We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice Marriott” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #54 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice Marriott”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The same as pretty much all Marriott Hotels, they have their act together.
Nice concierge.
Trivial issue with rooms at check in. Not worth mentioning except for fact that when check-in person (manager?) found out about issue and that we were in town for anniversaries and birthdays, he comped drinks for each of us.

Rooms clean, well-maintained. Nice decor. Good security.

Like I said...they have their act together.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMaskedPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    445
    152
    25
    16
See reviews for
440
272
23
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had to check out almost as quickly as I checked in. The rooms have box a/c units and there is a very strong musty odor. I changed rooms twice and both rooms had the smell, triggering my mold allergy. Fortunately the Marriott a block away had rooms available and matched the price the Courtyard did not charge for the cancellation.

The staff was courteous and the location is right on the Wharf (which is probably noisy?).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avaya109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because I got a great deal. The hotel is very good overall, but the best part is the location. San Francisco is not the easiest place to drive around. Fortunately, staying here reduces the need to drive. Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, and a lot of other things are within walking distance, which makes the hotel very desirable. My only complaint was that I asked for additional sugar and creamer for the coffee maker in my room (there wasn't enough provided), and it took the better part of an hour for it to be brought to me. It's a minor complaint, but it was still an annoyance.

Overall, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzSinger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Let me start by saying, don't stay near Fisherman's Wharf, stay in another area and travel down, unless you are there just one night. There are many attractions in the area, but it still remains very seedy. The Courtyard was very clean, spacious and comfortable and we were happy to be here compared to the others we walked past. I was woken several times during the night from fights outside and drunks, but this wasn't the Marriott's fault. We had a nice suite that was nice to have with kids and I can't fault the hotel at all, just the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraC47588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
243 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family stayed at this Marriott for 3 nights due to the location & appreciated being within walking distance of the wharf, Alcatraz boat, sightseeing, & restaurants, so it was ideal for us in many ways. We were able to walk, catch a cable car, and see a lot on foot from this location. The hotel was clean and the staff was helpful. The downside is the expense and the fact that the hotel transitioned to the onsite Starbucks for breakfast, which closed early at 9a.m. on weekdays & 10a.m. on weekends. While the staff there did their best, the limited staff and hours made getting breakfast (or even coffee) challenging. As this hotel is in a tourist area, better service in this regard would be an upgrade and also for towels to be more readily available for multiple guests in a room. They were friendly when we asked each day, yet notes to housekeeping for more than 3 towels (for 4 adults) were not helpful. The room was clean & beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kattriprevus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We wanted to watch some of the action on America's Cup and this was a great hotel for that. Do not expect a sea view, but the location is very good indeed. It is a walking distance from all the best that maritime SFO can offer. Good harbour cruises, Duck tours and the AC village. There are "normally" priced stores and restaurants all around and the service in the hotel was good and the rooms were good size.......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erkki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although the physical condition of the hotel itself was nothing special, it is in a great location and the staff was very helpful and welcoming. Easy walk to the wharf. Lots of places to eat close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rvornbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#68 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 580 Beach St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Courtyard Fishermans Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco
San Francisco Courtyard
San Francisco Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing