hotel in the architectural style of Stalin-discovers-concrete. Pretty it ain't and the balcony views look out on more of the same though you can see the Bay without standing on the wardrobe. Overnight parking rates are outrageous so don't even think about it unless you're one of the 1%. Breakfast can be eye-wateringly expensive too so try the Ferry Terminal nearby for something more reasonable. I've stayed here a couple of times and what it lacks in cosines and atmosphere it makes up for in business-like efficiency. The bathroom mirrors that deliver news and weather video streams are great fun - though not all rooms have these - and the knowledge of staff on the concierge desk is immense. Overall, it's a good place for a conference butit's a bit soulless if you're in SF for a getaway break.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newshound123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Check carefully and you can get great deals on weekends. I chose the AAA special which included a reduced price on the room (2 adults) plus the Hyatt breakfast buffet for free. The foyer is spectacular. Checking in was a quick process and the room was clean and spacious. The hotel is very close to transportation, to great shopping areas, and to the Ferry Farmer's Market (go early Saturday morning with a healthy appetite!!). 20 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf. I enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Floors on higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKJ_MOM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the 5-star review. We are delighted you enjoyed your weekend getaway with us. Sounds like check in was a breeze and you had a great time at the Ferry Building's Farmers Market! Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in September for a wedding. The staff was very friendly and efficient. We were able to get connecting rooms for our group which was very convenient. The rooms were spacious with big windows facing Drumm St (7th floor). The beds were comfortable. Our room had a small fridge (not full of mini-bar items) which we found very useful. There were lots of elevators and they were quick. The location of the hotel is excellent - right beside the BART station to get to the airport, the cable car next door, the Ferry building very closeby, Chinatown and Union Sq a 10-15 min walk, and lots of streetcars and buses to get around.

The only issues we had were the room rates were quite steep (even with a special group rate) but I guess to be expected for a high end hotel in downtown San Francisco and that wifi was not included in the pricey room rates. We would've also appreciated the use of a pool which they didn't have. Two other minor issues - we had a room facing Drumm street and the sound of the whistle for taxis used by the bellhop was quite audible even when the windows were closed, and the Occupy San Francisco site was just across from the hotel on Market St so there were homeless people wandering around nearby - I didn't feel unsafe or harassed but their presence was very noticible.

Overall we enjoyed our stay in this hotel but had it not been the designated hotel for the wedding I would probably have tried to stay somewhere with lower rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hello, we recently booked an overnight stay while doing some sightseeing and catching a football game. If you are driving your own vehicle there are a couple things to be forewarned about. We were using our phone GPS and spent quite some time getting to the hotel after getting within blocks due to traffic and directions. I know this is not the fault of the hotel but be prepared. Also in case you didn’t notice there is about a 50 dollar per day parking fee. After check out we discovered a parking garage is right next door at 20 per day. When entering the hotel you can’t help but notice the lobby, it was pretty impressive. Definitely a plus! We were given a room with "a view" but as other reviewers have noted you get a big building in front of you with a peak of the bay to the right or left depending. The room was clean and current. Bed was comfortable. I feel I must mention this because it’s the second time in a Hyatt this happened. Our TV was fuzzy and if you bumped it, it would clear until you bumped it again. Perhaps the Hyatt could invest in better wiring or TV's, not sure what the culprit was. The location was okay, we felt it was a little away from some of the key areas. This may be good or bad depending on what your wants are and with most Hyatt’s the feel was business over charm. Overall we were happy with our stay but I believe next time we may opt for hotel with a little more character to match the feel of San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear CaliLeo,

Thank you for your review and glad you had a good time in San Francisco. Hyatt is currently working on a huge project to upgrade the hotel in-room entertainment system and it will definitely have a better quality and experience for our guests. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is great. Wonderful and helpful staff. Great location near Pier 39. And their lobby is beautiful (one of the world's largest lobbies). The only complaint is that we had to walk quite a ways to our room, but the room view was well worth the walk. Our room was clean and very modern. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraf00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Lauraf00,

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed the location and our beautiful atrium lobby! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,163 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,903 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
438 reviews
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#47 of 229 in San Francisco
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing