We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not perfect, but okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #77 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway is not that expensive, the rooms are clean - but antiquated concerning the interior decoration - the breakfast is okay (there's a little buffet with fruits, toast, marmelade and sweets and you can have your coffee, tee or orange juice.).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnjaLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

It was reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. You have many hotels to choose from, so we work hard in hopes that the price, service, and amenities create a special memory for you. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,887)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights to attend The Edwardian Ball. We decided on this hotel because it was a block away from the event and offered an affordable nightly rate. Because of the hotel's location, right on Van Ness Avenue, I was expecting and prepared to see a bit dingy kind of a hotel, but I was so WRONG! We got a corner room on the 9th floor that had wide windows the covered two whole walls. We had a panoramic view of San Francisco, where we got to watch a glimpse of the cable car going by down below. The room was clean with all the amenities, including a great dresser. The house keeping staff was friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who visits San Francisco.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the corner rooms on higher floors.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabelle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

It is reassuring to hear that you enjoyed the location and cleanliness of the rooms. Those are important factors when choosing a hotel. We enjoyed having guests who were attending the ball. You truly went all out when it came to getting dressed up. Fantastic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I manage a 4.5 star hotel so i can be quite picky when it comes to accomodation. Right from check in, everyone was lovely! Without even asking, the lady at the desk greeted me with a genuine smile. Noticing i was an overseas traveller, travelling on my own she straight away up graded me to a higher floor so i had a view and also gave me a larger room, as they had some available. I was given all the info on the local area and good breif of my bearings around the hotel.
My room was lovely, as eveything was clean comfortable and spacious and then heating was perfect. great size room and bathroom. The ipod dock didnt work, but I honestly didnt care.
I was in san Fran for 3 days and wasnt at the hotel much, but each time i came in and out I was greeted again by different staff members, all with a smile and happy to help. They have self serve laundry on site which was helpful, especially when travelling for a while.
The lady at the bar was lovely as well. The bar was a little dated but i wouldnt expect too much from hotel lobby bars.
On my last day, the service again was fantastic on check out. In the 3 days I was there i would have spoken to at least a dozen different staff members and they are all fantastic. Its a credit to the management there.
This was the forst time I have stayed at a Holiday Inn and would now be happy to stay again while travelling

Room Tip: definately recommend.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princess1981_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Your feedback will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your visit will be remembered. We would be honored to welcome you back as a guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Front desk only tells you what they want to tell you. They don't listen. Parking gate never opened. Had to have an engineer come out twice to let me in. Maid service is pushy and didn't want to come back to make up room when my wife was in bed sick. Ice machine did not work on our floor. The only good thing about this hotel is the view. It's still living in the 60's.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtcowboy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Service issues concern me greatly, and your Housekeeping experience was no exception. I intend to find out how this could have happened and make appropriate changes. Your comments regarding the Front Desk service has me especially worried. We have an experienced team and they can do so much better. I hope that we will have the opportunity to earn a better review next time. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days for a conference. The room is clean and comfortable but the setup is a bit strange with the bathroom at the far end of the room from the front door. The lobby has very limited sitting space so I had to take a meeting to the Starbucks next door. Lots of dining options within walking distance. Staff was professional and attentive although the lady at check-in seemed a bit confused/ Overall a good experience. There is a doorman who helped us get a taxi whenever needed which is helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Your comments are very helpful. We are addressing the lobby layout and seating availability to provide a better experience. It makes us happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week while attending a conference in December. When I first checked in I was put in a room which directly backed on to the lifts. After 10mins in the room I was straight back down to reception to ask to be moved as the noise from the lifts in the room was horrendous! The lady on reception was lovely and moved me straight away - telling me it was a common complaint with those rooms! My 2nd room was very spacious and clean - expect for 2 cigarette buts under the table! But the bathroom and shower were small given the size of the room. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The staff were all very friendly. I would avoid breakfast though - the buffet is expensive and not great quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Your comments are very helpful. It makes me happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are addressing the restaurant quality and room condition issues to provide a more memorable experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for under $100 when all downtown rooms had prices of $250 and up. Many 3-4* hotels closer to Union Square were $300 or more. In light of that, the HIGG was an absolute bargain.

I was on a high floor which had a great view. On another stay, I was facing downtown, so that view was better. But this one had a peek at the Golden Gate, so still good. Room and bathroom were nice, B&BW toiletries were very nice. The room was clean, well decorated and the bathrooms had granite counters, so it seemed upgraded to me. in-room coffee was better than usual. Appreciated the convenience of a fridge.

The fitness room was ok. I wanted to swim laps in the pool early one day but the gate was locked, so I had to call the front desk. They showed up promptly, so no big deal. Liked the convenience of the California cable car, as I needed to be downtown on Union Square.

All in all, a fine stay, especially at a good price. Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor facing downtown. You'll love the view, night or day.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Your comments mean a great deal to us. Thank you for sharing your experience. The cable car and proximity to Fisherman's Wharf, Downtown, and the Golden Gate Bridge make this an ideal location. We're happy to hear that your request for pool access was quickly resolved. The staff will be excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#103 of 229 in San Francisco
1,029 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 229 in San Francisco
4,008 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#63 of 229 in San Francisco
4,763 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $146 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing