We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #76 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Noisy air conditioning”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely view of city and a nice large room but very noisy air condition and refrigerator.
Reported the air conditioning and was told it was sorted out but it could only be used for short periods of time and NOT at night. Sounded like a 40t truck in the room. Shame as the rest was reasonable.

Room Tip: do not get a room near the elevators, can be heard all the time, we were two rooms away and could st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
The thought of you suffering through the night with a loud A/C unit is disturbing to me. We have replaced many of these units, but clearly not enough of them. I will be speaking with our Engineering team in order to address this issue. Attentive service and a restful visit are the pillars of a quality hotel. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    846
    431
    106
    63
See reviews for
450
618
126
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is great for visitors to the city - well placed for getting round by foot or cable car. Rooms have been updated recently, decor was beautiful. Clean rooms and really quiet on a night.

Bar has great atmosphere and bar meals were great.

Buffet breakfast is good at hotel, and there are lots of other choices for food around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. Since the rooms were recently renovated, it’s great to hear how much you enjoyed them. I will be sharing your remarks with the restaurant and bar as well. You’re welcome here anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Location
This hotel is strategically located near the tourist areas but they are not really walking distances. You need to take local transpo such as cable cars and buses but the hotel is very near the stops for these types of transpo so it is very convenient. Not being very near the tourist areas is a plus for me since there are fewer homeless people around the area.

Service
The service is fine for me. No hassles encountered upon check in and check out and all the specs were followed.

Cleanliness
The hotel may not be very new but the rooms and furnishings are well maintained. The bathroom works well and is likewise clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrose1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
The hotel may not be new, but all of the rooms were just renovated. Up next, the restaurant and health club get a complete makeover! Thanks for recognizing the Front Desk staff and the efficient check-in. We’d love to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I am a business traveler and frequently do business in San Francisco. By frequent, I mean I travel to San Francisco about 40 times a year. We (my company) has us stay at this hotel because of the corporate rate. This is one of the only locations in San Francisco that comes in under our budget. Therefore, I have stayed at this hotel roughly 35-40 times.

Pros: Cost of hotel, proximity to restaurants and bars, proximity to a MUNI stop, nice room service staff, hotel has a large bar/restaurant, part of the IHG loyal rewards program, nice views from higher floors.

Cons:
It has taken the front desk and bell staff nearly 6 months to remember who I am;
Not all the rooms are cleaned equally (this week there was underwear left in the bathroom from the previous tenant);
Not friendly for business travelers (this is more of a tourist hotel, which is odd since this is not a hotel within walking distance from tourist attractions);
The gift shop requires a $10 purchase to use a credit card;
Very difficult to get a taxi near this hotel (walk a few streets down to have a better chance);

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Your return business is an important part of our success and I’m happy that we were able to find a mutually beneficial agreement with your company. Feedback from regular guests provides a useful insight into our service and operations. When you mentioned that we are not business-traveler friendly, perhaps you were speaking to the gift shop credit card minimums and taxi availability. I agree that taxi service in this town is well below acceptable levels. It would be fantastic if we could have a taxi stand that was always stocked, but it’s hard enough to get a cab to wait a couple of minutes for a guest to come down from their room. On your next visit, please allow us to hail the cab for you. Simply speak with a bellman or Front Desk agent and we will go outside and bring one to you. Another option that is gaining widespread appeal are the apps such as Uber, Flywheel, and Lyft which schedule cabs using a smart phone. Thank you for taking the time to give us an update of your on-going experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st helens
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour across America. Good location right next to the cable car line so had no difficulty getting on one. Clean hotel with friendly staff. We had a corner room which was very nice. We had made a request for a high floor but this could not be accomodated but on our last night there was a lovely surprise in our room to help us celebrate our special event. Thank you it was really very thoughtful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernlass04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
I’ve heard so many great tales about that tour. It sounds like the most amazing trip, especially when you have something special to celebrate. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was here in August for 3 nights and I enjoyed it, My room was clean had a nice view of the sunset from my room, The check in staff were friendly and helpful, I had no problems with the elevators and I was in and out every day...

Great location to transport as they have a bus stop across the road for coming back to the Hotel and one just on the corner down from where the hotel is, that goes down Van Ness Ave. which only costs 2 1 dollar notes, There is also a cable car which is very close by too... You can buy day passes from the Gift shop inside the Hotel which includes Buses, Cable cars, which covers all of the main parts of San Francisco..

I found the two ladies that worked in the Gift shop extremely helpful ! Also if you are after a great breakfast or lunch do try New Village Cafe located on Polk street which is only a 5 min. walk as the food is great and very affordable !!

Overall my stay here was Great and I would recommend this Hotel to my Family & Friends !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller69692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Mmm, I love it when guests recommend great places to eat. We sure appreciate so many thoughtful remarks. Potential guests can learn so much from reading reviews about the passes you mentioned, the renovated rooms, and the staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here sometime ago on the 25th floor facing the Pacific. Whilst not the best hotel in town, it's position at the end of the Californa Line gives it at envious position. Our trips into town travelling up and over Nob Hill were fantastic. Add to it that the hotel sits on the fire line from the 1906 earthquake (Van Ness Ave) it all adds up to a great, affordable place to stay. You can just see the Golden Gate Bridge through the other buildings, and if facing the pacific you can marvel at the mist rolling in through the streets, all the better when high up. The restaurant around the corner, made out of an old cable car serves great food.

P.S. the date specified is incorrect, I stayed here in 2000, but the system does not allow me to enter anything earlier.

Room Tip: If staying here, ask for a room level 20 and above, views are great no matter which way you face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesKeggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Don’t worry, reviews get better with age. Although I think 13 years may set a record. The history and location do make this a unique spot. It’s also the only cable car stop without long lines. I believe the restaurant you’re speaking of is Portuguese, and it’s called the Grubstake. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#57 of 229 in San Francisco
4,507 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, IHG, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing