We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nice views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #76 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value and nice views”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Got a good price for a weekend stay including breakfast. Check-in was quick, although the reception area was always crammed with people. Got a renovated room on the 25th floor with nice views to the west. The room was a bit small, had two queen beds, a long desk along the panoramic windows, flatscreen tv, old noisy AC and a fridge. Bathroom felt a bit old, but everything was very clean.

Reception and common areas are a bit outdated. Buffet breakfast was served in a convention-hall, plenty to choose from and big variety of hot foods - scrambed eggs, pancakes, sausage etc. Pleasant and personal service.

Parking is a robbery at $40 a night! There are a couple of garages in the surrounding area where you can park for $10-15 all day. Night-time street parking is free and we had no problems finding a spot close to the hotel.

The hotel is conveniently located right next to the end of the California tram line and within walking distance to Noob hill.

Room Tip: High floor, renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halvklart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
I’m glad you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms, and how well Housekeeping is caring for them. The reception, restaurant, and common areas will be just as nice in a few short weeks. We couldn’t be more excited about our renovation and the reaction we’re getting from guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    848
    432
    106
    63
See reviews for
453
620
126
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Really great place to stay. Front desk was always friendly and helpful especially when we had a late checkout on our day of departure. Pool was a bonus on really hot days too.
The location is really good despite being someway from the major attractions. We got the citywide bus, tram, cable car pass for $30 which was for 7 days. We caught the cable cars every day and the no. 47 bus outside the hotel takes you to either Fishermans Wharf at one end or to the AT&T Stadium at the other end.

Room Tip: Try to get higher up. If you absolutely want a sea view then book the corner suites but every room s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Front Desk service is integral to the overall success of a hotel. Thank you for mentioning how well they served you on your visit. I’m happy that you are also sharing so many great travel tips with other potential guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Checked in late afternoon on Fri 2 Msy 2014. Had read the positive reviews on TripAdvisor about how great the customer service is.
But upon first hand experience I must say I got the complete opposite customer service.
We checked in as part of a tour group. After almost 4 weeks on separate tours and staying at many fine hotels...I found the customer service here THE WORSE!!!
After finding out room on the 9th floor we found that we only had one glass. Also we were not advised of the free wifi password. I also needed some help with transpirt iptions in San Fran as this is my first time in this city.
As I had yhese 3 matters to attend to. I went back down to reception (@ approx 5.15pm). I was "assisted" by an asian lady who seemed very disinterested and quite dismissive. I asked for the extra glass first and she was quite rude about this. I then asked about the wifi and she was again assisted with a begrudging manner. As for my 3rd request about some info on transport...this must have put her over the edge as she practically shooed me away from the countet advibsing me "I can't help you with that" and that I had to go to the concierge abd pointed me to that direction and turned her back to me (a sign of get lost).
I then went to the concierge as I was directed and he too seemed annoyed that I dared to ask him for assistance. I asked him for assistance on how best to get to the farmers market. I was advised the costly option of the cable car and given a map and pretty much shooed out. I then asked him "are you having a bad day" in reference to his attitude!!!
To top it off...after returning up back to my room, my roommste advised we are one towel short. Do I rang the housekeeping number as I was too tired to go bacj down to reception.
The phone call continued the pattern of poor customer service. The lady who picked up was very abrupt. I asked for the extra towel and also mentioned again the missing glass (as I wasn't confident about the girl in reception). Housekeeping then started to argue that there are glasses in the room. That there are 2 next to the ice bucket. So she presumed that I hadn't had a good look prior to calling. I advised her one glass and next to it a plastic lid. She then advised me that she'll have someone bring up the glass and towel. I then asked how long it would take as we were planninv to go out to dinner soon. The answer was one of annoyance and that it depends on how long ut takes via lift.
I'm so veyond disappointed by the customer service but the saving grace wax that within 5 mins a lovely mature gentlemen bought up the glasses and towel.
So lesson is that if you need anything you will be treated as an annoyance. Just book, pay, check in and shut up. Thankyou Holiday Inn Golden Gate fir such a lesson!!!
Hopefully the next 2 nights will be less eventful!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank acandi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Clearly the initial impression of our hotel is poor. This gives us many issues to address. I will also make sure the Houseman hears about his excellent service. Since your review was written with a few nights left in your stay, I would be most interested in hearing about the reminder of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Check in was a breeze. Room was clean and very comfortable as well as had a great view. Only had one minor problem, bath tub was clogged. However, as soon as we called a tech came out and quickly fixed that. Thanks!

Front desk was very polite, cleaning ladies very sweet and on top of things.

Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for such a kind review. It’s especially exciting to hear about prompt and courteous service from multiple departments. We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed for 9 days and found the location perfectly situated for sight seeing and shopping. Staff were very good and very helpful when asked for directions or resturant locations. The on site cafe marlette we found to be very good and the staff were exceptional. The rooms were clean and comfortable and housekeeping staff did an exceptional job. We found the street behind the hotel "Polk Street" to be the place to find resurants of all types. For local groceries go to the Golden Veggie Market on polk just behind the hotel. Cable car stop is next to the hotel on California street. We also found the concierge/gift shop to be very helpfull when buying tickets or passes.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor if possible, we were on the 19th but still heard the sirens all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limeyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
You mentioned so many great elements of our hotel that I hardly know where to begin. Thank you! Besides the location and nearby restaurants, I am truly thrilled that you were taken care of by so many of our staff. We look forward to taking such good care of you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Clean and comfortable rooms. Located right on the famous cable car line. Staff was kind and helpful. Room service was delivered promptly and was quite tasty as well. Bottom line...it's clean, in a good location, and has good rates. Would recommend. Ask for a room on the higher floors for a good view of the city.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AshandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Clean rooms make a big difference. I’m happy that Housekeeping made you feel comfortable and the rates were just right. Value, cleanliness, and friendly staff, what more could you ask for?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The rooms are lovely, and the location quite handy as it is by a cable-car stop and within walking distance of downtown. The disappointing parts are the swimming pool - tiny, and on a cold breezy terrace on the 6th floor, and the gym - again, tiny, in a dingy basement room, with a few bits of ancient equipment and very little ventilation. The restaurant is currently being refurbished, so meals were served in a conference room which resembled a staff canteen - not exactly the atmosphere you want when you are on holiday in what is supposed to be a dream location......

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room near the lifts - you can hear them through the walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireGypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
You would be right that our pool is not Olympic sized, however it is kept at 82 degrees on a deck overlooking the city. Fortunately, the new fitness room is opening in mid-May. It will open onto the pool deck and will include all new equipment in a substantial space. The restaurant should follow suit a month later. I wish that you had enjoyed your experience. Hopefully you will find our renovations to your liking on another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,536 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#120 of 229 in San Francisco
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing