We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #76 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
ontario
Level Contributor
254 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“excellent as expected”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

the hotel is located centrally, maximum 45 minutes from any of the attractions. our hotel room was small, but a corner unit, with windows facing north and west. a great view. we heard that they are renovating the upper floors. too bad, we could not get one of those. but since we used our points to book our room, maybe, we were not privileged to those rooms. the room was comfortable. we had internet connection problem, but one phone call and they help was provided. the satff, as usual in all holiday inns, were very helpful. from roger the bartender, the wait staff in the restaurant and the front counter staff were top notch. a special mentioned to the ball man, everton. we would definitely recommend this hotel, or any holiday inn for that matter.

Room Tip: try and get one of the upper floors, where the rooms have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justustravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the outstanding review. It makes us extremely proud to have contributed to such a remarkable experience. I can't wait to share your thoughts with the staff. They will appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We would be happy to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    830
    420
    105
    63
See reviews for
440
605
124
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Rooms although outdated are clean and not cramped. Hotel is near Starbucks and a bank, Wells Fargo in case you want to change your foreign currencies into American dollars. At the back of the hotel, Polk street, you will find a variety of restaurants, Chinese, Italian, American, Japanese and Mexican. Most of these restaurants deliver to your room at no charge at all. Very convenient when you feel a late night feed or just want to rest after a long day of walking. The hotel is in the middle of everything. Just a bus ride to fisherman's wharf and union square. As we are a group of 6, it was more convenient for us to catch a taxi van going to these places. It only cost us less than $10 per trip to union square or even fisherman,s wharf, if you want to walk, union square and the wharf are both 20 min walk from the hotel. Staff are very nice and very helpful. Upon check-in, we were given a map of San Francisco, list of nearby restaurants and their numbers and a list of nearby attractions and how to get to them by public transport. Chinese lady who cleaned our room was very good. Our room is always spotless and clean. Nice to come home to after a long day of sightseeing. I would definitely go back and recommend this to friends. Btw, we were also given a room with a view of the bay. Nice view on a sunny day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful remarks. Both Housekeeping and the Front Desk will be happy to hear that you appreciated their efforts. We agree that our location is perfect for seeing all of San Francisco. Polk Street is exactly like you said, full of restaurants, easy to get to, and close enough for free delivery. Thank you for sharing your memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The five day stay my wife and I had here was a mixed experience. The hotel is clean and smart and everything about it at check-in points towards an enjoyable time. And indeed, our 11th floor room, though compact, was not cramped and was pleasantly light and airy thanks to windows on two sides with a view over the city towards the Embarcadero. Location is not bad, but not brilliant either as it is a 20-25 minute walk down Van Ness Avenue to the Opera House and City Hall, and around the same up to Fisherman’s Wharf.

But thanks to several irritations our overall verdict was one of disappointment. The electronic keycard, which is also needed to operate the elevator, intermittently failed to work (on one occasion causing me to be temporarily trapped insidet). Each time this meant trekking down 11 floors to Reception to get it revalidated, which was done by the staff without a smile, regret or word of sympathy.

In fact, it was the robotic, expressionless, non-empathic manner of the staff that makes this hotel stand out from the eight we stayed in during this extended visit to the States. This coldly efficient manner also applied when dealing with the non-delivery of laundry to our room (entailing another 11 storey trek down) and when answering queries as to why the business centre seemed to be short-changing me by requiring me to swipe my credit card over and over for internet use. In each case their tone and manner was tantamount to a figurative shrug of the shoulders. (Honourable exemptions from this criticism were the charming and helpful ladies who run the concierge/gift shop on the ground floor).

All this suggested that this particular Holiday Inn was more about the appearance of being hospitable than about actually being hospitable. And one or two other touches in the physical facilities bore this out. Especially annoying was walking back up Van Ness Avenue late at night after a concert at the symphony hall and looking forward to a drink in the hotel bar only to arrive 20 minutes before its advertised closing time to find it closed. (Useful tip in this situation: the Pour House in Polk Street almost directly behind the hotel is a superb little pub).

Other instances of non-hospitable hospitality in the room included a hairdryer that apparently didn’t work and a filter coffee making machine awkwardly located and plugged inside the wardrobe with only paper cups to drink from. No in-room safe either.

In conclusion, a hotel which – as I said -- is clean and smart and which we might conceivably consider staying at again, but only if we needed to be within walking distance of the City Hall/cultural district. Otherwise there are other hotels in San Francisco we have stayed in where the overall experience is better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We appreciate the opportunity you gave us while visiting San Francisco. It is troubling to me that your memories of our service were so negative. It's easy to find nice rooms, but it's the staff that has the potential to set us apart. Your comments were thoughtful and important our success. I can assure you that your experience will be used to improve our service. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for a couple days on buisness. The room was very nice and very clean. The staff was always friendly. My only complaints were the very loud street noises and the unusablly slow wireless. I was on the 12th floor and needed up having to buy ear plugs to sleep. They really should invest in some insulation. The fee Internet was too slow to be usable. They try and sell you faster service. There were a ton of free resteraunt sites that were usable from the room.

Room Tip: Try and get an interior room off the street. the noise is not worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverTX1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
It was exciting to hear that our service, room cleanliness, and location were exceptional. Our staff will be thrilled to hear about your feedback. I am sorry that the noise was intruding on your stay. It obviously became an important part of your experience. I wish we would have had the opportunity to offer a different room. Thank you for taking the time to share these thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked this hotel for our last night in San Francisco primarily because this was where we were required to return our rental car. We hadn't stayed with Holiday Inn before and didn't really expect much but it was not a bad place to stay. A little dated and not right in the thick of things but for our last night it was fine. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a couple of drinks in the bar which also could do with a bit of a face lift. Again, very friendly staff and good service.

While the room fit out needed an upgrade, we had a corner room with big windows on both sides which afforded great views of night lights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Your feedback will be shared with our entire reception staff. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your visit will be remembered. Our location is indeed central to many sites in the city. Hopefully, you will enjoy the newly upgraded rooms on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway is not that expensive, the rooms are clean - but antiquated concerning the interior decoration - the breakfast is okay (there's a little buffet with fruits, toast, marmelade and sweets and you can have your coffee, tee or orange juice.).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
It was reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. You have many hotels to choose from, so we work hard in hopes that the price, service, and amenities create a special memory for you. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights to attend The Edwardian Ball. We decided on this hotel because it was a block away from the event and offered an affordable nightly rate. Because of the hotel's location, right on Van Ness Avenue, I was expecting and prepared to see a bit dingy kind of a hotel, but I was so WRONG! We got a corner room on the 9th floor that had wide windows the covered two whole walls. We had a panoramic view of San Francisco, where we got to watch a glimpse of the cable car going by down below. The room was clean with all the amenities, including a great dresser. The house keeping staff was friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who visits San Francisco.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the corner rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabelle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
It is reassuring to hear that you enjoyed the location and cleanliness of the rooms. Those are important factors when choosing a hotel. We enjoyed having guests who were attending the ball. You truly went all out when it came to getting dressed up. Fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing