We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$279
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$217
$208
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$336
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$197
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
$198
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$274
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$299
$254
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$205
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$416
$254
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,010)
Filter reviews
2,011 results
Traveler rating
456
919
453
111
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
919
453
111
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvan nesscable carpolk streetcalifornia stfisherman's wharfoutdoor poolcorner roompublic transportmuni passhigh floorday passunion squaregolden gatestayed here for nightsroom keyhotel restaurantcity view
Filter
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 2,011 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we will come back again. You get a feel of a higher-end hotel from the time you enter the lobby all the way through your stay and the price is more reasonable than you would expect. The rooms are extremely clean, the beds very comfortable, the showers have a nice flow, love the refrigerator in the room, and the view is spectacular. We ate breakfast in the restaurant just once but I wouldn't really recommend it. We chose a parking lot two blocks away that was half the price. These two items are the reason for giving four stars instead of five for our rating. Otherwise, this hotel is top-notch all the way. I would highly recommend it. Like I said, we will be coming back.

Room Tip: The top few floors have almost no street noise and the views are amazing!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gl0ria777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Your comments are appreciated. It's great to have repeat guests who recognize a good value, but also help us improve. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hotels at Union Square or even Fishermans's Wharf can be quite expensive so we chose this hotel located in the city center, for it's reasonable price and based on the previous reviews. First of all, it is a long walk from Bart station in Civic Center and because of the Saint Patrick's day parade, we walked in the side streets and ended up in the unsavory part of San Francisco. Managed to get a room with two beds with the help of reception staff Mr. Baker who gave us a map and a list of places to eat around the area. Room was clean, had a small fridge, a coffee maker but no in-room safe. Our room was not near the elevators and we were so tired from all the walking we did during the day so we had a good sleep and didn't hear a lot of noise.
The location is near buses which can take you around the city. Aida, who runs the gift shop on the ground floor is also the concierge and is a fountain of information. We hired a car for a day trip to Napa valley through Aida which came out cheaper than the other car rentals in the area. Also booked the shuttle from hotel to airport with her rather than take the Bart again. We didn't have time to use the gym or try out the restaurant or bar. All in all, our stay was surprisingly good and I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRYMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Saint Patrick's Day was indeed a crazy day. What a relief that you were treated well and enjoyed your room upon arrival. Thank you for sharing your experience. We are also in the process of putting a safe in each room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here for two nights at the end of February for business. I had heard that his was not the best part of town, and that the hotel was old. On the contrary. I found this hotel to be well maintained and worthy of the Holiday Inn brand. Check in was very friendly. The room and bed was comfortable and clean. Being a member of the Priority Club, I enjoyed my free beverage in the bar. The price was great, and did not blow my company's travel budget. Internet was plenty fast, and I needed it with the amount of work I was doing. You have earned a new customer!

Room Tip: Rooms were sufficiently quiet, but remember, you are in downtown San Francisco. Be ready to be awakened by Fire and Police vehicles on occasion. You can turn on the fan to help dull the noise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

I am so happy that you felt reception was friendly and the price was right. As a PC member, your loyalty is coveted by many hotels. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed the welcome drink. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times, and like its location for good communications by cable car and bus around town. The hotel rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff, as you would expect in a Holiday Inn are efficient and friendly. We wouldn't eat here though as there are many good eating places within a short walk.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Hunter B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Housekeeping will be thrilled to hear that you approved of their efforts. I couldn't agree with you more, this neighborhood has so many restaurant choices and it's easy to get anywhere in the city. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice big room, big ensuite, excellent housekeeping.
Convenient for cablecar and buses, also amazing views from our room on the 19th floor - saw the Endeavour on its last flight! Didn't try the food but as we saw a few airline pilots checking in, imagine it is worth checking out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

It is wonderful to hear that the Housekeepers did a fantastic job for you. They will be thrilled to hear the news. What an amazing view you had of the space shuttle flying over San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews