We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good location, clean rooms but strange setup”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #77 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days for a conference. The room is clean and comfortable but the setup is a bit strange with the bathroom at the far end of the room from the front door. The lobby has very limited sitting space so I had to take a meeting to the Starbucks next door. Lots of dining options within walking distance. Staff was professional and attentive although the lady at check-in seemed a bit confused/ Overall a good experience. There is a doorman who helped us get a taxi whenever needed which is helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Your comments are very helpful. We are addressing the lobby layout and seating availability to provide a better experience. It makes us happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week while attending a conference in December. When I first checked in I was put in a room which directly backed on to the lifts. After 10mins in the room I was straight back down to reception to ask to be moved as the noise from the lifts in the room was horrendous! The lady on reception was lovely and moved me straight away - telling me it was a common complaint with those rooms! My 2nd room was very spacious and clean - expect for 2 cigarette buts under the table! But the bathroom and shower were small given the size of the room. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The staff were all very friendly. I would avoid breakfast though - the buffet is expensive and not great quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Your comments are very helpful. It makes me happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are addressing the restaurant quality and room condition issues to provide a more memorable experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for under $100 when all downtown rooms had prices of $250 and up. Many 3-4* hotels closer to Union Square were $300 or more. In light of that, the HIGG was an absolute bargain.

I was on a high floor which had a great view. On another stay, I was facing downtown, so that view was better. But this one had a peek at the Golden Gate, so still good. Room and bathroom were nice, B&BW toiletries were very nice. The room was clean, well decorated and the bathrooms had granite counters, so it seemed upgraded to me. in-room coffee was better than usual. Appreciated the convenience of a fridge.

The fitness room was ok. I wanted to swim laps in the pool early one day but the gate was locked, so I had to call the front desk. They showed up promptly, so no big deal. Liked the convenience of the California cable car, as I needed to be downtown on Union Square.

All in all, a fine stay, especially at a good price. Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor facing downtown. You'll love the view, night or day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Your comments mean a great deal to us. Thank you for sharing your experience. The cable car and proximity to Fisherman's Wharf, Downtown, and the Golden Gate Bridge make this an ideal location. We're happy to hear that your request for pool access was quickly resolved. The staff will be excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

While the hotel is improving its rooms, some things remain. The rooms can be small, my room had the a/c-heat right next to the chair so you had to turn it off when sitting in the chair or it blows right at your head. The guest service manager does not seem to want to return calls. On 2 different days I asked the desk clerk to call me and never received a call.

Don't bother with the restaurant for breakfast, it is medicore and very over priced. The bar staff was very friendly and made the stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Don;t get a room that ends in 25, they are especially small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASeasonedTraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Your comments concern me, and I am sorry that our rooms did not meet expectations. Our updated rooms will in fact address the space issues you mentioned. Thankfully, the bar staff provide memorable service. We will be working with the Front Desk staff so that they can earn equal praise. Thank you for providing your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here over the holidays, and we were given a welcome drink at check-in, and a nice room with a view on the 21st floor. To our surprise, we also had a bottle of red wine and a card from the manager waiting for us in the room -- this was even though we already received a coupon for a welcome drink!

The room is small, but well kept. We had an amazing view of the downtown. It's a little bit far to walk from downtown/Financial District/BART, but it is doable. It also gets you pretty close to Japantown and has a location that is not quite AT anything, but is centrally located so nothing is too far away.

The only disappointing thing was the fitness room. For such a large hotel, it was very basic with only a couple of treadmills and some dumbbells. If it were a longer stay, I'd have been disappointed, but for a shorter one, I guess no big deal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pseudosphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

It's exciting to hear that you enjoyed yourself while in our hotel. We agree that our location is indeed a central spot for seeing the town. As a Priority Club Platinum member, you have certainly earned the wecome drink and amenity. Your loyalty is appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the future. In fact, our new workout facility may be completed by the time you return. It will now be on the 6th floor overlooking the pool and city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable with very comfortable beds and pillows. There is parking here for guests at $40 a day. The staff are very friendly and they can suggest some great places to eat. Would stay here if we come back to San Francisco.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kitkat071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

It was reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You have many great choices while staying in San Francisco, so we appreciate that you chose us. We hope to see you again. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

As mentioned in other reviews this hotel could not be better placed for the cable cars and with bar and restaurants nearby it is the perfect location.
The service we enjoyed was perfect and all of the staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable.
We were celebrating my wife's birthday and the staff could not have gone to more effort to make our whole stay memorable.
The room was very comfortable and the bed made for two good nights sleep.
The shower was good and we were lucky enough to have a room on the top floor so the views were amazing.
We enjoyed a drink in the bar which was reasonably priced and the staff in the gift shop were so helpful and I would also recommend buying your cable car tickets from them.
The concierge were good with maps and advice and the Manager should be very proud of his whole team and hotel.
We would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try for a top floor if possible as the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Wow! Thank you for sharing such a wonderful experience with us. It's rewarding when all of our hard work leads to such great memories, especially on New Year's Eve! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to San Francisco again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
4,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $134 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing