We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed's nice..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #78 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bed's nice..”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The bed was the best thing about this Holiday Inn..

Check in service was ok and basically the only service revived in five days.

Rooms are clean even though they maybe a little tired/old.. Beds are new and very nice, even though the linen has seen better days.
Aircon was bad, really noisy and only seamed to do cold or very cold..

The hotel is a bit out of the way if you want to be in town or by the harbour.. About a 30min walk..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
I'm happy to hear that the rooms were clean and the beds were just what you wanted. It can be worth the effort to leave a hotel if those factors cannot be met. Your thoughts on the age of the room confused me as we just finished remodeling all of them. Perhaps something in particular caught your attention. We would love to hear if we overlooked something along the way. The idea that one of our A/C units is loud and inefficient does not sit well with me. I will be sure that our Engineering team revisits this issue. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    813
    412
    104
    61
See reviews for
431
591
122
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel was great, perfect location. We were in San Fran for the first time so this hotel was perfect. We could walk or take public transportation anywhere and it was in a very safe location. However, the best aspect to to this hotel is the concierge, Aida. Not only was she helpful in pointing us in the right direction, showing and telling us exactly how to get somewhere,she truly helped us find the best deals in the city. Aida called multiple car rental shops to find us the best deals and needed up saving us hundreds of dollars. Aida also knew exactly what she was talking about. It was very clear that she had been and seen all of the places we wanted to explore and she gave us incredible advice. I would stay at this hotel again just for Aida. The next tom

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanfrancisco22479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Welcome to San Francisco! We are so happy that you chose our hotel for your first visit. I would be more than happy to talk about all of the great features that you mentioned about this hotel, but this is all about Aida. We are lucky to have her here. Hotel's can be clean, safe, and in perfect locations, but without the special staff, it's just another building. I can't wait to share your feeling with her. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location. Able to explore the city in all directions, easily and quickly. Having the cable car stop at the intersection made things that much easier. Staff was helpful and plentiful.
Only down side was transit back to the airport, outsourced service. Driver rude, not a smooth transition from hotel back to airport. Bart was cheaper and actually more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Found the room to be fairly quiet. "View Room" on the west side had a nice view and could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 194MarkG194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
This is just what reviews are for. I wouldn't have heard about your shuttle experience any other way. Thank you for taking the time to let me know. Our experience with them is usually quite positive. However, you mentioned a great alternative. A short bus or taxi ride will connect BART to the hotel. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway with my teenage daughter in August, 2013. The hotel is located on California and Van Ness, which is at one end of the California cable car line. This line takes you through China town and to the financial district. The front desk, housekeeping, and bell staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean with a great view of the city. The hotel has a laundry room in the hotel, which is located near the pool. I was able to do a load of laundry and swim while I was waiting. The pool is small, about 20 yards, but big enough to do some laps. It is not on the roof, but it still has a great view of the city. The only average part of our experience was the dining room. The food was good, but the wait staff were loud and two of them got in a fight in the dining room while we were there. Overall, I would recommend the hotel for its location, price, and rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCB0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
You found the best Cable car stop. I like to ride it up and over Nob Hill and down towards the waterfont before taking a ferry ride. Your visit sounds like a memorable visit with your daughter. We should recommend your multi-tasking idea to other guests; swimming and laundry! Thanks for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a quad room for 2 adults and 2 teenage children, the room size was fairly small so we were quite cramped. views and location were great, especially being at the terminus of the tramway! We took the breakfast buffet ONCE, food was ok, but found the 90 dollar bill(once tips and tax added)very high, especially as we didn't eat very much! all in all a good experience though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaqattak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
You're absolutely right, the tramway (Cable car) is ideal for getting around the city. It allows us to be away from all of the other tall buildings, which in turn makes it possible to offer great views. I'm happy that you enjoyed both the location and the view. I also understand that feeding an entire family in the hotel can be expensive. The price you mentioned seems to reflect the full buffet for four people. If we are lucky enough to have your business again in the future, I hope the breakfast package (Room and breakfast) works better for your family. Guests also have the choice of a continental breakfast or ordering off the menu, both of which are more economical. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Although not the fanciest interior the Hotel is very clean, comfortable and a good place to stay for a few days if you visit San Francisco. Especially the staff is very friendly and helpful. Even when you have unusual requests they were extremely supportive. We walked to Fisherman's Wharf but there is a bus stop near the Hotel and you can take the bus as well to visit all the usual spots.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noble1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
It's one thing to have a clean hotel, but it's an entirely different matter to have staff dedicated to providing service that goes above and beyond. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived at this location and an error had been made on the reservation. The check-in person not only corrected the mistake but upgraded our stay to one of the top floors. The View was AMAZING! If you can afford the extra money (about $25.00 a night) we thought it was well worth it. We could see Alcatraz from our room.

My boys were craving cheese cake so we stopped by the lounge and they both said it was excellent. We were able to get trolley car tickets in the store off the lobby and hopped on the trolley car just out the front door.

The parking was expensive $40.00 per night, but it was great to be able to get in and out as we needed. Talking to other people it sounded like rates in that area run $30.00 to $40.00 a night everywhere.

Room Tip: ask for a view of Alcatraz
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetravel4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
I love to hear when the staff responds to problems and provide exemplary solutions and service. Each vacation and hotel will experience different issues, but it's in the solution that we remember whether the trip was a positive one or not. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 227 in San Francisco
957 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
1,292 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#122 of 227 in San Francisco
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing