We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #74 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“close to everything!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The location of the hotel was perfect. It's 4 blocks away from the Regency Ballroom and right on a cable car line. The view was great and it was clean and comfortable. The parking and hotel floors were secure, you have to swipe your room key to go any floors besides the lobby. The parking price was comparable to the other hotels in the area, and you get in and out access which was really handy. This hotel is right on the California line of the cable car. The cable car stops at Chinatown and the Embarcadero which was perfect for us. Since the hotel was at the beginning of the line (or the end depending on how you look at it) there was no struggle to get onboard. It was just a little over a mile to Gheradelli Square and Pier 39, right Van Ness. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4portillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear 4portillos,

I am happy you enjoyed the view from your room. It is certainly true, we are well located to many of the San Francisco attractions and close to public transportation for the remainder. That you felt comfortable and safe while staying with us is important, particularly when in an unfamiliar city. Hopefully your will have an opportunity to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    856
    433
    106
    65
See reviews for
462
623
126
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is an excellent hotel, in a good location.

We stayed on the 19th floor and the views were awesome.

The room was very clean with everything we needed so no complaints here.

The bar/restaurant was very nice and reasonably priced too. The staff were very pleasant and helpful too.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear maffster1,

I must agree, the views from this hotel are awesome. The staff will be pleased to hear that we made your stay with us an enjoyable one. I hope you have a chance to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

unfortunately price is not everything here. eventhough a 100 dollar a day stay sounds good, make sure you don't bring a car!! an addittional 46 will be your charges. so for 150 a day i am certain that one can do better. places like this give hotels a bad name. charge the full rate and be done with it. i cannot possable imagine my car slept half as good as i did for 46 dollars a day compared to my 100 a day bed!! maybe its just san francisco at it's best!! rip off

Room Tip: stay closer to down town and use the mass transit systems. they work great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthur l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear arthur I

I can certainly understand your comments regarding the cost for parking, especially when you are able to book a low special room rate. While the price does seem high, it is appropriately priced for the area.

You may not have been able to take advantage of some of the other benefits we offer on this trip, but if you have a chance to return, I hope you can.

Upon arrival, we will accept your car as early as 7am. While you're here, we offer in and out privileges 24 hours a day. The car can also be left well after the check-out time of 12 noon, up until 4pm with no additional charge.

There are less expensive parking lots in the area that are open from approximately 7am to 11pm but are closed overnight. They do not offer in and out privileges so the clock starts ticking every time you return. If you are just storing your car while you are here, this may be a good option for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a very convenient hotel. As well as the hotel's facilities there is an organic supermarket nearby. Out of hotel, turn right. Cross the road and turn first left. Supermarket up the hill on left. NOT CHEAP!!!!
Fabulous Chinese Restaurant with gigantic portions. Out of hotel turn left. Cross road and go up first right for about two blocks. Restaurant on left hand side.
Cable car at California out of hotel turn right and you are at the California Terminus. If you change at Powell to get the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf you stand a good chance of waiting for a long time to get on one because they are crowded coming from Union Square. Better to stay on and go to the terminus at the other end of California. There you can get a tram to go to Fisherman's Wharf. BUY A DAY PASS FOR ABOUT $14. otherwise it is $6 every time you change vehicle. If you want to go back via Powell, be prepared for long queues. Bay Street Terminus is less busy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Rushden,

Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you found the best way to travel within the city, public transportation. The Muni pass is convenient and saves money. I hope you have a chance to visit us and San Francisco again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed Nov 8-10, king room. Priority status acknowledged at check in and upgraded to high floor. Service at check in very good as was all service throughout our stay. Location very good for public transit to anywhere.We bused to the wharf and walked to Union Square.Free wifi in the room a bit sporadic but a Starbucks about 50 feet down the street. For those not tethered to social media with the need to advise the world of their every move its not a deal breaker ! Room was on the small side but was clean,had little fridge and a decent flat screen with HBO. Bathroom small but clean.

Room Tip: higher the better and off Van Ness
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Vicky H,

It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team makes every effort to supply excellent service to our guests and to ensure the rooms are clean and comfortable. Thank you for your positive comments. I will certainly share them with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Higher rate for the room but lower service level. Staff are very pushy for tips specially in the restaurant. Room was just ok even though we were on the top floor. Excellent elevators for fast service. Staff would hide the newspapers under the counter and only give out if you asked for one. We find better results from the express locations. Front desk staff were very productive but not friendly or helpful. Don't recommend this one.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphCramdonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear RalphCramdonCanada,

I can certainly understand your concerns. We will definitely share your comments with the restaurant and front desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very functional and comfortable hotel. Handily located for public transport with bus stops outside on routes to Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. Also out to Golden Gate Bridge with one easy change. California Street Cable Car stop just aroung corner. Buy a MUNI Passport for $21 whiich allows 3 days travel on all public transport incuding cable cars. Available from the very helpful Concierge in the shop. For breakfast try the Village Cafe just around the back of the block. Looks a bit rough and ready but provides excellent choice at value prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear JackPoulton,

It sounds like you enjoyed your stay in San Francisco. Our location is perfect for accessing public transportation to see the city. Buying the MUNI pass was a great idea. I hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
1,017 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,644 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing