We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The City of the Cable Cars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #75 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed for a couple nights en route to London. Just for business so did not do the Tourist thing. Check in was efficient. Staff very friendly. Not too much expected being a family hotel. The place is a little tired but very clean. Rooms quite big compared with other Holiday Inns I have stayed in.
Buffet breakfast not up to much but this could have been because there appaired to be renovations going on. I would stay again as it is central to where I have to be in San Francisco.
It is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLeodnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for mentioning two of the big factors in a positive hotel experience; friendly staff and good value. We look forward to your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,928 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed in the Holiday Inn for one night. The bedding is great but the room I stayed in could use some updates (heater and curtains aren't that nice).

The Staff were great! They gave me early check-in which was awesome. Next, I returned to my room around 11pm, I was right beside the elevator (try not to book there) and when I complained about the noise they let me move. The Staff were all super super pleasant and friendly at every encounter, really great service.

Bedding is great, it's nice how they give you the optional of hard or soft pillows.

Location was good. It's not that close, but if you're a runner, you can run all the way down to the Golden Gate bridge (about 15 km round trip). Union Square is maybe 20 minutes walking. It's not the most central hotel, but for the price, it's great.

I started in a room on the 9th floor and there was no ipod dock. My room on the 12th floor did have a dock.

Room Tip: Get a floor that is 12th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

It's always fantastic to hear about quality service. I'm happy to hear that the Front Desk helped you with an early check-in and changed your room during your stay. You'll be happy to hear that we are replacing all of our A/C units. Next time you stay with us, look for the roll down blackout shade behind the linen curtains. They will block out almost every bit of light! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hotel is located at the end of the tram line which is very convenient for getting downtown and other connecting trams/transportation. easy to find from the airport. Parking was expensive but is anywhere in SF, if you dont mind a short walk ask for off site parking this will save a few dollars if you on a budget. The rooms are dated and are in need of some updating, typical 60's-70's size rooms. The bed was ok however the pillows were comprable to hospital pillows basically non existant. we did like the limited elevator access swipe card only access (dont forget it if you go out). Pricey, other hotels we looked into while in SF for the same pricing had better rooms. Easy access to many places to eat within a short walk if you dont mind a few hills.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Gavin W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was a pretty nice and clean holiday inn. It was nothing special in my opinion beyond the normal Holiday Inn experience. But, it was consistent with my experience of other Holiday Inns. Which is to say that the room was appropriately furnished, comfortable, and clean. I liked the more centralized location from other Hotels I have stayed at in San Fran but it depends on where you are heading. I was heading to the Moscone center.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crash1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

I agree that this is a central location to so many of the attractions in SF. Like you did, we have quite a few guests staying with us this week who are attending a convention at the Moscone Center. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was our second city for our USA honeymoon trip. It is a lovely city, and I love the Golden State Warriors.

The hotel was quite close to everything (resturants, groccery shopping, transport, gas station). Not all staff at the front desk are nice (especially the eldly Asian lady at the front desk, she was horrible). It was our honeymoon trip, so the hotel actually gave us a huge room. However, it was so close to the elevator that you couldn't sleep at all at night time. The next day we ask for a quiter room, it was done within seconds (EXCELLENT SERVICE MANAGER).

On the second last day of the stay "Ru Paster" the front office manager actually gave us complimentary platter with champgne as part of saying thanks for choosing them as part of our honeymoon. I got to say, the only hotel that actually did something for our 33 days USA honeymoon trip!! EXCELLENT again...

The only cons side of this hotel is most of the front counter staff are the wrost one out of all the hotels that I stayed.

Room Tip: Rooms are actually quite large Free Wi-Fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee17168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

He might just be the best manager in the city, if I do say so myself! It was an honor to help make your honeymoon just a little bit more special. Hopefully, this type of event doesn't come around too often so it's worth a celebration! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had 3 nights in a corner room on 22nd floor. Amazing views watching Alcatraz with the sun setting and rising. Good room facilities including safe and fridge. Enjoyed the local restaurants, free wifi and location. Clean and a lovely ending to our stay in San Fran.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 30Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

We sure appreciate your comments here. You are right out the local restaurants. Polk Street gives us so many great choices within walking distance. Please choose our hotel again on your next visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here on a tour with 45 other people and we all liked it a lot.

PROS:
- Close to restaurants, public transport.
- Lovely staff and very, very helpful.
- Clean rooms with comfortable beds.

CONS:
- They only had one 1 washing machine and 1 dryer which made it quite difficult to wash clothes when your sharing with the rest of the hotel.
- They only supplied us with one room key for each room which made it difficult and inconvenient.
- You could only order room service from 5pm-10pm (around there) which was a bit annoying when wanting a midnight snack and room service not being open.

I would definitely stay here again when I come back to San Francisco. I recommend getting a room from the 9th floor up to get a better view. (The rooms start from level 5)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Helpful staff and clean, comfortable rooms make such a big difference. I'm a little surprised with the key issue. We can make as many keys as you need and should have provided 2 upon checkin. I will be sure to follow up on this. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,091 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
1,053 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $146 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing