We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, and Leesa!”
Review of San Francisco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Francisco Inn
Ranked #145 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Little worried by some of the reviews, but those disappeared when I met the. Smiling face of Leesa, helpful and cheerful. Took me to Roos, which was small, (which I expected), but really clean, which I'd only hoped.free parking and excellent rates (for SF), plus just a few blocks from transit = a great stay.

One final word....management needs to give Leesa, the night clerk, a raise. Full of help, and always a smile... first San Franciscan I met. Set my trip off on a great note.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

At first, I was disappointed to see a small room for the price we payed for it. But it was not bad experience at all. We arrived around midnight there and found that lights were not working in the washroom. The lady at front desk was quick to respond and shifted us to another room.
Breakfast is limited. We preferred using public transportation and were pleased to find bus stop in the front of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerRijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was apprehensive about staying here, thinking it would be shabby and a bit rough around the edges, however I was pleasantly surprised. True our room was small but it had everything we needed and was very clean. We were worried about being able to park because it was on a first come basis, we didn't arrive until 7pm and had no problem. It is a noisy street and a 20 minute walk to the cable car terminus and there is nowhere nearby to eat BUT in a very expensive city it was just fine for our two night stay. Breakfast was limited and served in the small lobby so no option but to take it to your room on a tray but I was pleased to see fresh orange juice which was lacking in some of the other places we stayed on this trip. I think we would spend a little more next time to be in a better location, but no real complaints

Room Tip: Would be quieter towards the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed on may 2014 and it was great, reasonable price, clean, comfortable room, people in the front desk very helpful and friendly, location very convenient, the breakfast good. I have no complaints about this inn, and if I come back to San Francisco definitely would like to stay there again because is cheap but nice. Perfect if you are looking a place only for B&B

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I booked three rooms at four nights for my company & crew. We were spread out on two floors. I entered two of three rooms and found them both to be clean and up to date, with "No funny smells." It's San Francisco, so parking is always tight. Our company cars X2 had covered, on-site parking. Also had a large work truck that was too big to fit in covered parking. We had no trouble finding street parking right in front each evening after returning from the job. Parking is not metered after 6pm. Just remember to pick the side of the street that isn't having early morning street cleaning. We walked North four blocks to Market Street and grabbed the "F" Trolley Car (Trolley's all Restored from the 40's-60's past) for 2-bucks each. Dropped at Fisherman's Wharf and even had transfers for a free ride back up Market Street for later. Staff was great, especially Jasmine & Lisa, both ladies knew the INN and surrounding areas, such as restaurants and activities. Great Stay. Thanks-David

Room Tip: Right off the 5th Street exit 2a, heading South West from SFO Bay Bridge. Just West four block and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Facility is a little tired, but clean, comfortable and the staff is great. Lack of elevator is probably the only downside and parking can be tight. Would def stay there again. not too far out the way, and only a $8.00 cab ride to center of town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Marsi S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
419 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
219 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#100 of 230 in San Francisco
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
512 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#166 of 230 in San Francisco
690 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Inn

Address: 385 9th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $106 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Francisco Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer cozy & comfortable rooms right in the heart of the city! Stay in the HAPPENING part of San Francisco at very affordable prices!Fisherman's wharf, Golden Gate, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, ect are just few of the names of fun places near our hotel. Are you on a family vacation? Restaurants, museums, parks and every thing your family needs to stay entertained. Are you on a business trip? Need to relax and unwind after a long day? You are at the perfect place! Trendy hangouts are just around the corner! We offer a single queen and double queen rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your San Francisco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Francisco (Civic Center) Hotel San Francisco
Vagabond Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing