We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the rate is cheap, then book away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #48 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were in SF for a work/pleasure trip for 4 nights and after doing lots of research, I found the Hyatt rate to be the most reasonable for the time we were there. As a Diamond Hyatt member, I spend lots of time in Hyatt properties and this is definitely not one I will revisit in the near future. The only positive out of the hotel would be the location and access to public transportation. . The first issue we had was when we arrived, I went to put a bottle of water in the mini-fridge and it was full of left over food from a previous guest! The smell was horrific. Otherwise, the rooms were the most outdated and worn that I've been in a long time. The black tile in the bathroom and the size of the shower was purely laughable - it was suitable for a 5 year old, except everytime I tried to open or close the glass door, I was convinced it was going to fall off the hinges. The mini-blinds in the bathroom were full of dust, there is not a sink with any counter space. Several times throughout our stay, we called down to the front desk to ask a few questions and were either put on hold immediately and left there (once for over 5 minutes!!!) and another time they didn't even answer! Again, as a Diamond member, this was becoming more and more funny to me. We did have access to the Regency Club - the views were nice, but we really didn't use it much as we wanted to enjoy the restaurants in SF. If the room rates were cheaper, I could understand but for what rates were going for during our stay, I'm sad to say we chose the wrong place. When the hotel undergoes some renovations/improvements, we will definitely be back, but for the time being, check out some other newer renovated properties in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We pride ourselves in providing great service to our guests and clearly we fall short this time. Please accept our sincere apologies.

A private message has been sent to you to gather more information on your stay. Please kindly reply to us, so that we can improve and avoid the similar situation from happening again.

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,484)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,404 - 3,410 of 4,485 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

Week end with friends in SFO.
Great location, across from the Ferry building. Handy for eating and the market.Bart is at your door step so very easy access from the airport.California cable car line also at your door to get around town.
Hotel is large with huge atrium, fast elevators to clean comfortable rooms.Gym on site is very nice loads of cardio equipment , but no pool/sauna or steam.
Had an issue with pigeons in the room when we got back on night ( window was shut, 2 pigeons inside room, feathers and poop on carpet???) how did they get in if the window was shut? mystery! Resolved promptly by very courteous hotel staff and moved in minutes to a new room.
Overall would recommend for location and great price from hotwire.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaypeaDeltaBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear kaypeaDeltaBc,

Thank you kindly for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time in San Francisco. Our convenient location to public transportation and Ferry Building is definitely unbeatable. At Hyatt, it is our goal to provide quick and efficient to our guests, so I am particular happy to hear our staff was able to assist you with your needs promptly. Your recommendation is our greatest compliment! We look forward to see you soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We were here for a week for a conference. Our suite was clean, comfortable and had a wonderful view (but outdated decor). Links to public transportation are perfect. For those who wish to avoid the internet charge, there's a Starbucks right across the street. Ferry Terminal with its great food market and restaurants across another street. Impressive lobby. Great staff, including polite, excellent cleaning people. There was a strike going on, but it basically provided street theatre and did not impact guests or quality of stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerTrish75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear TravelerTrish73,

Thank you for kindly for your review. I am particular happy to read your comment about our staffs who provided great service to you and I will definitely share your compliment with my team. Thank you again for your 4-star review. Please come back and see us again!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Priceline picked this hotel for us and we got a heck of a deal.
Great location and within walking distance from a lot of things and a short trolley ride to Fisherman's Wharf.
The lobby of the hotel is impressive and the service was curteous.
The room was okay for a Hyatt. It was as expected. One could observe that the hotel had been there for a while. It wasn't the nicest of rooms. It was clean, but older.
You can grab the BART (train system) to and from the Airport, and there's a stop a block from the Hyatt.
**TAKE NOTICE - We had a VERY hard time finding a cab at Fisherman's Wharf after 9PM. You may want to get familiar with the trolley system.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ezra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Dear Ezra,

Thank you kindly for your review and for sharing the tip about transportation from Fisherman's Wharf after 9 p.m.! We are pleased you enjoyed your visit in San Francisco. Our hotel lobby is indeed very impressive and it is the largest atrium hotel in the world! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

All the best,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency in the financial district of San Francisco for business and pleasure..
Pros: Location
Impressive Lobby
Polite employees. Concierge was great!
Cons: Drab outdated rooms
Outdated Bathroom
No spa / pool on site
I did enjoy my stay but it would have been a much more positive experience if the room was more stylish and the bathroom was updated. I expected more from a Hyatt as far as the decor.in the rooms.

Room Tip: the elevators and only located at one location on the floor and there are a lot of rooms per floor s...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary_buys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear Mary_buys,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our convenient location! We strive to provide the best hotel experience for our guests and we apologize for the disappointment on the outdated room's decor. I hope this will not deter you from visiting us again. Your comment is greatly appreciated and I have shared them with my management team to review.

Sincerely yours,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Perfect! I was only in SF for 2 nights and this was central enough to enjoy all the sights of SF, plus it was just a 30 second walk to the main ferry terminal.
The rooms were spotless and incredibly comfortable. Of course this is a very large hotel but despite that the staff were great and it didn't feel too impersonal.
I didn't pay for my stay here (I was treated) so cannot comment on the value but it is certainly somewhere I would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissLinus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear MissLinus2000,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review! I'm glad you had the opportunity to explore San Francisco during your short stay with us. I must agree our hotel has the ideal location and amazing view of the pier! We look forward to welcome you back in the near future for a longer stay with us!

Truly yours,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Embarcadero for four nights while I attended a conference.
The location is central to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 and Union Square.
The BART station is right outside the door, as is the Embarcadero cable car stop.
My comfy room was overlooking the ice skating rink.
The hotel itself is huge, and the staff was attentive and hard-working. Christmas atmosphere was so excited ! You have to know - Internet access is $9.95 per day. There is Gym but unfortunately, no spa or swimming pool.
Anyway, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evakama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear evakama,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us back in December 2011. I have to agree with you our location is ideal and easy access to many attractions! Our staffs will appreciate your compliments when we share your comment with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Truly yours,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
4,756 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,310 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,965 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#25 of 229 in San Francisco
5,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $209 - $789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing