We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the center and a cable car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #75 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights, and found the hotel okay. The cable car was around the corner. Weel sized rooms but no refrigerator. Rooms at frontside of hotel can have a problem with streetnoise during the night. Breakfast is OK. Free wifi. The bar/restaurant will do for a quick snack.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank keesva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. I was surprised to read your comments since we have refrigerators in each room. We would love to have the opportunity to take care of you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,928 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is our favorite place to stay in SF. It is centrally located - right near a cable car line. Parking on site with in/out privileges ($40 night). I would advise this if you have a vehicle, for street parking is scarce in this area. The rooms are all recently redone with new colors, new beds and furnishings. Very nice! Try to get a room on the "Bay Side." The view is better, although the rooms on the "City Side" overlook more of the city. Corner rooms, although a bit more pricey, are worth it if you want a good view.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the "Bay side" for the best view of the bay. A corner room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

It's very kind of you to share your great experience with others. We would be honored to have you stay with us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in late May 2013 as part of a coach tour. Our room was on the 15th floor with great views over the city, and two very comfortable queen size beds with a choice of pillows. The last time we were in San Francisco we stayed on Fisherman's Wharf and I much preferred staying at the Golden Gateway as most of the city was in walking distance (if you are reasonably fit as the city is very hilly!). We also bought a 3 day Muni pass in the hotel gift shop for $22 which gave us unlimited use of buses, streetcars and cable cars, and I recommend this as the California street cable car stop is just round the corner from the hotel and as single journeys are $6 whatever the distance you only need a couple of return journeys to be in credit. There are lots of restaurants and coffee shops in easy walking distance, and a superb Wholefoods market across the road for milk, snacks etc. The room had a fridge and safe which were very useful. Hotel staff very friendly and everything was very clean. We didn't use the bar, restaurant or pool but others on our tour said they were of a high standard. If we are lucky enough to return to San Francisco in the future we would stay at the Golden Gateway again with no hesitation.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank GOJStockport_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with the staff. They always enjoy hearing when all of the hard work pays off. We would welcome you back here anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is a little out of town, but there is a bus stop for the No 47 right outside and the California Street cable car is just 2 minutes away - ideal for access to the seafront. The staff were very friendly and quickly fixed the problem with our bath plug. The rooms are pretty standard for a HI and were clean and fresh. We were on the 17th floor, so no problems at all with noise.There is also a large supermarket (organic foods) across the street and a short walk up California Street. The bar is quite large and had a range of beers and wines, which were a little expensive. No-one seemed to use the restaurant except for breakfast, but there is a large variety of bars and restaurants along Polk Street. Overall this hotel is fine, without being exceptional.

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreevasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

It’s great to hear that the staff responded quickly to your needs. Thank you for staying with us. I agree that the buses and cable cars make it easy to get around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was told that I would be able to park at the hotel and check in early. I arrived at 8am and the parking lot was full. I was told to find parking in the street. Keep in mind they charge $45 a night to park. Then I was told that my room would not be ready till 3:30pm. Also, I asked if I could get wifi in the lobby to do work on my laptop. The front desk said not until I check in will they give the code. So, I had no room, no parking and no wifi. I will never stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmyjoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

It certainly sounds like the communication was less than perfect. Since check-in doesn't begin until after 3pm, our staff could have done a better job of advising you on the chances of an early room. I would have certainly made room in our garage for a hotel guest, and I am sorry we did not have an opportunity to address these issues together. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was reasonably close to The Fillmore music venue, which was the whole reason I was back in SF.

The staff were very friendly and helpful when checking me in. They provided me with a list of local restaurants, walking distance which was very helpful!

The room was a bit cramped, but comfortable enough for two people. I had to laugh because when you turned the TV on they offered Nintendo 64 games, which took me back to my childhood (20 years ago!!)

There was an on-site laundry room which I always find helpful! And I believe they were doing renovations but it didn't disturb me at all.

It also had a nice view. Nothing fancy, just a typical San Fransisco view, but I thought it was neat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

It sounds like a wonderful experience. Thank you for sharing the memories with us. I trust the Fillmore concert was also great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

As a platinum elite member, I pecifically chose an IHG property that was family friendly for a weekend stay arriving from abroad. Asked for quiet room etc given young kids and time difference, hoping we'd get some rest. We did get upgraded technically to the top floor, though I suspect the room interiors were the same as elsewhere. And of course on the noisiest side facing van ness. When I asked about getting something quieter, was given the standard line "requests aren't guaranteed". Woke up middle up night (time difference), hard to sleep again with the noise of traffic etc. No kettle to boil water for the infant's formula, not so minor at 3am. Good soundproofing otherwise. Asked for later checkout the last day, was given till 1pm and the same schpiel again about "requests aren't guaranteed". Fully understand. So why do I bother with faithful loyalty to a chain that really didn't provide anything more than the expected?
This property also has the kids-eat-free-breakfast, but only from a set menu. Which gets a bit odd when parents are helping themselves from the buffet while your kids have a subset of the exact same food, just served. Rooms were fine, clean, well laid out, even with robes a nice touch. And the bar downstairs seemed fun enough. But in hindsight, should've plonked that extra $40 avg per night for a higher-end hotel (the new Adagio looked fabulous albeit in a rough area), or gone lower-end. For the avg $200+ total/night we paid, this was neither here nor there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

It is disappointing to hear about your experience. We begin each day by upgrading our Platinum members, making arrangements for an amenity to be delivered to the room, and offering expedited check-in as well as a complimentary welcome drink in our restaurant. Unfortunately, it sounds like we did not have any vacant rooms on the other side of the hotel. Our staff is usually quite good at changing rooms if they are available. We have avoided kettles in the rooms for fire safety reasons, but I am sorry that we did not get the chance to explain how to use the coffee maker to boil water. Thank you for giving us these important comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,091 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
1,053 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $146 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing